Threw my own 30th Birthday at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

in #travel5 years ago

30 bday3.jpg

I've had my share of disappointing birthdays, so I refused to spend my 30th Birthday disappointed or sad. Many women have a hard time turning 30, and I did not want to spend it pouting about the inevitable (getting older). I decided to rent a 3 bedroom condo at the beach and have some of my closest friends spend my birthday weekend with my husband and I.

I'm going to be honest, I'm not a huge fan of Myrtle Beach, but it's cheap and not a terrible place to go for a good time. The beach is disgusting, so disgusting that when we walked on the beach at night, I stepped in feces. I'm not sure if it was human or dog feces, but I was equally grossed out. I walked back to the room staring at the ground instead of the stars, and luckily this help me to avoid a puddle of vomit. The worst part is that the beach started allowing oil drilling, so unfortunately from my balcony, I could see the oil rigs contributing towards the destruction of our planet.

30 bday4.jpg

Well, that's enough of the talking about the yucky part of my birthday adventure. Let me get to the good parts! The condo was on the Myrtle Beach Strip where all the excitement is. The strip is a whole road of shops, restaurants, and bars.

30 bday6.jpg

As soon as my friends arrived, we got ready for the evening. I didn't do a fancy 30th photo shoot like many of my friends, but I was feeling good, so I snapped a photo of myself.

30 bday.jpg

I made them go to a bar called The Bowery. It was the first place my husband and I said "I love you." It only felt right to make a pit stop there. Here is some photos of us hanging out!

30 bday5.jpg

30 bday1.jpg

30 bday2.jpg

Myrtle Beach is set up for tourist and has a lot of things to do, so the next day we went out and had a lot of fun. We went to an escape room where you are locked up and given an hour to solve all the clues and puzzles to get out of the room. The photo below is of my husband and a friend.

30 bday9.jpg

Our escape room was set up like a prison. We were in jail cells and had to move the toilet in the cell to find a crawl space. Part of our escape was crawling through this crawl space to get out.

30 bday7.jpg

We were pressed for time, and right before the time was up, we were all able to escape. Here is the final photo of us, showing off our genius brains and great teamwork!

30 bday8 (2).jpg

We also took turns playing virtual reality games in the pods that are shown below.

30 bday10.jpg

My friends really enjoy going to the Ripley's Aquarium and chose that as one of our excursions. If you have never been before, it is a great experience. A large part of the aquarium has conveyor belts that take you through what seems like a tunnel with the aquarium glass above your head. I wish I would have got more photos to show this, but I've been multiple times to Ripley's Aquarium, so I was not snapping as many photos as if it was my first time somewhere. My favorite thing to see at the aquarium is the jellyfish because their colors are so alluring, as you can see in the photo I took below.

30 bday11.jpg

Here is a cute photo of my husband having a good time at the aquarium also.

30 bday12.jpg

The aquarium has a new feature, and that is a glass-bottom boat that floats around the shark tank. Since this was new, we had to try it out!

30 bday13.jpg

30 bday14.jpg

30 bday16.jpg

The aquarium also offers mermaid (divers wearing a mermaid tale) shows, where the mermaids swim with the stingrays.

30 bday15.jpg

30 bday17.jpg

30 bday19.jpg

To conclude this post, I want to make a point. If you really want something, sometimes you have to treat yourself. I am so glad that I treated myself to this trip with friends. It was a fun experience and we had an awesome time!

Sort:  

What a fun trip! It sounds so packed with cool events! I love escape rooms and that's awesome that you all made it out. What kind of virtual reality did you try? Also the mermaids are the coolest thing I've seen all day 😱

We had a lot of fun! We were in some type of space ship shooting other space ships that were shooting at us in the virtual reality game. I'm glad you liked the mermaids! I thought that was pretty cool too!

Wow what a fun trip you had, a great way to bring in the dirty 30s and I'm sure the next decade is going to be filled with more epic moments. Happy belated birthday.

FYI I also nominated your post as my @pifc post of the week :) You can find my nomination here

Thank you! My birthday was months ago, but I finally started blogging again. I appreciate that you nominated my post!

Glad you made the choice to make your birthday yours. My birthdays are always less than to be desired. I've just learned to expect so much and just do what I want.

You were featured in week 61 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @chekohler. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure and meet new people

Thank you for checking out my post! You are right, just doing what you want is the best method, because it is your day.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.

Congratulations @bosssarah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05