The Carpathian Mountains and The World Famous Transfagarasian road

in #travel5 years ago

DSC_8224.JPG

Last year in August I was offered a trip to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania and the Transfagarasian road. The road highest point is at 2.042 m (6,699 ft) above the sea level making it one of the most scenic drives in the world. It is interesting to experience driving on it especially if you are riding a motorcycle or as I did - driving a cabriolet. I had four days to spare and decided to make the most of it. Unfortunately, to reach the road from Sofia, Bulgaria it takes almost a day, and a day on the way back. So, all I had left was 2 days. Still, I was determined to use them in the best possible way. Here is my itinerary:

Day 1: Sofia - Balea Tunnel Cottage
Day 2: Climbing Negoiu Peak
Day 3: Valea lui Stan River
Day 4: Back to Sofia

IMG_20181208_211915.jpg

And here is what it happened. As expected, it took us the whole day to reach the refugee. The main delay we had was on the Bulgarian side of Danube river trying to cross it with a ferry from Oryahovo. There is a schedule, but don’t rely on it. Go as early as you can and catch the first ferry in the schedule. Don’t count on the next ones, which will depart in my opinion only when they are full. The road on the Romanian side was okay - passing some villages and towns. We arrived at the Refugee after dusk.

IMG_20181208_213719.jpg

IMG_20181208_212027.jpg

The hut is well maintained and I liked it very much. The food was good and the people working there were kind. Since I didn’t see the view the previous night, arriving only after sunset, I woke up with a great view from my window. I think that is the best place to sleep in the area and also if you wake up early can have the road for yourself. I woke up early but only to go to Balea lake - on the other side of the tunnel where I was sleeping.

IMG_20181208_201622.jpg

That was the starting point for my climb. The lakes are really beautiful but to appreciate them, waking up early is mandatory. When I was back from my trekking the place was full of people and cars. Negoiu took about 8 hours and it was a good hike. There were very few people on Friday and I enjoyed my time. The only drawback was the storm of heil on the way back. But it lasted only about 20 minutes and then the sun was back up.

IMG_20181208_203009.jpg

IMG_20181208_203227.jpg

IMG_20181208_211337.jpg

IMG_20181208_211448.jpg

The next day I went to Valea lui Stan River, which was a nice surprise. I think every via ferrata amateur would enjoy it. The track was well maintained and entertaining. The canyon and the waterfalls were beautiful. I think I even enjoyed that day more than the previous one. The same day I also encountered a bear with its 3 cubes on the road. I suppose people are feeding them often at that place because a lot of cars had pulled over to see them. Everyone enjoyed it until Mama Bear decided that she should be more protective of its children and started walking toward the direction of the public.

20180818_164840.jpg

I had to go through Transfagarisian again to reach my place for the night. It was, unfortunately, Saturday and I believe some other people heard about that road (Top Gear your fault?). There was a huge traffic jam and suddenly it was possible to view the road and the surroundings in details. So, if you are planning to enjoy the road - driving - plan your visit during weekdays. Early in the morning is probably also an option at the weekend.

That was my first trip outside of Bulgaria for a few months. Fortunately, it was followed by a lot more for which I will tell you in my next posts.

Thank you for reading and upvoting! (:
Cheers, Eva

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

Oh my! Those shots are simply gorgeous! I love them :)


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 92%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you, Joel :) I've noticed that the quality of the images is not that good, after I uploaded them. I don't remember having this problem before, but maybe something changed in Steemit, while I was away. Anyway, I am glad you liked them (: I will have a look on dropahead Project's, also new to me :)

We used to have a bigger team on @dropahead, but this bearish market left us with just a handful of us. Even tho our contribution is small, we still try to give a little boost to great content creators.

Best regards.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=best-trip-eva
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-carpathian-mountains-and-the-world-famous-transfagarasian-road


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you guys, @for91days, glad to see you are doing great :)

You're back! Good to read about your adventures again. :)

Glad you are still around :) and writing your articles in Polish :). It is good to have diversity. :)

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #484

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you, Liz :) You and the whole team rock! :)

That's great you did not post since a long time I thought you disappeared and you came back with a great post about a stunning location and beautiful photos. So welcome back :) Last year I travelled 14 days around Balkans from Istanbul and stop a couple of days in Sofia. Enjoy any of your future travels.

Thank you Phil! Glad you are still around. When were you in Sofia and why you didn't connect with me? :)

Apologize I thought you were not in Steemit anymore, I wrote in section "meetup" that I would stop in Sofia. It was last year at the end of August. Hope to come back to Bulgaria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76