Taking a trip to the coast with @c0ff33a - Whitby on the East Coast of the UK

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_5747.JPG

This way my view yesterday lunchtime when I arrived at Whitby following a 2 hour drive. With some rare good fortune my trip happened to be the same day that after weeks and weeks of cloudy wet weather we had a lovely sunny day! I spent last night encoding the driving footage, but it got too long to post. Then tonight I realised I had too many pictures to include the driving footage anyway - so that will have to be it's own post - it's quite a scenic countryside tour to this coastline.

IMG_5749.JPG

I was lucky to grab a parking spot here by the harbour, it was a short walk back up the road to the shop I would be installing equipment in - but this small town has very narrow streets and no parking near the shop.

IMG_5751.JPG

There are plenty of boats moored up in the harbour, the town is split by the harbour entry and a swing road bridge allows traffic to cross while being able to move when needed to allow boats to pass.

IMG_5754.JPG

There is the bridge, red and white to the left of my new feathered friend.

IMG_5758.JPG

I walked up the road to find my coffee house awaiting a coffee machine.

IMG_5760.JPG

Back to my car to extract my special delivery, anyone asking why I have a wooden pallet tucked in the back obviously missed my trip to pontefract earlier in the year. The espresso machine weighs 60kg, so to facilitate moving it I have a trolley which the top slides off and the legs fold up. Previously I have had 7 seat estates for the flat boot load area so the trolley slides in, last year I fancied a change and got this SUV model. I checked it had the flat entry boot needed to slide the trolley in.

IMG_5761.JPG

Guess who didn't check the height of the boot level. It should have been obvious an SUV would have a higher ride height, anyway getting the machine in is fine just by lifting the trolley front up and dropping it on the boot. But getting it back out is not a good idea - slightly off when it drops would be an expensive affair - these machines do not bounce! So my creative solution is make the trolley higher with a pallet, nice easy slide of the machine onto it - then a simple lift down to street level.

IMG_5766.JPG

A quick stroll up the road with my machine laden trolley , and a helpful lift into the shop by the owner and here we are. Well slightly more to it then that, I had the water filter to flush, connect the water supply up to the machine via the filter. Then hard wire the machine into it's isolation switch. While it warms up ready to train the new owners on using it, I went for a little walk.

IMG_5767.JPG

Whitby is currently a fishing port and tourist destination, but it has a long history and features an eclectic range of narrow winding streets.

IMG_5768.JPG

IMG_5769.JPG

IMG_5770.JPG

This is the harbour the far side of the swing bridge.

IMG_5771.JPG

IMG_5772.JPG

The opposite side of the harbour is where the main buildings of the town are located.

IMG_5773.JPG

IMG_5774.JPG

This side swings round to cliffs.

IMG_5775.JPG

This is the main entry point to the harbour, the walls protect the harbour from the ocean waves.

After I completed the training on the espresso machine, I left my customers happy and went to make my belly happy!

IMG_5784.JPG

Whitby Fish and Chips by the harbour in the glorious sunshine, it's a tough day at the office today.

IMG_5787.JPG

The Seagull are brave round here, they were practically next to me while I was eating my late lunch. As soon as I go to take a photo they look away! I had a few scraps left over, as soon as I tipped the tray out onto the wall there was a flurry of wings and another three joined these two to fight over the scraps!

IMG_5804.JPG

IMG_5805.JPG

A final walk before I set off, and I found where they keep the nets and lobster/crab cages.

IMG_5807.JPG

IMG_5808.JPG

IMG_5809.JPG

IMG_5810.JPG

IMG_5811.JPG

IMG_5812.JPG

And a couple of interesting buildings from my walk.

IMG_5814.JPG

And a final farewell to the harbour.

IMG_5819.JPG

I will be back again though, over the years I have fitted 8 machines in Whitby, and this particular customer is on their 3rd although their other business's have been outside the town centre.

Some of my previous posts you might have missed


Witness Update by @c0ff33a The Day The Blockchain Stood Still

The C0ff33 Vlog 5th October 2018
Sublime Sunday by @c0ff33a ☕️


Last Confirmed Block Number 26,721,428 Last Aslot 26,815,969
Steemd v0.20.5


Kind thanks to @enginewitty for employing his Ninja graphic design skills and producing this 🔥 banner

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

To grow your presence and following on Steemit, be active in the community Discords that offer the chance to learn, network, share and be found. The #SteemitRamble discord https://discord.gg/HZYzEry hosts a range of shows where you can join in and get your name shown, every Thursday there are two Pimp My Post Thursdays which are hugely popular and give you an opportunity to get your posts seen.

For fun and entertainment then #SteemStar is the discord to be in, https://discord.gg/ZDANjzy with regular shows during the week it’s the best place to relax, and also network the friends you make could be your future biggest upvoters.

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my Steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

You can view my current Witness Statistics using this tool produced by Witness @justyy

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

" A Shy Old British Geography and Biology Geek, is a Nut addict and loves Coffee and obcessed with Jax Jones" as @steemflow describes me.

The greatest challenge we face on Steemit is getting our posts seen, I have always believed the simplest and best value way of doing this is by commenting on the blog posts of others, the more you engage people and interact with them the greater the chance they will visit your own blog and return the favour. Other then spending all my free time commenting on Steemit posts, I also distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr


This awesome animated Banner has been kindly been created by the wonderful @snook

Don’t forget to vote for Witnesses https://steemit.com/~witnesses
And you can vote for the Witness team c0ff33a and @derangedvisions if you like what we are doing for people and communities throughout the Steem blockchain - click below to vote easily
witness.png

Sort:  

Beautiful pics and the people living there should be pretty friendly since it's a seaside town in North Yorkshire.
100% upvote from me and resteemed!

Thank you very much, it is a lovely friendly town - plenty of people called into the coffee shop while I was fitting the machine - just to see how they were progressing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aw. Your post brought back some happy memories @c0ff33a. I haven't been there for years but spent many a happy weekend there in my twenties. it doesn't look like it's changed much.

You were lucky to get such great weather. 😁

The day looks perfect for an outing and the old town gives a very warm and cozy feeling. I am sure you had a wonderful time.

Thank you very much, it is always nice when my work takes me to an attractive part of the country. It’s a very nice fishing town and a nice place to visit for a day, I have been many times with my family.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So you sell coffee machines. My hero for making sure everyone has a fine cup of java. I can see why you took so many photos. I really like the one with the green netting in the forefront. What a wonderful day you had.

Thank you very much, yes I sell pretty much everything you can think of coffee related. I do like capturing a few photos when I have chance - I’m quite fond of the fishing net shot myself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You live in a lovely place @coff33a and it is a treasure.

Thank you very much, there are some lovely areas with wonderful scenery around where I live.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Whitby looks like my kinda city. All about the fishing! Creative solution with the pallet😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, there are plenty of boats that will take you out sea fishing - it would have been a lovely day to spend out on the ocean !

Posted using Partiko iOS

maravillosas fotos amigo se ven geniales, las jaulas son la de sacar cangrejos no debe ser nada fácil ir de pesca je je andar en el mar me marea je je no me gusta

Thank you very much

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a cute little town! I love the narrow streets, it just makes any place look more cozy and cute (in my opinion). :D

That lunch view on a sunny day is amazing, glad you got to enjoy it and share it with us.

Have a great day, hope the weather is still nice! :)

Thank you very much, it is a very tightly packed small fishing village - with lots of history as well. It’s been windy and cloudy since that day - but still reasonably warm.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @c0ff33a!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.494 which ranks you at #577 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 574).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #207.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have been defended with a 52.49% upvote!
I was summoned by @c0ff33a.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87