The other side of the bridge!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hey, this isn't about trolls under bridges, silly!! This is about Kruger National Park and how I painted a watercolour painting of the other side of the bridge.

The right side was so different from what we saw on the left side of the low wide concrete bridge we were parked on. 

So different!

When I turned by head to see what was on the other side of the bridge I was very surprised. It was so much greener. Not so open. And it was so beautiful, that I just had to take a panoramic photo of the scene. 

  

This is a stitched together scenes of more than on photo I took of it. Maybe I’ll paint it in oils as a panoramic view one of these days. 

But have a look at this:

It’s a watercolour I did in 2006. 

How I painted it:

Preparation:

        1. As to the composition, I only used part of the scene to work on. 

        2. I wet (a light spray of water) both sides of my watercolour paper. This prevents curling-up of the paper by counterbalance (equalizes) contraction presented to both sides. 

Undercoat:

        3. Then laying in a light wash of raw sienna, all over the whole the A4 page of the semi-smooth watercolour paper

        4. The whole intention of laying down a soft wash of raw sienna was to give the scene a happy sunny radiance. In the photo it doesn’t show how sunny the scene really was. 

         5. Using a soft undercoat, it also unifies and gathers the whole scene together. This is very important if you are going to leave some spots un-painted, as sunlit highlighted areas. 

How it was painted:

         6. Without drawing-in a previous synopsis of the scene, I started working from the top of the page, downwards. 

         7. I used quick-movement brushstrokes, not worrying if a dot of paint was in the right place or not!   

        8. Keeping in mind the position of everything, I also left out the unnecessary unimportant bits and pieces of the scene. Why? Because too much detail can make the painting look too fussy and busy. 

         9. Because it’s a very cool scene with so much green and blue, I emphasized the warmer colours, here and there. Using warm and colour colours puts more emotion into your paintings. People buy according to their emotions remember

10. First painted in the soft colours and then the darker colours. Some areas I had to deepen the green foliage to give the painting definition and more depth and dimension between the background and the foreground.

Definition: 

         11. Looking at the painting from a distance: You can see how the sun shines on the natural stone `steps’ and the ripples of the water in the river, where I left it mostly unpainted, except for the soft undercoat. 

                Hope you enjoy it, as much as I enjoyed painting it. 

Sort:  

Love reading your posts

So glad you enjoy them.

Aw awesome, thanks for the step by step outline of the painting:) hopefully I can take some tips for my drawing - I am trying to improve my nature drawing skills:)
I really can see where you have left unpainted, great effect of the sun shimmer 😀
Always love looking at your paintings!
Also, that panoramic photo is beautiful, it would be fun to try and paint in panoramic im
Sure :) 🌅

You see, some artists draw a synopsis with a pencil first, before they paint their picture.
With this watercolour, I didn't draw-in the painting first, either with a pencil or with a thin small brush.
I actually made a point of saying I didn't in this post. So I'm wondering why everyone is making that statement! And calling it a drawing!
I generally work freestyle, without a pre-synopsis.

I meant my own drawings, that I can use the painting methods of yours and take some tips I could apply to my own drawings :)

When I teach watercolour painting, I have to break the habit of people drawing with their skinny little brush, like it's a pencil.
You see, if you have a big round brush with a good point, it is very versatile. You not only can make dots and thin lines... you also can use the full length of the hairs to fill in or cover large areas. That allows you to make thin and fat wavy lines, etc depending on what pressure you put on it and how you roll and spread the hairs.

Wow... that's great. From the very beginning you can see the artistic side with only using a part of the scene, for this type of work the good eye is necessary. I liked the combination of colors quite a lot, good result.

I see you are also an artist. What do you usually paint?

My thing is digital art, manipulations, among other things. I usually appreciate this kind of work because I like them a lot and they can inspire me!

Useful post as usual @artguru

To me, it's important not to just say we saw this or that when we travel, but something more. And because I love painting, try to add a painting.
But that isn't always possible, due to duties at home or visiting family. And of cause they don't live close by, so that means I'm away often, travelling to where they live, staying with them a few days at a time. And they don't give me much time to write blogs and post them.

After long time see your kruger park post. I always waiting your valuable posts. Wao what a great and amazing combination of colours. Tress and water looks so beautiful. You are best artist. I m big fan of you. Thanks for sharing.@artguru.

And I really appreciate you sticking around to see what else I'm up to.
I couldn't answer the comments sooner, because we're having a bad time here in South African with electricity power cuts. Couldn't even get onto the internet!!!

Painting is a work that can only be done by those who have an artistic spirit, I like to enjoy paintings with the theme of natural beauty because it can make the soul calm.
Like @artguru

I think the power of Nature has a hold on the soul of the artist. Also the subtle blending and mingling of watercolours create lovely atmospheric conditions, that you can't achieve so easily or beautifully in other paint mediums.

Wonderful thing when you share your experience in life frankly a wonderful art painting

I think been frank about what we do is important.
Years ago when I first tried to paint with oils, no artists would let out how they did things. It was like a secret recipe!! So I made a point of saying how things are done.
It doesn't worry me, because drawing and painting skills are like fingerprints. No two people move their hands & fingers like someone else. Also we all observe and see life so differently. We have different personalities and tastes which also plays a part on how we paint and what colour combinations we prefer.

I like your adventure you are expert of this life

Life is like and adventure. and painting a picture is like taking an adventure too. You go along with whats happening and make the best of whats occurred.

@artguru You are a creative painter really I wish you success

Personally I don't worry about fame. You see I had a taste of that years ago and its not all that's it is cracked up to be. Well what most people think it will be like.
You life isn't your own. People what more and more of what you do and it is hard to keep up with the demands they make on your time and talent.
Now I enjoy helping others and sharing with them. And of cause painting is my joy.

Oh nice of this method we can learn and do good drawing thanks @artguru

Do you paint at all yourself? At your site, all I see is office furniture! What is your passion, thing you love doing most?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30