# Bali solo travel: March/April 2019

in #travel5 years ago

Hey steemers,
After being home for a few days I thought it would be a good idea to do a post about my trip, more of an overall, round up style blog....
I hope you enjoy!

As I landed in Bali I was picked up by the owner of a permaculture farm and local driver named Kadek. He picked me up from the airport and took me to his permaculture farm that I had agreed to help out at, via a lunch stop at an amazing local restaurant.
I paid for both the lift and the meal and before I knew it we were in Ubud.

The nursery of the permaculture garden.

We worked for a few hours with broken tools and waterlogged clay soil, eventually we had created what they call a banana circle.
We planted out the circle and let the afternoon rains do the watering in for us.
After the work was done for the day I decided to find a cheap hostel.
I planned to return to the farm but it just never happened.....

I booked at bed at the White Villa Hostel in Ubud for $3.70 which included breakfast, a large black coffee and a big pancake covered in honey. Perfect!

The legendary little puppy we called Makayla that lived at the hostel.

The view from the hostel after afternoon rains

I decided on the volcano trek I mentioned in a previous blog, hired a scooter and headed for the volcano leaving my main luggage at the hostel.

It wasn't long before I was lost in a village, caught in the rain and being invited into a locals house for coffee and snacks. When things seemed to be going wrong, highlights of the trip were made.

The Bali coffee, cakes and snacks provided by my local friend, also named Kadek.

Kadek informed me that Amed, another destination I was interested in wasn't far from his place and I was best to head there.....
So after many thank you's and awkward hugs, that's what I did.

A random beach spot in Ahmed

Ahmed had a nice vibe and was relatively quiet but still had enough going on to keep you entertained.
Unfortunately I only spent the night there and a small fraction of the day, I explored the surrounding areas on my scooter (some hairy riding involved if you decide to take this route) and made my way to the Mt. Batur area.
This is some of the most fun, challenging and dangerous riding I've ever done on a scooter!

Hillside agriculture on volcanic soil is a sight to behold.

I stayed the night in a hostel and booked a guide for the sunrise trek up the volcano. Apparently you can't do it on your own because of some organisation or mafia scenario, and for the sake of $20/25 I didn't want the hassle.
At around 3:30am I left for the hike in my trusty flip flops (much to the guides disgust) and scaled the volcano in fairly good time.
The view was definitely a welcoming sight.

The sun just starting to peak above the opposite volcano.

After the volcano done and dusted I had breakfast and coffee at the hostel and decided to scooter back to Ubud the same day.

My company for breakfast before leaving for Ubud.

The trip back to Ubud was a lot quicker and easier than what I had been through in previous days.
I did the trip in around 1 hour only stopping once for fuel and headed straight back to my original hostel.
My luggage was still there, I booked a night there and organised a taxi to Sanur the next day.

This chicken and rice dish I had on the way was around $2.

My time in Sanur consisted of resting, eating and recovering from the volcano adventure, I was a little washed up to be honest. After two days I had my boat to Nusa Penida booked and I was on my way to the beach to catch the boat.

Nusa Penida ended up being a great decision, this place is called Atuh Beach

After arriving on Nusa Penida I bartered for a new scooter, got the price I wanted and headed to find a hostel. But before making it to said hostel I was hit at full speed buy a huge insect that either stung or bit me, the pain was severe and lasted 3 days...

I made it to the hostel had an early night and began to explore the island in the morning, the place was incredible if you can look past the huge amount of rubbish everywhere.

Nusa Penida offers:

  • Underground temple cave.
  • Multiple world class beaches.
  • Epic sunrise and sunset lookouts.
  • Guided tours to snorkel and dive with amazing creatures like Manta Rays.
  • Great restaurants and even better street food at the markets after 6pm.
  • Fresh seafood.
  • Live music venue most nights.
  • Amazing rides and amazing views all round.
    And much much more!!

A spot for the swingers.

Sunset lookout spot.

Some kind of crazy water temple.

The rubbish situation is definitely not hidden.

Inside the cave temple.

A family portrait in the hills.

Some the more secluded roads are the best.

As you can see by this very small taste of Nusa Penida that it's well worth visiting and if you like what you see make sure you check out my older blogs. I have done a couple of more detailed day to day blogs while I was acctualy on the Island so check them out!

A bit of beach and rubbish action.

After a week or so I headed back to Sanur for two days before my flight.
I did some shopping organised my escape route and headed back home to shake the money tree.
Stay tuned for more adventures and Peaceful Travels,
Sam.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow sure looked like an awesome holiday! The landscape at the beach is breath taking! How did the swings go?

Posted using Partiko Android

No swinging for me mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 17.30% upvote from us for your 3885 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=brizhorticulture
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bali-solo-travel-marchapril-2019-52kmhm7w


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @brizhorticulture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You're welcome @brizhorticulture
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.

How do I do that?

Posted using Partiko Android

Simply click on this link and use your active private key to confirm your vote.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 195 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you, I really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Thanks so much travellers!!

Posted using Partiko Android

How is the daily grind coming along?

Would definitely rather still be adventuring, but hanging out with plants is so bad.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 5.77% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @brizhorticulture! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87