Photography #17 - Diamonds and glaciers (Iceland day 5, part 1)

in #travel6 years ago

So, day 5 our our Icelandic tour... today was the last day of our epic trip.

This is the final leg of our round trip and we have a day to get from Stafafell in the East, to Reykjavik in the West - using road 1. Along the route we take in Jokulsarlon (glacier lake and diamond beach), massive, flat lava fields and our two last waterfalls (Skogafoss and Seljalandfoss). In this post (part 1) I'll show the Jokulsarlon area...

DSCF3679STEEM.jpg

The Breidamerkurjokull glacier front oozes around the mountains...

DSCF3670STEEM.jpg

Frozen and magical, even in horizontal rain...

DSCF3660STEEM.jpg
Huge icebergs float in the lake, before making their way to
Diamond Beach to be broken up by the crashing waves...

DSCF3693STEEM.jpg

The glacier emerges from the mists...

Diamond Beach is across the road and back a bit, towards the visitor centre and road bridge... It's very easy to find as it's the only bridge for miles (so you know you're there when you get to it).

And you'll know why it's called Diamond Beach when you see the chunks of ice against the black volcanic sand! Here is a selection...

DSCF3546STEEM.jpg
This chunk, the size of a large van, rests on the
beach before being tossed around by the waves...

DSCF3590STEEM.jpg

The sea was very stormy on the day of our visit. Many chunks of ice had already been washed away...

DSCF3597STEEM.jpg
Remnants. The large piece at the back stands about 1m tall

DSCF3600STEEM.jpg
Solitary.

DSCF3611STEEM.jpg

The light show changes with every step...

DSCF3623STEEM.jpg
Even from this distance, the wind carries the spray
and soaks the camera and myself...

After this I sat in the car with mixed emotions. I was cold and soaked. I felt frustrated at the lack of photos that I could take successfully (my lens was immediately coated in sea spray or rain whenever I turned it towards the ice). But I was also overwhelmed by the sights I had seen on this small stretch of beach and sad to see it go as we set off on the last leg of our journey.

I had a few hours ahead of me in the car (where I could dry out)...What more could Iceland show me before I left...?

Day 5, Part 2 soon...

Sort:  

You honestly take such awesome pictures, I especially like the first four :) also this made me wanna visit Iceland so bad! I wish I could go there some day :)

Thank you @emma-hs, much appreciated and really glad you like them - there's a load more on my blog from Iceland (days 1-4) if you haven't seen them already...and Iceland is amazing!!

Totally awsome! More shots from Iceland I see - more needs to go there I feel... Love this extreme weather, black sand and glacial ice forms - this is so perfect combination for the photography! Thanks for sharing !

Thanks @photovisions, this was back in February - i took so many photos it's taken quite a while to get through them all, lol. Totally amazing place and i'd love to go back again!!

So moody. I love how the mountains look like they are about to be completely covered in a couple of minutes.

Thank you @intrepidphotos, although at one stage i thought i'd not be able to take any photos as the rain was so bad...glad i stuck it out though ;)

Those are the best days (well at least looking back on them from the comfort of sitting in front of a fire in a a cabin somewhere)

I couldn't agree more :)

Sea spray can bring very frustrating! You did get some awesome photos though!🙌🏻

Thank you @idkpdx, i found that swearing profusely helped a lot ;)

Awesome. Resteemed!

Many thanks @photofeed, appreciate your support!

Congratulations @adamfryda-art! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34