Maui, Hawaii: Part 4

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Today let's talk about an interesting town in the island of Maui. It is not commonly visited, very often passed through but people normally don't stay here. It is great I say, keeps the town normal. I am talking about the town of Kula. It is what people call "up country" in Maui. It is located at near 1000 m (3600 ft) on the western slope of Haleakala (the main dormant Volcano of Maui). I am told the ancient klans from Kula were looks down upon from the coastal people as they didn't know how to fish :) Bit strange in an island nation in ancient times. Now of course things are different and it is a modern community. It is mystic as you drive through it towards the summit of Haleakala, as it is a hill station which is almost always cloud covered. On good days you are exit the cloud as you drive above towards the summit of Haleakala, and on bad days you never exit the cloud.

Kula often gives you a splendid view of flower covered paths and old fashion homes and restaurants. Everyone like the Kula Lodge and their macadamia nut pancakes (one of those things will make you live perhaps a year less, but who cares; they are bliss!). Here is the outside of the Kula lodge with their brick oven (sensational pizzas on many evenings).

Even in the middle of summer, it is often quite cold to sit outside. You definitely need a jacket and perhaps a rain jacket for the mist. In the evenings; I prefer that booth to the left night next to the oven, as it is always warm there. It is usually empty just like this. I know it is not good for business, but suits me just fine :)

This is the front of the Kula Lodge and Restaurant on a normal cloud covered day. Grounds are beautifully kept and full of flowers. Oh you like to see them?

Hey don't ask me what they are! May be some of my flower loving friends can comments on that. But there is just about everywhere in Kula. I am almost smell the fragrance in the air if I close my eyes. Oh there is perhaps always flower blooming in Kula. I have been there almost every season and never have I seen them without flowers.

Sorry that's a big tree and I have no idea what that is. It is as big as a royal poinciana but the colors don't make any sense. I have only seen royal poinciana in red, orange, yellow shades.... not blue. Anyways, if any of you are into flowers and mist, go visit Kula.

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-13T17:14:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 139.90/200.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Macadamia nut pancakes?? 😯 I can't believe @ewkaw hasn't been here yet! Hill resorts here that are even the slightest bit cool always have lots of flowers - everyone loves showing off how great their gardens can be! Pizzas sound great too with that weather! 😛

She is busy. Plus whatever chance she gets she fights with me. No time to read :)

Ini pasti menjadi perjalanan yang menyenangkan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27