My Journey To Jos: Part 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians its your blockchain poet, @aauthespian1. It's been a while tho, I still haven't been able to get a new phone for myself because of low funds. I pray God helps me with that.

Another reason I've not been able to post on steemit is because of my recent journey to a very fun interesting place in the northern part of Nigeria called Jos. It was really an intersting one tho, I went to Jos with my department for an annual event , Nigerian Universities Festival (NUTAF). NUTAF, as it is popularly called is a festival that brings all theatre art students and theatre experts/practitioners in Nigeria.

WP_20180607_001.jpg

Every year, a particular state in Nigeria is chosen to host the NUTAF, and this year Jos was the host. For every Nigerian in the south, they'll tell you that the North is not really a safe place to journey to, but i volunteered to go with others while other students decided to drop all becuase of rumours.

We embarked on the journey on Sunday, June 3rd at around 4:00am from my school; Ambrose Alli University, ekpoma in Edo state. It was a very cold morning and we had to bare it, I won't talk much about the journey on the road, but i'll also not miss important part of the journey.

List of states we passed from Edo state to Jos

  • Edo state
  • Kogi state
  • Kano state
  • Abuja (FCT)
  • Kaduna
  • Jos - Destination

The interesting part of the journey was that the Northern part of Nigeria is blessed with rocks, hills and mountains. So I had to take pictures of the ones we passed.

WP_20180603_024.jpgZuma Rock(Abuja)WP_20180603_026.jpg
WP_20180603_004.jpgWP_20180603_006.jpg

We made a stop at Kogi, for a light refreshment before continuing our journey, i bought snacks and drinks which took me till we got to Jos. We spent 15 hours on the road before arriving our destiantion at around 7 pm.

The event which was to take place for 5 days started that night with welcome party and dance competition and all night party organized by students of the host school, Plateau State University,Bokkos. The official event started the next day on Monday, The real welcome party by NUTAF Association and their sponsor/partner, MTN Nigeria.

WP_20180605_009.jpgWP_20180605_006.jpg
WP_20180605_010.jpgWP_20180605_005.jpg
@aauthespian1@decoojay

I won't stay much for now, I'll continue tomorrow. See y'all in the next part of my journey to Jos.
I'm also using this medium to plead with the steemit community to assist me in getting a new phone, Thanks in advance, much love :wink:
To be continued...

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71