Travels With Connie #71 Signature Time

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Signature Glacier.1.JPG

We've finally climbed enough to make it to the 'signature part' of Glacier National Park. Glaciers. They are quite rare in the lower 48 states, these huge slabs of ice that are hundreds of years old. It is a part and parcel of the name and the beauty of the park.

The Long View-1.JPG

Near the top of the Going to the Sun Highway they predominate the scenery and provide that beautiful clear water to the rivers and streams that are so much a part of the character of the Park.

PG)Heavens Peak-1.JPG

For perspective. This is the sort of elevation that we are dealing with here. It's certainly not that high, Connie and I have been well over 12,000 feet on Mt. Evans in Colorado. The beauty and intimacy of the road make it feel much higher. It feels like you are in the sky.

Longview Road-1.JPG

The road continues to climb. It is one of the longest climbs I can remember, it seems like most mountain pass roads always have significant stretches where you go down before you go up again. Here, the down stretches are very short. You go UP.

Glacier Glory-1.JPG

It's a place of endless contrast. Black peaks, blindingly white snow. Dark green primordial forest and ligher green newer forest. And always the water. Almost every where you look the contrast with water is available.

Glacier Contrast-1.JPG

We are almost to the top. I can feel it. It's been a long uphill run, but we are nearly there.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Looks magical! Cannot wait to see the view from the top!! I am so envious of your rides <3

I just love the riding. Even when it's a huge thrash I tend to grin all the time. But when it's like this it IS magical. No other word for it.

Gorgeous photographs. I love mountains. I suppose if you're on a motorbike, rather than a car, you're that bit closer to nature, and it's that bit easier to stop and admire a lovely view.

There is no question, I am closer to nature. In weather like I'm showing here that is a good thing. Once in a while not so much. But I always take the bad in order to get the good.

Heavens Peak, What a fitting name. The view from there is absolutely heavenly. I am glad you showed the shot of the road winding through the mountains. I think it would be cool to drive through that area with the walls of rock on one side and the beauty of the view on the other.

My thoughts exactly. What a great name, and it's got the elevation too.

I've got a friend that bitches about driving the highway there. But he's a go fast, don't stop sort of guy. I've found it to be just a really pleasant experience. Next time I'm going the other direction. That'll give me a night in Thompson Falls, Montana. That's how you will know that I won the lottery. When I buy a place in Thompson Falls. :)

Wow, what gorgeous country to travel in!! I would love to go there...
Thanks for sharing this!

Thank you. It really is a spectacular. I think my photos don't really do the place justice.

Loving coming along the ride with you in this amazing scenery really highlighting how awesome mother Earth can be

Mother earth is pretty darned awesome. And she shows it really well in Glacier.

Ohh yes Seeing your post reminded me of seeing Fox Glacier in the South Island of NZ, so amazing an experience

I can't stop looking at that mountain in the distance. I am sure it looks magnificent live 💚

It's just amazing. It's like the universe decided to show perfect mountains. It just makes me shake my head.

It's such a great place to see the ecology of, too. Everyplace you look except the very peaks there is water. Always running water.

Woah! Love seeing that snow!

It's just amazing to be in shirtsleeve weather and walking on snow. Don't get to do that very often.

Awesome pictures. My mom and dad took a trip out to Glacier National park a couple of years ago. They had a really nice time and my dad got some amazing pictures. I want to get out there someday with my wife.

It's not Yellowstone, it's not Grand Canyon, but in it's own way, Glacier is every bit as much. It really is a gem of a place.

My mom and dad actually skipped Yellowstone to go to Glacier because they heard it was way better and not as crowded.

Yellowstone is pretty spectacular. But it is crowded, and I can certainly see that being a reason. I've only been to Yellowstone proper once. I cut through and around (I love Grand Tetons) a number of times/

I need to go back with my digital Nikon. Maybe later in the fall....

Sounds like a great post!

I love how the air changes when you're up that high - it feels fresh, healthy, very very special. Gorgeous drive again Tom!

YES! And you feel and taste it so well on a motorcycle. It's part of the joy of riding. The smells and feel of the countryside.

I am with you brother, I just wish I had brought my old goose down jacket, it is cold up here.

On this day, it was cool not cold. Felt just really good. I think the Goose Down vest would have been perfect!

That's what I thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34