Exploring the Island of the Sun

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Border crossings in Bolivia as a U.S. citizen are a pain in the ass. Scams are common. I met a traveler in Chile who told me she got scammed at the border - upon entry, she was certain she gave an immigration certificate to an official. But on her way out, she got detained by a border patrol who told her certificate didn't have the proper stamp. They started using her desperation for bribery. Telling her that she should fork up some cash. Luckily, she spoke fluent Spanish and avoided the scam.

Knowing this, I felt a little uneasy when I arrived at the Bolivian border.

Complications

There’s a long list of requirements for entering Bolivia. There’s the yellow fever vaccinations, advance hotel bookings, a ticketed flight out, and $160 in cash. I got all the requirements covered except they wouldn't take my cash because of tiny imperfections. It had to be spotless dollar bills they said. Like fresh out of the minting machine. I only had $200 on me and a few of the bills had marks and imperfect bills.

They took $120 and rejected $40 and I must find some way to come up with perfect ones. There are no ATMs around. I thought they were trying to scam me of my $120 because I'd have to go back all the way to the next town in Peru to get another $40. Another passenger was kind enough to exchange their bills with mine and I could get the visa.


View at the top of Isla Del Sol of Lake Titicaca


Colorful Bolivian Attire

Worth the sunrise

After that debacle, I got to my hostel in Copacabana already checked out. Not a good first impression of the country. I even thought about leaving and taking the bus back to Peru. But then the next day I witnessed an epic sunrise just over Lake Titicaca. I stayed.

image.png
Epic Sunset Lake Titicaca Bolivia

The most popular destination in Copacabana is Isla del Sol. I spent a day there and explore it. There are several routes you can take to get to the island and it can only be reached by ferry. There's the northern port and the southern port. I started in the southern port called the Escalera Del Inca (Inca Stairs) in Yumani village. The boat is as basic as it can get. You’re cramped in seats with other passengers and there are no restrooms.

I should have relieved myself before getting on the ferry. Halfway through the ride, I felt like I had to pee really bad. I drank too much coffee in the morning and seeing all the water splashing on the side of the boat isn't helping. I was ready to just let it loose on the side of the boat for all the passengers to see. It took all of my Zen meditation efforts to avoid that debacle and I arrived at the port without incident and rushed to the closest restroom I could find.


Isla Del Sol Sunset

Crazy Inca stairs

There are hostels by the dock but there is more uphill in the center of Yumani village. The only way to get there is through the Escalera del Inca. Lake Titicaca's elevation hovers around 4,000 meters. Climbing those stairs was a lung buster. The air felt thin. If felt like there's a bunch of bricks duct taped to my legs. Each step was laborious. There are beautiful terraced gardens on the way up. So every so often, I'd take a break and checked those out.


Isla Del Sol Sunset View

After much effort, I arrived at Yumani. There was a lady yelling she’s got rooms available on her Refugio. I asked if she had one for one person. She said no she’s got two beds in one room and will charge me a room for two people. There was another group behind me and one guy was looking for a room as well. I introduced myself to Martin and we agreed to share the room.

Tip for solo travelers: Hostels here often book per bed instead of per person. If there are two beds in the room and will charge you for both. You can try to negotiate the rate but it's better if you find another solo traveler to share the room and pay half.

Diego who?

It was still early so Martin and I hiked around the Island. Along the way, we met a stray dog. He followed us around and seemed to want to guide us. I named him Don Diego. So Diego, Martin, and I continued to the highest point of Isla Del Sol walking on narrow ancient cobblestoned streets meeting random natives with their donkeys along the way. This place is a throwback to ancient times. Aside from a few places that have electricity, you will see no modern machines. There are no cars around.

We passed by rows of terraces and plantations growing potatoes and other crops endemic to the region. We'd walk past some random mule and then it would poop right on the street. It bears mentioning that there is poop everywhere, alpaca poop, dog poop, vulture poop, donkey poop, and "Good god who or what pooped that?!?" poop. Oh, that earthy, herbally aroma of fresh drops of Alpaca poop. Nothing in the world like it.


Denizens of the Sun Island.

We reached a ruin at the highest point of the island. The 360-degree vistas there were amazing. You can see the entire stretch of the island. Lake Titicaca looked like an endless ocean over the horizon. It’s a huge lake.


View From The Top Isla Del Sol

Pray for rain

There was a procession or parade going on. Island natives in colorful garb and attire were funneling towards an embankment. They started a ceremony of sorts. I asked (with my limited Spanish) one kid nearby what it's all about. They told me it's a ceremony to bring rain to the island, which was in a drought. It was a loud ceremony and it probably spooked Don Diego because he disappeared was nowhere to be found.

image.png
Lake Titicaca Ceremony

Martin and I took pictures of the ceremony and then headed back down via the island’s spine, which crosses random terraces towards a wooded area full of cypress trees. There we saw a signpost, rather flamboyant, that says the best restaurant of Isla Del Sol this way. We were kind of hungry so why not? The restaurant’s name is Las Vellas and their specialty is vegan pizza. This was the last place I would ever expect to find vegan pizza but there it is. The restaurant had an awesome view of the lake so we ended our day there enjoying slices of vegan pizza and watch an amazing sunset over the horizon of Lake Titicaca.


Las Vellas Restaurant. Isla Del Sol. Bolivia.

EXPLORE THE ISLA DEL SOL

There are numerous tour companies that operate full and half-day trips from Copacabana. You can purchase reservations at various agencies in town, or just go down to the waterfront at around 8:00 am or 1:00 pm. The boat ride is about an hour and a half, so take care of business before you embark.

You can do this trip on a day but I recommend you overnight it and enjoy watching the stars at night. Hostels are cheap but shop around. If you're solo find another solo traveler and book together. I recommend you leave your heavy backpack and carry only some necessities. The hike up the Inca steps in Yumani is physically taxing at such high altitude.

A DAY IN BREAKDOWN:

Ferry ticket to Isla del Sol with return - $5
Hostel at Yumani Village - $7 (split two ways)
Soup and trout lunch - $5
Pizza dinner - $4 (split two ways)
Inca stairs - $1
TOTAL: $26

HAVE YOU BEEN TO THE ISLA DEL SOL?

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.

GET BUSY RIGHT NOW - BUSY.ORG

USE YOUR SP TO EARN PASSIVE INCOME - SMARTSTEEM
GET MORE FOLLOWERS - Steem Engine
THE BEST TRAVEL CONTENT - TRAVELFEED

Have a Laugh!
The Spider in the Patio
Detained for Drugs in Norway
Unforgettable Ride on a Chicken Bus
The Love Valley


Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Glad you made your destination nice pictures

Oh, long live freedom!Very beautiful photo! Thank you!

You got a 10.17% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @adonisabril!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

That's a tough journey. But wonderful that you gotten to enjoy those amazingness. Really beautiful! And nice captured

Great pics. Especially the sun set and the top views are wonderful.

That one shot looks like the world is on fire.

I think all the effort taken to visit this place is worth it. This place is so picturesque, the sunrise and sunsets makes you feel in heaven. Absolutely stunning. The place looks so lively and full of life. I am sure there would be a different level of energy here.

Hey I'm new here and just love your photography and blog! I can't wait to follow and learn from your work :)
Followed and upvoted my friend :)

Looks like an epic journey and glad you were able to get your visa in the end. That sunrise looks amazing and looks like it was definitely worth the trip and staying instead of heading back to Peru. Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos

Lovely photography. I love these photographs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94