Money steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel5 years ago

No, even though we're living tough times here, I'm not gonna talk about the price of Steem.

DSC_1092.JPG

Rather what I wanted to talk about is my traveling funds (that being my bank account, not Steemwallet), which is running low enough to cause me some worry. And here you should know that I'm quite a cheap bastard, so my little money is likely only pennies for some.

It's stressful when you have the feeling in your gut that little by little all the money is going to drain out eventually, and every spendature must be carefully evaluated - even if I should spend money on accommodation.

DSC_10732022x1517.JPG
Yes, that thing was my shelter for a night. And yes, I know about couchsurfing but sometimes I've had no luck there.

I'm not in danger of completely getting stuck though, because I still have my father who can aid me if necessary, but out of principle I've been trying to make it on my own.

At a moment like this it makes me regret that I got caught with fomo about a year ago when purchasing something like 100 Steem at 5-6$ - that would've been a good stress relief right now. Though it's easy to say that on hindsight. Oh well, you live and you learn; I think I can now avoid doing that same mistake twice.

Even though I'm gonna be a broke-ass man when getting back to Finland, at least I'm going to be a broke-ass man with loads of experiences and adventure under my belt. It's a fortune to be able to travel, because some people will never have a chance to do that.

Sort:  

Hell yah! The adventure you just went on was unique, challenging, and the envy of many folks making solid money but feeling life is passing. Them by.

You connected with folks driving the community which is going to lead to the bounce back in value of the stake you had here, and distributed dried fruit!

Gotta remember that you are just a miraculous collection of molecules that happened to assemble for a short time. Spending that time in the most enjoyable manor and not having got caught in the system as much as many of us is a gift of sorts.

Sure money is the only thing that works in the grocery store. It will come and go and you have the freedom to breathe, make some more and enjoy changes in routine and livelihood.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That was kickass comment my friend.

It has been worth it definitely, it's just a shame that having little money also strips some of the freedom. But I'm planning to find a job anyway when I get back home. However, home shall wait until Christmas - the adventure still isn't over ;)

60 years from now, if you're still alive, you will remember this journey, but you would have forgotten the $500 you spent on Steem. You are doing it the correct way my friend.

life is all about the journey there is no wrong path if it's your path

Yes, I know this to be true. Thanks for reminding me :)

You can always make more money. Enjoy this experience to the fullest brother. I’m honestly a bit envious of how so many of you travel. I wish I had done that at some point early on.

Enjoy this experience to the fullest brother.

That is my mission, since the day of my return to Finland is locked down. I realize now that I'm most likely going to miss this. That's good, because it's a sign of a successful adventure.

Absolutely. So glad you are doing this. Maybe one day when I’m older I could do something like this.

If you have the will, you definitely should. It's never too late!

It would have to wait until the kids are out of school at the earliest. 😞

Unless you take the whole family with you on a camper and start homeschooling your children while on the road.

Screw that nonsense. Lol.

I am not in a god economical situation right now but I've been in really TOUGH ones earlier on in my life... and you learn to live with so little that you learn to cope, you're very brave to travel in such circumstances... I wish I had that same boldness, guess I'm getting old... or not, or maybe I'll cut knots and do that precisely

Well, it helps that I live with my folks, so I have a safety net covering my back. Not sure if I would do the same without.

Some good comments here. As said, this was the right way to do it, cash comes and goes but the experiences you've had this past month will always be there.

Good luck getting home, and f me, that sheet draped over a tree. Skills!

Some good comments here

Indeed. I'm taken that so many people root for my adventures.

Good luck getting home, and f me, that sheet draped over a tree. Skills!

Haha, it was just a creative/lazy solution by utilizing the already existing shapes of nature - the tree was already bent like that, so all I had to do was to just throw the tarp on top.

There's a 100% upvote for what it's worth.

I was in a similar situation when I was younger. I had to beg the £20 (it was something like that) for my ferry ticket back from Holland to UK. Then beg some more when I was back in the UK

All the time living mainly off noodles and bread.

I dunno so much about keeping the 'travelling dream' going for as long as possible. I remember being homeless in January 1992 and it was just fucking horrible, more of a nightmare.

What I should have done is retreated back to my parents earned some money and headed back on the road in spring!

If you need to, loved up older couples make the best begging targets.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow, the only one I will probably meed to beg, though, is my dad, and he will help me dor sure, so it's all good.

Thanks for the upvote, it'll go towards Steem Power though, bit hopefully that'll be of value in the future.

Got to think long term...!

Posted using Partiko Android

A broke-ass man with a story to tell is always better than a rich man with nothing but his money in my opinion :)

I agree 100%.

Life is a perpetual learning class.
Take the lessons you learned positively and you will success.
Steem on

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome to hobo lifestyle!!

I hope you can survive even when there is parents who will always be willing to help- I had a fair share when I am stuck.dead end. Then parents help me a little and I had to find my way back. You can do it too!

I tried not to think about any loses. Well it's now. We try to make something with the current situation. Make sure you're staying healthy and eat well on the road.

When you back home, you will appreciate more of your trip and more of home. Then thinking about sustainable travel plan because travel bugs will bite you more often!

M.

Hey @macchiata.

Thanks for checking in. I'll definitely have more money with me, and would probably volunteer for my next trip.

I'm going to find my way home for sure.

Take care and have a safe trip!
I think volunteering is a great idea, I might have to try that one in the nearby future. Also if you come across any volunteering website, do share.

M.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Dude, I only saw a fraction of your survival skills in Krakow with a doner sandwich, and it means that you are hard-ass.

Yess, always choose experience over money. Money will follow, a lost day you will never get back.
(what you mean with that finland is lockdown?)

Dude, I only saw a fraction of your survival skills in Krakow with a doner sandwich, and it means that you are hard-ass.

Haven't actually been dipping bins since Krakow. Maybe I should maintain my skills.

(what you mean with that finland is lockdown?)

It just means that I have already purchased a ticket for a Stockholm-Turku ferry and a train ticket further to home, so I'm committed to my plan of going back home, but that'll happen no sooner than 20th of December :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25