How Much Fun Can You Have With a 486 Computer? Let's Look at the Games!

in #travel6 years ago

One of the fun, nostalgic things about coming up to the lake cabin is playing DOS games on my old 486 Compaq. The diskette drive doesn't work anymore, so short of taking out the hard drive and hooking it up to my laptop as a removable storage device, the games you see below are the ones it's stuck with.

I think I made some pretty good choices however. These are some real gems. See if you can identify them based off the pictures! I'll probably be reviewing these one at a time after my Virtual Boy review series is over, which shouldn't take long.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Dude I like the key pressing sound of old Compaq key boards! Those keys are pretty much smoothly to my fingers!
What is the size of the RAM of this computer?

Cheers~

16 megabytes.

Just like the olden days and also sort of reminds me of the PS1

Just the picture of Little Big Adventure sends me flying down memory lane, that is one of the very first games I played in my life.

Better have fun...
!with video games and eat goodies!
!Great combination!

Reminds me of the main computer I grew up using. Your peripherals look just as retro as the computer; as a toddler the mouse ball was more fun than anything else!

Wolfenstein and Doom, had to be the best! Later Falcon F16 and 4.0. Ahead of their time!

😁😁mine is pinball and spider solitaire

With PC games I do not have much knowledge and less in old games if it were atari if you do not remember those great games, but how I liked having a PC in my childhood.
the first image reminds me is Quake

Looking forward to you talking about them all, tried zooming in as much as possible to see the games but I still don’t know most. Have guesses for some though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Reminds me of good old days : ) @alexbeyman

Definitely recognize Doom right away. I'm excited to play the new Doom Eternal. Were you a fan of the 2016 release?

Yes, though I liked Doom 3 better tbh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79