Waves and People

in #travel6 years ago

I didn't just go to Siargao. I found myself there. The place and the people rekindled something I've been losing touch with for some time – the part of me who was authentic, simple, daring and passionate.

water in action copy.jpg

I almost didn't make this trip and I would have regretted if I didn't go. This was a much awaited trip with tickets booked about year ago but the months leading up to it were faced with challenges. Expenses were dropping on me like raindrops as I was reviewing for my licensure exam. After passing the exam, going to Siargao was supposedly a gift to myself since I've always wanted to go surfing there but the budget I allocated for this trip was running low because of urgent and more pressing matters. I already told my friends that I was thinking of canceling but it just didn't feel right. I felt like I needed to go and so I did.

20180220_093638.jpg
20180220_120019.jpg


The adventure begins. My friends and I were on a spontaneous adventure. Though we booked our tickets early, we booked separately because schedules were proving challenging for each of us. We were set to go on different flights and on different days and just meet up in Siargao. We didn't plan everything about the trip so we let things unfold naturally.

A few of my friends arrived a day earlier and they met their other friends without prior arrangements. The instant we arrived, they were already waiting for us on their bikinis ready to jump on an Island hopping spree, and those of us who just arrived set to move in a haze. We left our things at the dormitel (a dorm for travelers), changed in whatever clothes were on top of our luggage and went on to hop islands. My friends introduced us to their friends and a few locals they've befriended. It was like snowballing, we bumped into friends, and friends of friends who also met other friends without planning it ahead.

vehicle 1.jpg

We went Island hopping with the locals we made friends with, who are actually pro surfers and instructors. They helped us with everything. We rented a pump boat that could cater around 14 people and hopped to Daku Island and Naked Island (Nope, it's not what you're thinking. lol). They said it was supposedly called Naked Island because it was literally naked, the place had nothing on it other than the sand and a few logs but some people actually go Naked in there. We even saw two guys do it in broad daylight. It was fun!

27971552_1666387720093413_1267019936216017606_n.jpg
28059500_1666387323426786_6090273473210838618_n.jpg
📷 Mark Escoltura | We had drone shots on Naked Island and it was really cool.

Waves. We headed back after the drone shots since we wanted to catch the afternoon waves. We went to rent surf boards from oh wow, surf just situated at the shores of Cloud 9, where the surfing spots are. They also have instructors ready to give you surfing lessons. They are a jolly bunch and very accommodating. We made friends with a lot of them.

28168441_400609873732978_1572057296738480794_n.jpg
©Charmaine Delda

DSC00207.JPG
@oh, wow surf's turf, Shores of Cloud 9

Being on the ocean gives me a sense of calm and contentment at the same time. Waiting for the waves made me realize how to enjoy the moment while still looking forward to something, and catching waves and riding them was exciting and adrenaline pumping.

DSC00005.JPG

1150287_400609580399674_4344286421093386464_n.jpg
📷Charmaine Delda | It was my first time surfing and I absolutely loved it!

The day's event wasn't over. We went on the social gathering which happens every night, to get involved with the culture. It was the normal booze and music but what's refreshing is that every night, owners of different establishments organize an event at a designated place, where locals and travelers could gather. They do this so everyone could interact in one place at the same time. They don't compete with one another but instead help each other.


In the Island, one day's event is already like a week's worth of adventure because people there know how to enjoy the time they have.


We usually start the day surfing and we end it with gatherings and celebrations. In between, we either do some spontaneous activities or just enjoy the Island life – that is to relax, savor the moment and the luxury of not having to rush all the time.

The following days were spent on celebrations (eating and drinking), enjoying the island life, more surfing, and doing spontaneous adventures. We went to a rock pool and jumped from the top of the rock. We also learned how to drive a motorbike in the streets of Siargao with the help of the locals. They are really helpful. You don't even have to ask for help because if they see you struggling, they'll immediately offer to assist. We were invited by surfing instructors to celebrate and have a boodle (sharing & eating together) with them at the shore, we also went on to celebrate another local's birthday so we grilled at the shoreline near their house which was absolutely a beautiful place. We celebrated birthdays but we also celebrated for no reason. Just pure fun!

28503834_10209580533583940_14744094_o.jpg
📷 Erikka Fernando

28167441_1233510360118267_146303129942334322_n.jpg
📷 Faye Caayon | Island life - grilling with DIY griller

20180221_130808.jpg

Stranded. Here's the catch to the trip though, we were stranded on the Island and couldn't go home on schedule because of a storm. A few friends went on to go back home early. They had booked a return ticket ahead, but for us who didn't we were stuck on the Island because there were no sea trips allowed due to bad weather. It was a mix of emotions because we were happy to extend and anxious at the same time. We had responsibilities to face back home and things weren't looking bright in terms of when the trips were set to resume. We planned a 4-day stay but extended it to six. We were living on a tight budget so to speak because the Island isn't exactly up-to-date with ATMs. We couldn't withdraw from our ATM cards as the available machines couldn't read them. There was one place we could cash out but it experiences intermittent connection. We couldn't withdraw right then and there because it goes offline quite a lot of times. We will forever be grateful to our local friends because they helped us out. They adopted us and never made us feel like an outsider. They made it feel like home for us.

DSC00226.JPG

Ride Home. It was Sunday when trips by sea were resumed. We took a 40 minute tricycle ride to the port, got on a ferry for a 2 hour trip to Surigao City where we can ride another ferry towards Cebu. Upon arriving at Surigao City, we had time to spare as the next trip would still be in the evening so we decided to go to Church. After hearing a mass, we went on another 8 hour trip to Cebu. My friends and I said our goodbyes and thank-yous to each other for a wonderful trip and we promised to go back. Definitely!

I went to Siargao as a tourist. I left with the heart of a local.
-an excerpt from my previous write-up


The waves - The Place - The People - A Good life


What makes this trip special to me is that in my short stay there, I was reminded of what was important – living a full life. To live day by day, enjoying each moment and looking forward to what tomorrow would bring, not fear it.

Both the place and the people resonated with me. It gave me a good vibe in life. Something I’ve been missing the past months. I was unable to reach a part of myself after going through the challenge of simultaneously having review classes and a full time job, which made me feel incomplete even after passing the licensure examination. I feel like I sacrificed a part of myself going through that experience which is why I lost touch with it. The place and the people woke that part of me who forgot how it was to live for the moment while looking forward to the future.

There’s a kind of authenticity and simplicity with the people and the place that makes you pause and think about how you’re chasing life. They live a day at a time, taking in things moment by moment but still thinks about how to create a better future. They don't sacrifice one for the other. Staying there made me feel grounded and connected.

DSC00186.JPG

I went to Siargao to surf but it taught me more than just how to ride the waves. I didn't just take a trip to Siargao. I became a part of the place and the people holds a happy space in my heart. I left the Island bringing with me happy memories, good friends, life lessons and the part of myself I found there.

B & W boardwalk.JPG
Tower | The boardwalk

It has been months since I made the trip to Siargao but I will always feel lucky to have made the trip and I feel even luckier to have met genuine people at an amazing place who reminded me of a good life. I left home to feel home and I have unexpectedly regained my balance. Today, I have reconnected with my passion, I'm preparing for another opportunity for my career, enjoying every thing I have now and working for a better future. It's far from perfect but I feel complete.


If you're planning to visit the Island, here are links and excerpts from my previous write-ups on Siargao which could help on your stay there. I hope you get to experience the kind of authenticity and happy vibes we felt from the place and the people.

I wrote The Island life | more than just riding the waves for people to know that in order to capture the feels of Siargao, they have to see it with their own eyes and indulge in the culture with the locals, not just look at it through the lens of a camera.

This is for the Budget traveler: how to go cheap in Siargao while still enjoying the Island life – for the adventurous soul on a budget. If you're a spontaneous and adventurous soul like me, then keeping to the budget usually proves to be quite laborious.


Disclaimer: Some photos featured in this post do not belong to me. I have used them with permission and proper credits are in place. The rest of the images were originally taken by me using smartphone and Sony DSC-H400.

Sort:  

Hey @arc.angel,
Your post "Waves and People" hast just been Resteemed !!! 😉😉😉
BY following us, You have earned our FREE Resteem service, which will increase your viewer.


😄😄😄 If you want's to stop me, Please Unfollow @tow-heed😉😄😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by arc.angel being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Wow! I definitely love Siargao!😉 Having an exciting trip to one of your favorite place to visit, with a cool friends with you is definitely good. I enjoyed reading it because I also do adventures with them.😉

The Island life is 💓
Oh, I checked and your from Leyte, I heard there's a surfing spot there.
We're planning to go there some time. 😊

YES! we have it in Dulag and Silago. You can also try at Guiuan, Samar.😉

So there's more than one surfing spot in Leyte? Cool!
I'll definitely check those out. Thank you for the info. 😊

Dear Sir @arc.ange , thank you at the beginning for sharing the picture,
Personally I like the picture,

* A Beautiful Photography *

Whatever the collection,

In the future, you will give this kind of beautiful picture and present it to us or present it to us.

Thank you for sharing

Hi, I'm a Ma'am! haha
but thank you for the appreciation!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @arc.angel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @arc.angel, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

If you would like to delegate to Best of PH you can do so by clicking on the following links.

100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

oh wow!! Thank you very much for the appreciation!!

#proudpinoy

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arc.angel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I went to Siargao to surf but it taught me more than just how to ride the waves.

Nice quote. There is something when you travel to these beautiful places right? It always reconnect us to our roots and that is mother earth. I've been to Siargao as well a couple of times already and this place definitely helps the people that travel here. Either finding peace, healing or finding a home.
By the way, you are such an amazing person! Being a working student is not easy! I've been there as well. And I am happy that you did take this trip to find yourself again. You keep on achieving your dreams! Everything will work out for you eventually!

There's definitely something when you travel. I'm not sure how to put it into words yet but it changes your views in life and Siargao really is a great place to go when you need some fresh perspective. I totally agree that the island helps you find "peace, healing or a home". It's probably because of its calm vibe and the people.

..."you are such an amazing person!"

Thank you for the compliment. I'm just doing my best to enjoy the journey. It's challenging to go after our dreams but it's worth the work. See you around! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25