Travels With Connie #52 Back Of The Rim

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.




We left Lee's Ferry and hurried up the rim. We were running out of daylight and we didn't know exactly where we were going to camp. Up the hill to Jacob's Lake, get gas and then down into the North Rim.



We weren't exactly staying in Grand Canyon National Park, we were looking to camp immediately north of the Park in Kaibab National Forest. NFS dispersal camping is free, and the areas are generally exceptional. My GPS actually showed us to be inside the Park boundary, but there is an east/west road that Park Service and NFS consider the boundry for the purposes of camping. This was up a fire trail about 1/2 mile north of the road.



Bob and are both experienced campers and experienced together so it doesn't take us long to set up. A very good thing, because daylight was near done. We did have time to head into the woods and find plenty of fire wood for the night before it got completely black.



This trip was in late September, fire season is past and the early rains have soaked the North Rim. Fire restrictions are lifted and all that's required to have a fire are simple NFS requirements 1: Shovel 2: Axe (they will let MC riders do with a hatchet) 3: Bucket (liberally translated for MC people) and 4: Water.

We both carry firestarters that make the job easy. I use ordinary cotton balls that have been soaked with Vasoline. 3 of them will start most any fire, and I always carry a 'fake butter' tub of them with me. We are also equipped to make kindling and carry paper for traditional starts. I further carry a striker stone with steel to make hot sparks for starting fluff in an emergency.




We are completely set up, my friend Bob is starting the fire which will be part of our mornings and evenings for the next 2 days.



In this last picture you can see that we both carry portable tables and very comfortable break down chairs. I was still using my coffee pot which showed it's weakness at this altitude (9000 ft, almost 3000m) Bob carries a fire driven espresso cooker which makes a pretty welcome luxury on the trail.

That red bag is a fully insulated unit that is my ice chest when camping. We had bought fried chicken at Jacob's Lake for dinner so we wouldn't be rushed into full cooking mode in a late day set up.




Last picture of the day. It's a pretty bucolic campsite that lends itself to peace and contentment. In the morning, we'll get our first real look at the North Rim. I hope you will stick around for it! Thanks for coming along on the ride.

The words and photographs in this post are all mine, for better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Primitive camping is always my choice! Truly an awesome way to be one with nature! I appreciate this post because I learned something new so thank you! I would've never thought to use cotton balls and Vaseline😊

Man they work good. They burn long enough to really start a good fire.

Awesome will have to get me a butter tub lol Enjoyed the trip thanks!

Awesome will have to
Get me a butter tub lol
Enjoyed the trip thanks!

                 - charisma777


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

well, isnt that sweet!
oh! who knew that we would meet;
thanks @haikubot, how neat!!!

Camping has really been one of those activities that i admired. It looks kind of scary having to spend nights in the open. It just make me feel like a vampire or zombie can jump out of the woods. It is good to see brave people like you having fun in camping. I guess i will just have to swallow my delusional thoughts one day and give it a try when opportunity presents itself.
Thanks for sharing.

It's one of my favorite things to do. I love everything about it. The worst that I've ever had happen is a Bear ate my coffee one night. Didn't even disturb me. :)

Wow.
That is quite brave of you. You must love it so much.

@ bigtom13, I read your story about this journey with interest. I hope to see a continuation of Your story. There are so many unexplored places in the world that are worth visiting. I can see that You are quite experienced travelers and your photos show your training well: nothing superfluous and everything you need. I wish you many new experiences and I hope that Your "iron horses" will not let you down in this journey. Good luck!

It is so remote in such a popular place, it's hard to believe.

Bob and I are both mechanics by trade. Not only are our bikes in good shape, between us we carry enough tools to completely overhaul one if the need were to arise. And we continuously change our camping stuff as we find better tools. Part of the fun is "Look at this" when cooking a meal.

I love the way you tell a story. It's also really cool that you guys just picked a spot at random to camp. I grew up on an 1100 Acre Farm, so camping was a normal thing for us. At any given time, we would take off into the woods, and camp until we wanted to come back. Your story reminds me of all the wild times that we had back then when I was younger. Now that I've grown and have kids and a family of my own along with several jobs it's hard to find time to take a whole weekend to go camping. Once the kids are grown and things are less hectic it will be one of the things that I will gladly return to from my childhood. Thank you so much for sharing this story, and bring him back all those cherished memories from the depths of my mind. Do you mind if I ask a couple questions? First, do you travel all the time? Or was this just a trip for you? And also, what kind of motorcycle do you ride? And if you could have any bike in the world what would it be? Sorry I know that was more than a couple questions, but I appreciate any time that you can give in a response. I wish you the safest travels and send all of my love to you and all of yours.

I travel often and on no fixed schedule. I will leave for my 'summer ride' one week from today. It will be a minimum of 4000 miles and could double :) I ride the Suzuki V Strom 1000 as shown in this article, but my principal ride is a Kawasaki Concours 1400. A remarkable road toad. Any motorcycle? Maybe the new Honda Goldwing. Maybe a BMW KGTL. Or just maybe a Connie. It really is a wonderful traveler.

Thanks for a great comment and set of questions. Made my day.

My dad has an 84 Honda Goldwing. He absolutely loves it. Plus it's good for him because he has a bad back and it rides real well. And I think I would agree with you on the BMW bike. There's something about those damn Germans and how they engineer stuff.

An '84? Is that a 1200 CC? Far as I am concerned that was the best of the 'wings so far. I've owned all from a 1000CC '76 to 1800 CC. Those didn't have enough leg room for me, a preferred the 1500 and really the 1200. Great motorcycles. And the BMW's as a group? Over the moon technology. Though my Connie has a paralever and telelever type suspension that makes it pretty smooth.

Hi there Bigtom. Looks like an amazing camping trip. Can almost smell the nice campfire and see the sparks swirl into the night sky.

I am running a comment challenge on my blog and I have featured your post. So please expect some additional comments coming your way. I hope you will appreciate it and hopefully it will bring you some new loyal followers.

All the best!
Daniel

Oh man! That's just so cool. Thank you! Thank you!

Hi there @bigtom13 I have just listened to you on discord, pal. Great interview and as you mentioned motorbikes I would like to point you in the direction of a friend of mine. He is new to steemit and here for promoting dementia fraud. I know he would love to here from another biker as he is also mad on motorbikes. His intro post has a video of him racing. I'm gonna have a good read of your post now as it looks great from the pics I saw. See you around buddy.
His name is @mrbullet131

I will certainly look him up. Us motorcycle riders have to stick together. And my father suffered from dementia, and certainly from some of the fraud with medications and treatments.

Thank you for a great comment!.

Sorry to hear that. It seems you will have a lot to talk about with @mrbullet131. I will certainly hope to be seeing you around too mate. Really enjoyed the post.

Such a beautiful place to spend a while next to a campfire and bring a change to the daily life. I for sure would give it a try.
I like how you describe this trip as made following your bike, your instinct. Letting the right place find you rather than the other way around. I think the best things in life come our way when we less planned them, so that's a great phylosophy to have when travelling and exploring.
And what's even better, is sharing an experience with a great companion. It just adds up to it being a moment to cherish and remember.

Great post! And have fun!

Best line of the day "Letting the right place find you rather than the other way around." I LOVE that.

I spent a couple of hours with my friend this week. This trip and others certainly came up in our conversation. But the biggest question is 'where do we go next?'. It may be back to the North Rim. There is certainly more to see there.

Haha glad you think so!
Oh, I'll make sure to check out any other post about your trips! And that place must definitely be awaiting with many wonderful things, so I would say that visiting once again seems like a great idea.
Have an awesome trip! :-)

You describe your trip spectacularly, you feel peace and relaxation, ideal to alleviate the stress of daily life. The countryside, nature, the clear sky to admire the stars, what better environment to meditate. It is a beautiful memory, thank you for sharing it. Have a happy night and each day of your life is a beautiful trip to share. Successes

I just love looking at the stars and this place was better than most for it. Pristine clear skies, 9000' elevation, and no light pollution at all. Perfect set up. I meditate most mornings, and when camping it is usually prior to the first cup of coffee. At that altitude I had a nice long meditation until the coffee was ready.

I'm from Venezuela, I use the google translator. I practice yoga to alleviate the stress of our current situation, between costs and insecurity, it is not easy to go out for a walk, that's why I loved reading, traveling, camping and meditating with you. There are very good publications to read that help us mentally and spiritually, yours was one of those and I found it thanks to a contest, that is to say that only with reading you I feel like a winner. Have a great day and keep sharing your travels.

Living by the fire is very natural and empowering, primal in its esence and liberating. Looks like you picked a great place, seems very nice and beautiful.

It turned out to be a great spot. It is primarily coniferous forest but this open meadow had lots of Aspen trees around the perimeter. The woods were full of snags and deadfalls so firewood was an easy task. It was still, if you know what I mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77