A Day at Sigirya Rock | Sri Lanka Travel

in #travel5 years ago

S22A0296-Edit.jpg
At the foot of Sigirya Rock


Highlights

  • Definitely worth the visit, plan to spend 3-5 hours at the site.
  • For about $10USD you can hire a professional guide to explain the history.
  • Start your day early and take your time once you arrive. There is so much to explore!

I advise those wanting to beat the traffic/heat, head over as early as possible. Our day started at 6:30AM. We took a 25 minute tuk-tuk ride from our hotel near Dambulla, Sri Lanka to the entrance of the site. Noticed a few people walking the distance, but for the time savings, I'd recommend otherwise.

S22A0247.jpg

Before entering the grounds, we paid $30USD per ticket. I consider this a great value for what you get to experience. The area was pretty easily navigated, but I recommend hiring one of the many tour guides along the way. Unless you already have an understanding of the history surrounding the location, it helps having the locals break it down.

S22A0256.jpg
Walking through the garden with a local guide

We came across all types of creatures, including this monitor lizard. It got spooked as I was trying to take a closer look...

S22A0263.jpg

Whether looking out at the beautiful landscapes or up close at the charming details, Sigirya keeps the mind in a constant state of awe. Rocks that may seem to serve as a retaining wall, were actually traps for potential invading foes. We were told they never had to be used.

S22A0288.jpg

One constant theme of this area was how it would serve the king. These pools were built for the king's many concubines. Mo money mo problems if you ask me, but to each their own.

S22A0250.jpg

We finaly made it to the foot of this massive rock!

S22A0300-Edit.jpg

Once you reach the top of the winding staircase, past howling dogs and out-of-breath travelers, you can see why the king resided here. Not to mention, he didn't have to make the journey on foot. We learned that he was carried up and down by a team of men every time.

S22A0332.jpg

That all for my day at Sigirya Rock. I don't want to give away too many of the details. I highly recommend you check it out for yourself. If you do, be sure to share your trip with my. I find it fascinating to see how different travelers explore the same region.

Regards,
Bradford Tennyson

All photos used in this post were taken by and owned by me.


S22A0355.jpg

Wouldn't be complete without a photo of some monkeys we came across that day. Just chillin...


Camera | Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Location | Sigirya, Sri Lanka


Follow me @bradfordtennyson! Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Sigiriya is one of the most valuable historical monuments of Sri Lanka.The "Eighth Wonder of the World"

I completely agree. The site is very well preserved too!

Posted using Partiko Android

😍😍

It is one of my bucketlist!!

Im glad i have seen this post, you have just added my eagerness and interest to visit this place in the future. Its a must for me! Hehe..

Thanks for the great captures you have. Yes! The big rock seems smaller from afar, but once you get cloaed to it, it seems very huge and scary! Hahahaha

That all for my day at Sigirya Rock. I don't want to give away too many of the details. I highly recommend you check it out for yourself.

And you quite correct! Leave some little mystery for us to find out. That way we will be more pushed to come. Someday my friend someday!

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so happy this increased your excitement for Sri Lanka. you will definitely enjoy the visit!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful place!

Beautiful indeed. Thanks for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sigiryia and Adam's peak are some of the amazing things to see in Sri Lanka. Thank you for reminding me of this beautiful place. When I got there many years back, the guided tour cost was $3. It's incredible how they were able to have water for the king's pool on the top of the rock!

We didn't get to do Adam's Peak, but I've heard many great things. Thanks for checking out my post, I'm glad it helped you reminisce about your past travels 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

It's funny, the rock looks so small in the first photo but not when you're walking towards it.

By the way, I'm part of the @SteemitWorldmap curation team and it would be great to see your post on the map. You can find out more about it on http://steemitworldmap.com. Just click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon and that you will follow us @steemitworldmap for our daily #TravelDigest!!!

That might be from the wide angle lens I used...

Thanks for checking out my post!

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks like a fascinating place to visit! Thanks for the tour. And even lizards and monkeys too!

Hi bradfordtennyson,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for sharing my work, greatly appreciated!

its a bit of shame to admit but I have never heard about Sigirya Rock before this post. Few nice shots, comment about the "Eighth Wonder of the World" and obviously your story rewarded by curators forced me to read a bit more about this place and it looks just absolutely enormous ! its not surprising me that king decided to reside over there

To be fair, I knew little about Sri Lanka as a whole before I started planning our trip out. Thanks for checking out my post and all your kinds comments!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Glad I could contribute 😁

hello~ @bradfordteenyson! we make this site --> en.tripsteem.com /// please write your travel stroy ( base on steem)^^ thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87