Marriott at the University of Dayton - Dayton, Ohio

in #travel6 years ago

19024155-21A6-45BB-B9E4-196587DE355B.jpeg

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Marriott at the University of Dayton in Dayton, Ohio. The hotel is located conveniently off I-75 near US-35. I was only in town for one night. The hotel was located five miles from my destination making it a great location. As a Platinum Member, I also have access to the Concierge Lounge, where I had dinner. I didn’t feel like driving after being on the road all day and the nearest restaurants do not appear to be in walking distance. The closest I was able to map was about half a mile.

0FB735A7-8014-4ECF-A020-44C5FBAB2838.jpeg

The hotel sits along Old River Park with a river right across the road. I did not have time to venture out, but I am guessing there were probably some good running trails nearby. If not, the hotel has a fitness center. I arrived at the hotel late afternoon. The front desk had my key waiting for me. Checking in took about two minutes. The hotel looks like an older hotel, but my first impressions of the lobby were favorable. Everything looked modern and relatively new.

A3D268C0-2EEA-4EDF-AC4E-7D49F66444CB.jpeg

My room was on the sixth floor near the concierge lounge. I quickly found my room and settled in to get some work done. The rooms come with free wifi for up to six devices. I was happy to find that there were numerous outlets around the room to include some some USB options. The small desk area is located next to a massive built-in large screen television. The work station has four outlets and a USB charging port with a built in surge protector. That is a bit reassuring when you are traveling with a bunch of electronics that need to be recharged.

9DB942E3-D7C2-40DA-8DB5-E2752C13EC70.jpeg

I use my cell phone as an alarm clock, so I prefer to charge it on the night stand. That is a problem at some hotels. The Marriott at the University of Dayton has power outlets built into the wall behind both nightstands. Each has two standard outlets and a USB charging port.

E6275B82-1396-4213-9063-71438A2F403D.jpeg

My impression of the room was very favorable. It is obvious that the room has been upgraded at some point. The large television, the charging options, the floor plan and the modern décor all give the impression of a fairly recent overhaul. The room also included a small refrigerator, a wardrobe, a coffee pot with Starbucks coffee, a lounge chair and a chair at the workstation. The walls were mostly cream colored with little room left for artwork aside from a large patterned design above the headboard of the bed.

EAA4B543-99AC-48F5-884C-05444833E078.jpeg

The room had a great view and a small balcony. I have not been in many hotels that still have balconies you can walk out onto. I think they fear people will jump. It was nice to see a relaxing balcony, although it is really not designed to sit out on. On a nice day, you can open the sliding glass door and let natural air in…another hotel rarity these days. It was hot, so I left the door closed, other than a quick trip to the balcony to snap a photo. I like the AC on a hot day.

1353F491-2000-4AFD-86E0-3E6CABA9468E.jpeg

The only beds I find more comfortable than the beds at a Marriott are my own bed (ranks number one on the list) followed by the Heavenly Bed at Westin, which is a close second. This was a Marriott bed, which is not far behind in third place. If I can sleep in my own bed, a Marriott bed is an acceptable alternative. The bedding was comfortable with plenty of pillows and a heavy comforter.

223C5AF3-47ED-4533-A183-BC1AAF7723A9.jpeg

Aside from those points, the room was clean, the staff was friendly and the concierge lounge convenient. I had a light dinner, which wasn’t the best I have had at a Marriott, but it bit driving again. Breakfast was much better. The hotel does have a restaurant on site, which would have been an alternative to the concierge lounge. The property also has a swimming pool, fitness center, business center and free self-parking.

F851D8DB-AA97-4A7E-BFD9-D5B2F6FC8DC8.jpeg

I travel quite a bit. I stay at Marriott properties when there is one convenient to my destination. I like the fact that Marriott delivers consistent quality. The hotel runs just over one hundred dollars per night. It is conveniently located to the university and the interstate, but has limited dining within walking distance. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms were modern, clean and functional, and the bed was comfortable. I slept well. If you are passing through Dayton and need to stop for the night, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

The title photo came from the hotel website. All other photos are my own. They may be reproduced with prior permission.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=marriott-at-the-university-of-dayton-dayton-ohio


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Got family nearby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73