The history of buildings located near train tracks...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered about the history of the old buildings situated beside railway tracks? Here I was sitting on the moving train heading to Flinders Station one Friday afternoon and doing what every passenger does - looking at the sites. On the way I saw lovely houses, schools, parks and shops. But as I neared the inner part of Melbourne city the view changed, it became an industrial, grimy, busy, old looking and ugly.

Then, I thought to myself, hang on a bit - there is history here and lots of stories. A very long time ago, maybe a hundred years or more these impressive buildings were built as businesses employing workers and helping the economy. It was important and I could see that work was still going on in this building. I wondered if the workers were still making woollen garments? I hope so.

Maybe or maybe not since other materials have flooded the markets. I hope not, Australian wool is a fabulous material and from I know is doing well.

Then, I saw this very old clock tower that has obviously stood tall and proud for a very long time. Despite the wires, vehicles and Cole bins the clock face still shines through reminding me of another time. I wonder who built this beautiful architecture designed building?

I saw this old building with large writing covering the roof and thought that once upon a time it was built for a purpose by someone who had some skill and foresight. I wondered if this dark and gloomy place was still a business concern?

Taking pics on a moving train is fraught with challenges and one does not always get the best shots. Got to love the graffiti on the pole!

Everything has a story!


Cheers

Have a happy day everyone wherever you happen to be.


Sort:  

I really enjoy looking at those old industrial buildings. I feel the busy energy pulsatting off them. Nice job catching pics while moving.

Thank you- they seem to sit there forgotten😑

yeah those rundown old decrepid, broken down, crumbling old ugly, distressed buildings remind you of Florida.

Very sad to see such buildings like this. I bet they looked very different in their heyday!

howdy again @angiemitchell! yes Ma'am I'm sure they looked alot better then. too bad they aren't like us, we just get better looking all the time!

You've got a typo there - you wrote Florida instead of Texas. ;)

haha! I didn't know if you would see that or not! since you were so sharp I may have just made a typo. lol

howdy tonight angiemitchell! so what are you doing taking a train to Melbourne? I thought you just flew there last week?

H Janton, the photos were in my library from my trip to Melbourne. I save them for future posts.

oh ok. I wish I had a library of photos for future posts, can I borrow some? lol

Haha janton. I am sure you have photos in a library too.

no not really. I've never taken many photos until now. well, we were in the real estate business so I have thousands of those but not what anyone would want to see! mostly tore up houses because we got houses that the bank foreclosed on and resold them for the banks.
so see I need your library. lol

You have an interesting work history. I am sure you can become a photographer like me - lol.

well I do have a crazy work history, my whole life I've owned my own businesses. I guess like you I will have to try and get better with landscape and wildlife photos.
My wife has a big desire to get a more powerful camera also because she has an artistic streak and wants to take alot of photos and that's the one area which she is interested in regarding steemit. the only area actually beside the occasional recipe..but she would like to see posts done on beautiful photos that she's taken and I love that idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84