Final adventure on Nusa Penida

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Morning steemers,
Unfortunately I write this from a homestay in Sanur as my flight home is approaching quickly......But, not to worry..... I made the most of my last adventure on Nusa Penida Island!

IMG20190402150154.jpg
The day started off with coffee and this view, I could tell it was going to be a great day.

IMG20190402150355.jpg
At the end of the jetty they were building a floating water slide area, it was really funny to stand there and watch the locals testing it! They were very friendly.

With the energy of the coffee in my veins I jumped on my scooter and headed off in search of a cave temple I had overheard people speaking of. I had no real idea of its location but I knew it was on the way to Atuh Beach which I wanted to check out also.

IMG20190404150138.jpg
I came across this sign and decided to have a look and ask for directions.

IMG20190404150326.jpg
Lots of Cassava was grown here, a plentiful food source with a huge tuber that is treated similar to potatoes.

IMG20190404150409.jpg

IMG_20190404_190107_764.jpg
They also farmed their own pigs here, sometimes used for sacrificing to the Gods.

I talked with one of the people that lived there for awhile about plants and nature, it was rather interesting to here his outlook on life. We were both left a little stumped on what to do about the world's plastic problems.....

He then explained that the cave temple wasn't far from Warung Forest and I was headed in the right direction.

I fired up the scooter and monster trucked it out of the rather rough terrain that lead me to the forest.
Soon enough I found the temple.

IMG20190404155458.jpg
Some simple rules before climbing the stairs to the temple.

There are monkeys along the stairs, most of which are friendly enough...... but one bared it's teeth at me and lunged, I swang my bag to protect myself, yelled obsanities and made it passed without rabies thankfully. The monkeys in Thailand are much nicer to me 😂

Once making it to the top there was a bit of a lookout section and some religious guys playing cards. I paid my 20,000IDR donation and was pointed in the direction of the caves entrance.

IMG20190404160508.jpg
This is the entrance, a little daunting at first and a very tight squeeze.

IMG20190404160552.jpg
Once inside, the cave opened up far more than I expected.

Now, I am no religious person but the energy inside this cave was something I have never experienced. There was definitely a spiritual feeling, something I can't explain.

IMG20190404160624.jpg

IMG20190404161404.jpg
The lighting was rather dim and I didn't want to be that tourist popping off flash photography.

IMG20190404161039.jpg
I eventually reached the end of the cave, well as far as they would allow tourists. There was a group of people joined for some kind of prayer ritual.... I literally sat here for an hour listening and soaking up the spiritual vibes.

I am truly amazed at the atmosphere created in this cave, if one was to search for God.... I would imagine this would be a great place to start.

IMG20190404161508.jpg

IMG20190404160557.jpg
Climbing back out the same hole I climbed in seemed to represent dieing and being reborn. At least that's how I felt after this incredible experience!

Climbing back down the stairs the monkeys seemed to sense I'd been through the experience and parted as I approached. Maybe the hostility at the start is all part of it......

Anyway, back on the bike headed for Atuh Beach, the steemy, muggy environment of the cave had made me desperate for a swim!

I made it 😍

IMG20190404135427.jpg
This place is incredible, well worth the bumpy ride.

IMG20190404135225.jpg

IMG20190404135432.jpg
As you can see it's a long way down to the beach, but it had to be done.

It took a good 20 mins to walk down to the beach and of course at least the same to walk back. Well worth it!

IMG20190404140802.jpg
As I swam in these pristine waters my mind floated back to last year on Gili Trawangan in Lombok. The steemit famous @terrybogan's screams of "let's go see some f=#king turtles" made me chuckle as I floated around.

I was in the water for long enough when a lady approached saying I had to pay for a chair.... I declined and decided to leave.

IMG20190404140417.jpg
It was at this point, about half way back up the cliff that I realised I'd pulled something in my thigh muscle, nothing a bit of rest won't fix!

The day was finished with some amazing street food and an early nights rest. I was destroyed haha.

IMG20190403203834.jpg
I am a huge fan of mystery meat on a stick!.... I think it was chicken but you can never be 100%

So much more happened on this day but there is only so much I can type and you will read.
I appreciate anyone who made it to the end of this one, great effort!

Bye for now steemers and Peaceful Travels,
Sam.
Screenshot_2018-10-15-16-56-11-20.png

Sort:  

Fantastical posting - I can't believe so much happened. I think you could have turned that into three postings and built up the suspense !

Simple rules. Lol. Just not so simple if you happen to be a women .

I can't wait for your next adventure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very true,
I get a little carried away when I write these things haha

Maintain the exuberance. A great bit of long form writing on here. Inspired me to write more long form posts so thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words mate, it means a lot to me!

A welcome and interesting rest from work, for sure

A much needed break that's for sure.

The cave looked amazing! Where did you leave your magical charm?
That beach is next level Def worth the walk!

Posted using Partiko Android

I lost my magical charm with my dignity a very long time ago!

Shame your trip is almost over.. Haha thanks for the shout out, did you see anymore fucking turtles?

No I didn't, only the captives on sanur beach. Found flights for 200 return in November so might come for a turtle hunt then!

Oh that's a shame.. $200 return is a great deal! Day gotta go back 🐢🐢🐢

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thanks so much!
I really appreciate the help 😊

Congratulations @brizhorticulture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=brizhorticulture
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=final-adventure-on-nusa-penida


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #478.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thanks heaps people 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82