The Lamma Island & Hong Kong Central - Hong Kong [Day 2]

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_0036.jpg

After a well deserved night of sleep I'm ready to go to the Lamma Island. Well I'm a bit later than intended. My goal was to wake up before sunrise. But I didn't make it. I was super tired and jet lagged after yesterday. It was also past midnight before I finally went to sleep and I woke up at around 2 am because my roommate is the loudest snorer ever!

Lamma Island

I still manage to get up pretty early and I take the boat ferry at 8.40 am. This is still early. It takes about 20 minutes to get to island. I get off at the first stop. It's literally in the middle of nowhere. I was like "where am I?", "What is this place?" and "How am I going to get back?". The spot were I got dropped off is a super tiny port. There are some houses around and a lot of green!

This is the port.

DJI_0046.jpg

I walk by a small shop and then I finally see the sign of the hike. It's the family trail. It goes all the way around through nature and smaller villages and then it ends in the fishermen village. I'm the only person starting this hike at this place. It's really nice. The hike goes uphill and downhill a lot.

When I get to the top of the first hill, I detour into a small pathway. This pathway leads to a Chinese cemetery. Actually, there are quite a lot of these on the Island and in Hong Kong. They are always built on a hill.

DJI_0017.jpg

I took this opportunity to take some drone shots of the island itself. I think this is the best picture out of the bunch. I'm still not happy with the picture quality of my drone. I'm still learning and adapting to the limitations of this camera.

DJI_0026.jpg

Now I kept following the family trail, but then I ended up back on the same spot! Clearly I took the wrong path. I was back at the small port. It was still early so I just followed a random road and then ended up on the main road of this island. This road is big enough for a car to drive on. But I don't think they have cars on this island.

IMG_0039.jpg

After following this road, I finally make it to the fishermen village! This village is amazing! I love this place. They have bars and restaurants everywhere. The streets have a really nice look. This island is also known to host a lot of expats. I can understand why. This island is like expat-paradise. It reminds me of Pai, Thailand. That's also an expat paradise. They have the beautiful surrounding nature, cozy streets and the nice bars & restaurants.

IMG_0061.jpg

In this village I stop to eat prawns. They were really delicious! I forgot to take a picture of my food tho. But prawns is a must eat while in Hong Kong. I only hiked the north of the island. I want to go to the south too, but I didn't have enough time to do so. I hope I have time to come back and do the south. But then, there's a lot of hiking to do in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Central

After my hiking trip on the Lamma Island I took the ferry to Hong Kong Central for some shopping. I'm going to get a new iPhone XR. I can use the better camera. My iPhone 7 camera is getting outdated. It's also way cheaper to buy an iPhone here than in Europe.

I make my way to the central with the ferry. It stops next to the IFC building. It's a huge skyscraper with an enormous shopping mall. In here is the Apple store. I enter the mall and I got amazed by how big it was! They have every brand here.

There's a Christmas atmosphere in this mall. They set up a Christmas house in this mall. It was pretty cute! I took some videos of this.

After this it was finally time to get to the Apple store and get what I came for. An iPhone XR. I've already decided to get the 128GB model. But I don't know which color red or blue. So I asked my Instagram audience to help me choose.

IMG_6FCAF2DBCB05-1.jpeg

I showed this to the employee and was like "apparently I have to take the red one!". She laughed. I also took the time to try out the iPad Pro with the apple pencil. It's a truly remarkable machine! I loved it and I can definitely see myself using this in the future. If my MacBook Pro ever dies out, this will be his replacement.

Evening

I went back to my hostel and got some writing done. In the evening I met up with some friends and we went to the party area in Hong Kong Central. It was quite nice! Altho it was a weekday, it wasn't super crowded and everything closes between 1 and 2 am.

Tomorrow I'm meeting with a travel friend who's from Hong Kong! We're going to get lunch and I'm super excited! The day after that will be time to go hiking.


Thank you for reading! Don't forget to upvote this post and leave a comment below :)


Continue reading

I'm finally here! - Hong Kong [Day 1]
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/i-m-finally-here-hong-kong-day-1

My final day in Belgium
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/my-final-day-in-belgium

I'm going to Hong Kong!
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/i-m-going-to-hong-kong

How to Influence and Inspire through video - Masterclass Notes
https://steemit.com/film/@beforeyoupack/how-to-influence-and-inspire-through-video-masterclass-notes

Do Not Bring A Drone To Morocco!
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/ohhkzdxq

What I learned in Morocco - TIS Marrakech
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/what-i-learned-in-morocco-tis-marrakech

Sort:  

lovely interesting writing. Island looks really great, well i went to thailand several times mainly phuket to explore their islands and they were truely amazing. Love the picture of chinese cemetery. outstanding topview with bold landscape. Yes, prawn are really fresh and delicious there and i just laugh to see similarities with me. When i can't decide anythg i let my insta followers to decide for me. very nice blog..

Thank you for stopping by :) Thailand is amazing and beautiful! I was there in July.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @beforeyoupack! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hope you will have a great time in Hong Kong. We have been in China this summer but didn't made it to Hong Kong. Guess it would have been a great destination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17