Deer Park is AWESOME, Nara Japan (Original Content)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The best places to go are always free.

At least that's been my experience since I began traveling in 2008 and Nara Park was no exception to this rule.

Just a short train ride from Kyoto will take you to Nara which is possibly place I've encountered in Japan (which in itself speaks volumes). Here at Nara you will find deer roaming freely around a massive park.

When you arrive you will have a 2.5km walk to the deer park, beginning at Nara Plaza. Along the way you will encounter restaurants, souvenir shops and even an Owl Cafe (will blog about this next :)).

Once you've arrived at the park you can look for this guy, the local deer biscuit salesman. Be warned, the deer LOVE these biscuits. They will bite you, head butt you and kick you depending on their mood and how much they want a biscuit. As seen here they will ambush you at the biscuit salesman, until he pulls out his fly swat and swats them away.

IMG_20171108_152040.jpg

There are over 1200 Wild "Sika" deer in this park. They are everywhere and reminded me a lot of farming mobs in Lineage 2, an MMORPG I used to play.

IMG_20171108_152239.jpg

The deer aren't the only reason to come to the park, it's actually quite stunning on its own. The camera doesn't really capture the mood, but imagine a darkening forest at dusk with a low lying fog in the middle of Autumn, littered with lakes and hundreds of years old shrines.

IMG_20171108_152559.jpg

IMG_20171108_152624.jpg

If you show your biscuits to the deer (a dangerous thing to do if the deer has antlers) then they will come over to you. It's better to stick with the little ones to be honest because some of them really are quite aggressive.

IMG_20171108_152847.jpg

Did I say aggressive? Not all of them. Some are extremely cute and they will use this skill to get your biscuits.

IMG_20171108_152903.jpg

A deer guarding the bridge. We had to give it a biscuit to get past. Shameless Instagram filter on this one.

IMG_20171108_153439.jpg

IMG_20171108_153449.jpg

Around the park there are many temples for worship. They really set the mood in some places.

IMG_20171108_154025.jpg

The deer in this park were once considered sacred by one of the four gods of "Kasuga Shrine" and killing them would get you the death penalty.

IMG_20171108_154313.jpg

Some more structures from the park.

IMG_20171108_155106.jpg

IMG_20171108_155716.jpg

The deer like to scratch themselves on the shrines.

IMG_20171108_155954.jpg

And some more photos to wrap up this post :)

IMG_20171108_160024.jpg

IMG_20171108_160113.jpg

IMG_20171108_161404.jpg

IMG_20171108_162948.jpg

IMG_20171108_164205.jpg

Thus was the end of my favourite day so far in Japan. If I were to go back I would probably try and camp in the park, as I saw a campsite on Google maps. That would be an amazing experience, was disappointed that I hadn't known of it earlier. You can find this campsite here if you are interested.

Sort:  

very attractive deer park in japan.

This post has received a 5.05 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @babarrajo

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

It would be great if you could camp in Nara Park. I'm not sure if camping is permitted there, but if you found a quiet, secluded spot, you could probably do it.

We used to camp in many places in Japan, from farmers' private fields to seaside caves and under bridges and in downtown parks. The only place we were told NOT to camp was a campground which had not yet opened for the season.

Almost anywhere in Japan, you can set up a tent on public property, drink beer on public property, and make yourself totally comfortable.

As long as you behave decently, you will not be bothered. And in fact, many people will welcome you and do whatever they can to ensure that you are comfortable.

Enjoy your travels. Full Steem Ahead.

Hey great comment, I'd love to come back to Japan and rent a motorbike and ride everywhere it seems like the perfect country to do this. Knowing that I could wild camp without too many issues is a really good thing. Perhaps next year....

Great pictures and the deer are very cute though. This looks like a place I'd love to visit!! Great post once again :-)

Great pictures and the deer are very cute though I'd be too afraid to give them a biscuit.

OMG, they are so cute! I love deer. They make every photo better!

As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

OMG I want to be there!!!

Possibly my favourite place in the world now :) I want to be back!

Two of my SOs are going to Japan in May. I am so jealous. Unfortunately, my chronic pain condition prevents me from joining them. Which sucks. It's their second trip to Japan.

Damn that sucks! Maybe ask them to set up a periscope for you?

They're actually looking into buying a gopro so they can livestream everything from their pov.

Such an amazing time to be alive. Was thinking this the other day as I was hiking up a mountain while speaking to my friend on Telegram...

Agreed. We're living in the future, man!

If you don't mind me asking, how much did your trip to Japan cost you? This looks like a place I'd love to visit!! Better start budgeting!!

Hi Brendan, that's a good question, I will check all of my ATM withdrawals when I get home and blog about this but I suspect including flights it will come to around $7000 AUD for 2 weeks, approx $5500 USD I think.

TBH I haven't found it any more expensive than Western Europe, or North America. Some things are cheap ( beer, food) and others expensive (accommodation, transport).

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 15.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @adventurerider
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @adventurerider to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post is...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86