Day 2 on the Island: Power Outage! Saved by my Giant Battery!

in #travel6 years ago

This vacation is off to a rough start. First I woke up sick as a dog (though I'm beginning to feel better) and then the power went out. That's kind of a problem when you need to put out multiple Steemit articles per day to keep a roof over your head.

Thank goodness that I thought to bring my B.O.B, or "Big Ol' Battery" along. I originally bought this 500 Wh lithium suitcase battery for camping, but it's also usable in a pinch as a UPS for a desktop computer, backup power for an air compressor when diving, and of course keeping your laptop running through an outage.

I might've even replenished it using the solar array, which I also brought along, except that it's been an overcast day and there was ultimately no need to. The power came on about 8 hours later, with the battery drained down to 41%. During that time it wasn't only powering my latop (which never dipped below 100% charged)

It was also powering my phone in hotspot mode, as the cabin internet isn't reactivated yet, charging my mother's power bank, my Dad's tablet, and various other devices as the outage wore on. This happened back in Florida as well. I lived there during one of the nastier hurricanes.

When neighbors noticed my lights were the only ones on, they came knocking at my door to find out why. I had a bunch of eBike batteries hooked up to an inverter, supplying power for my fridge, lights and computer. It would've lasted at least an hour or two except suddenly all my neighbors were my best friend and needed their phones/laptops charged.

Of course once they took their pound of flesh, they were out of there in a hurry. I wasn't too cross as at least the power came back on before the food in the fridge spoiled, and all of my preparation for such a disaster was able to be useful to more than just myself.

This has happened on a smaller scale when I've been out downtown with friends, none of whom ever think to buy a power bank despite routinely running out of charge in the evening. Then they come crawling to me, and of course I oblige because it's like being a low tier superhero. :3

The grid is reliable enough here in the US that few ever give much thought to the utility of energy storage. When the grid fails, it's typically for a short enough duration that they just get on with their lives and give no further thought to backup options.

I'm here to tell you that being in control of your own personal energy supply (and especially one which can basically last forever thanks to the solar panels) is priceless. You won't need it often if you live in the west, but when you do need it, you'll be dearly glad that you have it.

The solar panels are another high value addition, as what are you gonna do if the power doesn't come back on that same day? You're just shit out of luck, that's what. But with enough solar capacity you can charge that battery back up to 100% and use it all over again, over a thousand times.

My Dad keeps talking about getting a Tesla power wall for the cabin, because the price isn't much more than buying the same amount of lithium batteries from offgrid homesteading supply companies and the quality is better. It makes good sense out here, where a fallen tree regularly takes out the power for a few hours at a time.

Until then, I've got my own solar panels and what you might call a personal power wall, ready at any time. A known quantity, under my control, capable of powering anything I realistically would need it to for an indefinite period (providing the weather cooperates).

It won't surprise followers who know what a fanatic I am about solar panels and lithium batteries, but I cannot recommend such a setup strongly enough. It's like being able to take a full 110v power outlet from your home and transport it anywhere in the world.

Anyway that's all for today. If anything else of note happens while I'm out here in the wilderness I'll be sure to keep you fellows apprised.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Always nice to have a backup. A lot of us take the power availability for granted. Glad you're feeling better

You survive off steemit? Jesus

Just barely. I'm having to dip into savings as of late though, with Steem and SBD doing so badly in the market.

You nailed it. I really want to turn my electric car into a two-way system so I can use it as a power source in a pinch.

Which one do you have again? Some of them are designed to be used that way, all you need is an inverter kit from the same company.

I cant stop laughing here , so its not only nigeria that experience power outage. Thats good to know. And neighours coming to your house to charge there gadget😀😁😂😂. I need to show my friends this, the only difference there is that every home has a smoky-lousy generator, you don't want to see or experience it, its not funny at all.
Ive checked the big o battery post. Its amazing, i cant beleive such a small thing could power a house. But you didnt tell us how many hours this 500watt thing can take to charge a phone, laptop and two energy saving bulb.

@alexbeyman,
Dude this is a good example of go for free energy! The device you bough few months back helped you perfectly at that moment! At the moment I can't, but when STEEM rise I will try to buy one! Coz, I also get this horrible experience when i am at my home town! Get well soon!

Cheers~

Well, I'm glad you were prepared and everything, mannn. Though that part about your neighbors swarming you like vultures for their phones to be charged made me think of an old Twilight Zone episode. The one where the guy has a bomb shelter and all his neighbors come swarm his ass to get inside when the emergency broadcast comes on.

Hope the rest of your vacation goes smoothly and that this was the only bump. Enjoy yourself, bro!

It's a good thing that you are organised and you were prepared for everything. How much power does the battery deliver ?

Up to 300 watts from the 110v socket. There's a bunch of other types of socket for USB, 12 volt, etc. but I am unsure what their limits are.

I’m glad all your alternatives paid off. I remember years ago NY was without power for 3 days. I can say it was a panic. Now imagine if it was for a week or even longer.

My Dad keeps talking about getting a Tesla power wall for the cabin...

I think your dad is right. I’m actually considering it myself. It’s only matter of time when something happens. When it does, the only problem you may have are your neighbors.
I wish you get well!

As the old Boy Scout's creed says... "Be Prepared!"

Well done. There's nothing quite like the satisfaction of being independent during outages/supply disruptions of any kind, whether its through having food stocked up, being a portable human power supply (ha!) or having your own water filtration system.

Glad to hear you're feeling better, and the power came back. Hopefully you're having a chance to enjoy the lake(s) and outdoors over there.

How's your quadruped?

It is so good . This is good thing that you organised . Relly amazing .
Thanks for sharing @alexbeyman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17