Maui, Hawaii: Part 3

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Kaanapali Beach at Maui, where I mostly stay these days when I visit, can be a busy beach during the day, but everything quiet down by sunset. It can be an extraordinary spiritual place during sunset.


Canon EOS 5D MarkIII Canon EF 17-40L f/8 1/250 ISO-6400 17mm

One of the things I enjoy about Hawaiian beaches is that they often have a grassy area right next to the beach. It is great for a variety of reasons. Sitting down, playing, wiping you feet a thousand time after you come out of the beach...But these grassy area are magical during dusk as you can see above. It catches the light of setting sun and almost reflects it. People are few at that time of the day. I can just look at this view from my balcony and wish the time to stop.


Canon EOS 5D MarkIII Canon EF 17-40L f/7.1 1/125 ISO-500 40mm

Then I see a few people gather at the beach to watch the sunset or take a few final selfies for the day :) I feel removed and anchored in the place at the same time. It is a strange feeling. But I just want the time to stretch on and on. But eventually its all over as always, but I get back inside the room and prepare dinner. :)

We fly kite a lot during the day. I always enjoy flying a kite. It give you a strange uplift and a sense of freedom that is hard to explain otherwise. I am trying to infuse my passion from flying a kite to my daughter. Here she is flying her kite at Napili.


Canon EOS 5D MarkIII Canon EF 17-40L f/8 1/800 ISO-100 17mm

Kite flying is easy on north Maui beaches at most times. It gets a steady trade wind most of the times, and basically all you have to do is hold the string and kite just flies itself.

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

Wow nice shot

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T10:36:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 133.40/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

No bugs... boring :p

Ah wait... there is one little blue one! Ok.. much better :)

That bug doesn’t like other bugs. I have been trying to change it but she is stubborn like her mom!

Hawaii is one of the beautiful places one should visit.

Ooohhh, sunset at the beach! Nice one... :)
I just realised I haven't ever taken any sunset shots when we stayed by the beach - odd! You're right, the green with the strip of sand and sea blue work wonderfully well together... and with little kids flying kites too! ;)

I like Hawaiian beaches. They have the right vibe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10