Travels With Connie #77 The Nort' Woods

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Gone Walking-1.JPG

I don't know that I have ever explained why I was headed to Florence, Wisconsin. What the lure was. Well it's easy. Sam was spending the Summer there with his co parents Erv and Nancy. I was gone visiting.

Woods1-1.JPG

You see, Erv and Nancy own 27 acres of the woods near Florence. They are from Wisconsin and wanted a presence there even though they didn't live there full time anymore. So this place presented itself and they bought it. It's one of the most pacific places I've ever visited.

Misty Morning-1.JPG

I was also on the clock, at least a little. Erv and Nancy had a big family reunion down state and they'd asked me to come stay with Sam for four days. Let me think. I get four days alone with my doggy in the North Woods? Uh, yeah. I'm good with that.

Trailer Sam-1.JPG

I have to tell you that I was wondering how Sam and I would do. It'd been a couple months since I'd seen him. Not to mention that Erv and Nancy love him and are just so good with him. Better than me, to be honest. I'm just pretty sure that Erv has never laid an F Bomb on Sam, which I do with fair regularity. It turns out we were just fine. He really is a good boy.

Welcome2-1.JPG

Pretty tough detail, all in all. This is a picture of their trailer and the garden. Did I mention fresh vegetables? Did I mention that the last time I was here a bear ate my coffee?

Nancy was working in Yuma that summer, so Erv didn't even have a coffee maker. I set up my normal coffee mess on a little table just outside the door because I get up at a rediculously early hour, and want coffee. So I planned to have it outside by a fire. Except when I got up there was no coffee. When the sun came up I found the container I had it parked in out on the lawn with tooth marks. Big tooth marks. But there was enough coffee left in the container that I didn't have to go to town first thing.

Tractor Shed-1.JPG

Sam and I walked for miles and miles. Erv's property backs up against a state preserve which in turn backs up a state park. It's really a sweet set up and we took advantage of it.

Sam is maybe the most adaptable dog I've ever known. I knew how he handled the desert and how he behaved in that environment. He adapted to the woods in short order and changed his behavior to match. Yesterday I had him out in the hard rock canyons for the first time. He did just fine.

Misty Morning-1.JPG

When Erv and Nancy came back on Monday I had promised that I would help him fell three Fir trees that were threatening his trailer. One of them is here in left center of the frame. But for the four days alone I did almost nothing except walk with Sam and write. Life is good there.

I stripped Connie darn near to the bones and parked her under the overhang of their trailer because it was raining pretty hard by the time I got there. A little rain wan't going to affect my pleasure...

Thanks for coming along for the ride!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Just what the woods needed, a bear hyped up on caffeine. That would have been a sight to see too.
The place does look very inviting and it is great that same has to really cool places to live and explore and people who are willing to take him out and enjoy it.
Thanks for sharing Sam's life with us.

Yeah, I'm guessing it wasn't a good day in Bearville. There is a little creek there (Erv's property line) and several low marshy spots. Erv taught Sam to jump in a pool in the creek when he wanted to come in the house so he wouldn't track mud all over. Goofy dog would go jump in the creek every time.

those woods look so comforting somehow. Like you just want to walk in them forever, inhaling the sweet pine infused air while the thoughts tumble around your head.

That bear must have had a lovely caffeine buzz 🐻

Those woods are comforting. There is a little glade that has 3 cedar trees and a oak with a perfect sitting rock that is the classic meditation space. Erv is going to have the place logged, we spent some time cataloging trees. White and yellow pines all stay. Those are the former predominant species. All Oaks and Maples stay (He has both. Sugar and Red Maple) Cedar is sacred, those all stay. Everything else is second and third growth stuff that can go. It will really open most spaces and give the 'stays' a chance to thrive.

Long answer that could have just been yes, those woods are incredibly inviting.

I'm guessing the bear had a big buzz. I was there a few days and I don't think he came back.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 276 (10/09/18)

Thank you. It is certainly a privilege to be included with these fine posts. I do appreciate it.

I know that I have already heard about your reuniting with Sam but it is so nice to read about it. I have always had animals but I don't know if I have personally had a connection with one yet that equals yours with Sam. I think it is amazing!!

My buddy Rogers is certain that Sam can speak English. I need to give up on him for a few days, Erv and Nancy are missing him something fierce. Erv asked me Saturday when my next ride is :) He really is a good boy, and he may not speak English, but he also might be psychic. Thanks Bronco!

I love Sam! I cant imagine being away from my dogs for any length of time, it must have been hard to leave him there even though he was in doggy heaven! It looks like you guys have so much fun together. Such a fantastic relationship!
BB 💕💕🐶🐶

Erv and Nancy were involved with picking him out and all. Before he was even ours I told them I wanted Sam to go to Wisconsin with them. It's doggy heaven, really. And Erv is such a good trainer. Nancy wasn't so sure she wanted to travel with a dog again, but now she's the biggest fan. Sam is such a good boy, just really is.

Aw, you and sam, a boy and his dog, the great old freindship of yore.

Yes indeed. A boy and his dog. He really does go almost everyplace with me. It is great!

Thanks Donna!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94