Travels With Connie #83 Back in the Gorge

in #travel5 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

I have a confession. I spent my whole trip this summer using one SD card in my Nikon. It apparent'y had a corrupted track and I lost some photos across the trip. The very best stops in Flaming Gorge don't show up here because there are no photos.

FGBridge (1).jpg

This is looking back across the bridge and the dam that has no photos. It's a really pretty area, but...

FGrideout.JPG

I stopped several times on my ride up and out of the gorge. The obvious wet spots have some timber but for the most part it is pretty much bare and dry. It's the sort of country I grew up in.

FGrideout2x.jpg

Trees were hard to find at this stop. Sage Brush and June Grass.

FGGeologyx.jpg

You can see that there isn't much soil covering the rocks in this side canyon on the ride out of Flaming Gorge.

FGGeology3x.jpg

These are a couple of the most persistent trees ever. They are literally growing in crevasse in the rock.

FGmine2x.jpg

At the south end of the gorge, nearly to Vernal, Utah there is a huge mining operation. I couldn't go in or see exactly what was going on, but it's owned by Simplot so it is probably fertilizer related. Lime, or Potash or Potassium I would guess.

FGmineimpoundmentx.jpg

You can clearly see the tailings pile here, and if you look beyond it, you can see water. They are using water to stabilize the tailings. I suppose that is a good practice. At least until it isn't. There is quite a lot of elevation drop between the impoundment and the river. If it were to fail it could not be good.

FGfinishx.jpg

There is the last of the Flaming Gorge. I'm sorry to see it end, but now I am still a couple hundred miles from Las Vegas and it is getting really warm. It's going to be a thrash to Vegas.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

The STEEM Engine

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Sort:  

Wow, those are some spectacular views! It looks like this was a really great trip for you so far. That is a bummer about your SD card though. It's funny to think that we can still have issues with losing pictures even without film. Remember when you didn't quite get the film rewound all the way and you lost the first or last couple of pictures on the roll? My dad used to buy film in 100 exposure rolls and then make his own canisters of varying sizes. If he knew he was only going to take a couple pictures he would make a 12 exposure roll so he didn't have to waste a 24 exposure roll. Sorry, I got side tracked... Nice post!

Do I remember? Or have film break when you are shooting? UUUrrrggghhh.

This is the first time that I've had this problem with digital, and not only is the card well aged, but it's been banged around quite a little in it's career.

I've seen bad SD cards do crazy things to digital cameras including killing the battery life.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought of you today because on my morning ramble to the neighbouring tea room ( I am a creature of habit) the sun shone! I wondered if it was at all like your AZ but of course the sun is set low in the sky, due to it being December, but it was quite warm for me.

You have such amazing views and I'm glad you get out into it and enjoy it.

Our sun is never exactly 'low in the sky'. It takes longer to rise and set, but is high in the sky all the time.

It's quite cold here for me. Sam insists that we wait until it's 55F to start our walk. We may have a month where I wear more clothes and force him to go :)

Thanks for stopping by, Donna.

The photographs are very beautiful, testify that nature is the best work of art in the world; it is impressive to see how the bushes are born in the middle of the hardness of the rocks, these landscapes really brighten the spirit. This tour was wonderful. Thank you for sharing it, @bigtom13

I just love when I find trees growing like that, in what seems an impossible spot. Always raises my spirits, too.

Thanks for the wonderful words. Greatly appreciated.

WOW those views so different that what I saw on my walk in the city this morning loved the rugged and yet so beautiful landscapes

I was talking about it with a friend today, how much I like being away. This is a really lightly traveled road and has some serious views to it. My kind of place.

You make me want to hit the roads when I retire, :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88