London Bridge in Lake Havasu City, Arizona

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

bridge2.jpg
The London Bridge was originally built in the 1800's over the River Thames in London, England, but it was removed and the reassembling of the bridge started in Lake Havasu City, Arizona in the 1960's.

A cool fact about the bridge, is that the light posts on the bridge were made from melted down cannons from Napoleon's army. bridge5.jpg

The bridge itself is a tourist attraction because it is considered the world's largest antique.
bridge.jpg

People place locks on the bridge to symbolize their love as an unbreakable bond.
bridge3.jpg

My husband and I tend to find an old telephone booth where ever we go, but it was fitting this time since it was by the London Bridge to find an old, red telephone booth. We couldn't miss the photo opportunity to keep our tradition going.
bridge1.jpg

And... I couldn't miss a selfie opportunity since I finally had time to do my makeup and before we took a sunset stroll across the bridge.
bridge6.jpg

Here is my favorite photo! I captured this beauty from the sidewalk on the bridge. It was a beautiful view of the sunset over Lake Havasu.
bridge4.jpg

All of the photos are original content, taken by me. If you are interested in seeing previous posts from my trip to Arizona, you can view them on my Steemit page at this link: https://steemit.com/@bosssarah

Sort:  

I love the last shot! The walkway and the lights just made this a lovely shot. There are different points of interest which is nice. I also likehow the walkwsy and the water curve snd gets narrower leading to the horizon.

Have you used @steemitworldmap?

I haven't used that, what is it?

I am glad you liked the photos. I appreciate the feedback on what you liked about them.

If your post is chosen, they will feature it and upvote your post :) In my posts about travel or food blog, I use steemitworldmap but I haven't used lately. Search in google maps the place you want to add in the map. In this case, I Googled London Bridge Lake Havasu City. When you see it on the map, right click and press "What's here?" A small pop up will appear at the bottom of the page indicating latitude and longitude. First is the latitude and the next set of numbers is the longitude. Copy this format anywhere in your posts:

!steemitworldmap * type latitude value here without the asterisks * lat * type longitude value here without the asterisks * long * type name of place here without the asterisks * d3scr

Following the format above:

!steemitworldmap 34.471801 lat -114.347500 long London Bridge Lake Havasu City d3scr

Place that anywhere in this post. If you are successful, you will get a comment from steemitworldmap. However, I informed you too late because they only consider posts not older than 3 days old. Maybe in your next travel posts :D

I will have to consider using it! I just made a post, but it was traveling through 3 states, so I couldn't pick out the actual longitude and latitude points out because of that. Thank you for the information!

Wow, I guess I shouldn't be surprised about the cool stuff surrounding the london bridge but I never knew. Seems like it was a lot of fun! Now I'm really curious now why it was actually moved, seems like I need to head over to google lol.

The bridge could not continue to support the traffic in London, so they removed it to start construction of a more durable bridge. It was purchased in an auction, and it was taken apart and put back together in Lake Havasu City.

Wow amazing good information absolutely this bridge is world's largest antique.

And this bridge is beautiful symbol of love.
Because people locks on the bridge for their unbreakable love.
This is your good informational post.

Take Care.💫💫💫

I'm glad you enjoyed my post!

Welcome

Take care

This is a cool trivia, London Bridge is now in Arizona and so with its light posts. That kind of phone booth, is no longer to be found here, that's cool , but am I right not seeing the phone inside the booth? lol or your husband just covered it? The view from the lake is spectacular.

I think they just place those kind of phone booths around as decorations now... no one really needs a pay phone now because of cell phones. It is rare that you will see a pay phone now days... other than cute red ones like this for decor.

London bridge is one of the bridges that I so wish to see in person. I love your make up by the way so light and natural.

Thank you! I try not to put too much on. I hope you get a chance to see it and experience the beauty of Lake Havasu!

Beautiful photos! All along I thought London Bridge is found in London, England. Thanx for the info.

Well you know the nursery rhyme, "London Bridge is Falling Down." lol! Thank you! I am glad you liked the photo.

Hahah yeah! 😊😊 you are very welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85