Breakfast on Westport’s beach!

in #travel6 years ago

Early in the morning, we packed up and made our way to the beach, on the west coast of New Zealand’s south island. 

Before travelling onto Nelson:

We needed to have breakfast. So first, we bought some food in town and then drove out to the nearest beach. For your information, Carter Beach is along the coast of Westport’s Buller bay.

As we looked around, everything looked calm and peaceful with the early sun straggling through misty-wispy clouds.  

After parking our cars in the allocated dune area, I first took a photo looking back the way we had come. And then another photo, walking through the dune grass and patchy undergrowth, we come onto the beach itself.

On the beach:

On New Zealand’s beach, you’ll probably find dry tree trunks and branches washed ashore. And you may find some were gather by the Moari and stacked with one pointer out. Apparently they are set a religious formation. 

On this beach there were only a few scattered here and there. So we chose some lovely big ones to sit on, to have our breakfast! I think we ate fish and chips, if I remember rightly in unprinted newspaper. And New Zealand’s fish and chips… are the best! 

We sat there on our logs and jovially teased one another playfully, as we ate, ever mindful of our beautiful surroundings and the sea softly rolling in. 

We had thought we were the only people there. But after a while we noticed some caravan vehicles silently parked just off the beach behind a dune ridge. No one was moving around there. 

That somehow reminded me that I wanted to get some photos of the dunes.  

Capturing the dune scenes:

So I wondered off on my own, while the others were still on the beach. 

There was a time when beach and dune scenes were popular. And I wanted to have a chance at painting one of those. Not only that I hoped I could get some photos of the flora and fauna to be found surviving in dunes conditions.

See the oil painting I did of the dunes:

 

When I saw this scene I promised myself I would paint it. 

My impressions:

What caught my eye was the abstract strength of the bold lines of the dark horizontal lines contrasting with the white of the sand in the foreground and the misty blue background. 

But if you look at this composition, you begin to feel there is a need for one or two birds flying above the dark area in the empty vast blue misty area! 

I would have put birds in it, if it had been imagined make-up scene. But in this case, I wanted the scene to be authentic of the rural area. And I don’t know of any birds that fly that high in that region! So I didn’t paint any birds in. 

Meanwhile:

While I was wondering around taking photos of the dunes, my husband was looking for new birds with his binoculars. 

Family had given him a book on New Zealand birds and all the time we were in New Zealand he had been writing up how many birds he had found in New Zealand. 

So unknown to me, our son was taking photos of a bird my husband had seen. This is the bird they saw together in the dunes. 

It’s a Western Weka, known as rails and swamp hens, as Rallidae. But it’s a flightless bird, so I couldn’t put it in my oil painting as flying, could I !! 

In my next New Zealand travel blog: 

Before we left, we visited another beach along the Buller Bay coast. And then on our way to Nelson and what we found and did there… 

Sort:  

your post always very talented and powerfull. new zealand very nice place in the world i think that,you are a lucky person because you stayed this place and doing enjoy her beautifull life.your photigraphy alltime perfect.every pic you capture very perfectly..this Westport’s beach looks very attractive and pretty.you taken alots of wonderfull scene of your camera and showing in your blog.this green nature,sea beach,blue sky,green grass and last picture yellow flower, hen very excellent. just super shots photography dear @artguru i hope that,you enjoy your breakfast this nice place.how good adventure and pic up fresh environment nature beauty place...i am a big fan of your post.because i am waiting your post everyday.i attracted your post alltime.just amazing.my dear friend @artguru i hope you support my work.i expect your support.. thanks to sharing for your good post of travel..very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your good work. may god bless you.my blessing alltime with you..

Lovely to have you come so often to see my blogs. Thank you.
I did check out your blogs. And its wonderful how well you are doing there. And wish you all the best too.
We only had a (2 & half mths) trip over there in New Zealand. I actually lived in Johannesburg, South Africa. But our trip there to NZ was so fantastic, who wouldn't want to write about it and share our exciting experience! So I still have a few more NZ blogs in the pipeline.

yeah,dear..new zealand obviously very good and beautifull place in the world.its my dream country.. but i don,t know when i can going this country..i am alltime loves your blog.everyday i waiting your talented and powerfull post.but i know you post giving only three days..you are really lucky and success person in this platform.because i seen you support my work and giving alots of encouraged doing best comment reply. you really visit my blog.its my goodluck.but i don,t know i am doing perfect work everyday..you tell me i am doing good so,i am really glad to know your talk..thank you for your good comment and perfect thought..very well done and take care yourself.best of luck of your great work..may god bless you and your husband...good blessing..my dear friend.. @artguru

Beautiful photos and I love the painting you have done, really captures the Westport beaches! That’s cool you are heading up to Nelson, I work for nmit, the polytechnic in Nelson! I’m in China, not Nelson, and my contract runs out next week. But it’s a good place, are you going to Abel Tasman? It’s amazing :)

I loved the town of Nelson. I even said I would love to live there.
I'm sorry your contract is going to run our so soon.
My New Zealand family were here in South Africa recently, and I gave all my new Zealand oil paintings to them to take back to New Zealand. I had taken quick photos of them before giving has gifts to family. The oil painting in this blog is the last of them.
From now on, the ones you see in my following NZ blogs, are new and made since then.

Nice time you did have with fams and friends. The pictures you took are nice, expressing the unique beauty of nature. And I must say, the oil painting of the dunes you did is pretty nice, as well.
Kind regards.

where do came to know about such hidden treasure in new zealand i mean lok that beach that path it looks soo awesome and @artguru your the lucky one to be their!

Yes, we were so lucky to have such exciting adventure in New Zealand.

So beautiful natural views of New zealand. I applyed 5 years ago for travel purpose to go there but they did not gave me visa. I have plan to visa the most beautiful country visit very soon. I love nature beauty.
Thanks for your nice post.

I wish you all the best with your next application for a visa to New Zealand.
When we went there, we didn't need a visa. It was just a holiday visit. But things have changed since then. Even a holiday trip needs a visa now.

Thanks a lot

Good impressions from the pics, sometimes i think if i do have enough money to travel to most beautiful places i have seen in pictures. So far i have seen how you have moved the places in Newzealand.
It's awesome, i should say.

I haven't finished writing about our trip to New Zealand.
But I would have to go back there and write about the places we didn't see the first time.

nice photography these places are like having heaven

It sure was like been in heaven in New Zealand! So beautiful, beyond words.

it has been already described in picture 😍😍

Welcome @artguru
Really amazing travel.
I resteemit done

Thank you. I really appreciate your kind words.

Beautiful travel and photography. I like it...

So glad you enjoyed it.

New Zealand’s Very nice area as I wish to visit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87