Best Cell Phone Plan For Moving To Mexico, Contributed by @TangerineTravels

in #travel6 years ago

If you're planning on coming to Mexico from the US for an extended period of time, you've probably given at least a little bit of thought to what you're going to do for your cell service. I (Jordan) had had my cell service through T-Mobile for 4 or 5 years and Maddie was on Verizon.

Using T-Mobile in Mexico

T-Mobile offered a great plan for Mexico, whereas Verizon's was significantly more expensive. Maddie decided to join my plan where we pay $50 USD (cost per line, tax inclusive) per month for unlimited text, calling, and data in all of the US, Canada, and Mexico. The only thing is, data speeds are slowed down after you use 5GB.

Our T-Mobile service worked great for while we were here, but I just received a notice that my service will be shut off a month from now because I've been using too much roaming.


pexels-photo-887751.jpg


This brings up an interesting topic because Maddie didn't get this notice. Granted, she has been losing far less data than me - I've been using over 10GB per month, whereas she has been using less than 2GB.

Someone else told us they have been using their T-Mobile service for two years in Mexico without ever getting their service disconnected. Therefore, it seems to me that they don't have any hard-coded rules for letting you use T-Mobile service in Mexico. It seems to me that it depends how much data you're using: If you're using a lot of data, it's no longer profitable for them to keep you as a customer. On the other hand, if you're using very little data, they can keep you as a customer while continuing to make some money off of you. Of course, I'm just postulating here, I don't actually know this, it's just what seems to make the most sense to me.

Now, I have to seriously look for a new phone plan here in Mexico. I know it's going to be cheaper than what I was paying, but what are my best options?

In one of our recent YouTube videos, we asked our subscribers what the best options are for cell service in Mexico. What better way to shop around for a phone plan than to have a bunch of Mexicans tell you exactly what plan they have, how much it costs, what they get for their money, and what their service is like?

The best cell plans in Mexico


I work in Telcel, I recommend You guys get the $399 plan, it has unlimited texts and calls, 3000 MB for internet and social media Is unlimited too.

At Telcel ask for a plan that’s called 200, that should be more than enough, it’s about 2GB if I remember correctly and it costs 200 pesos( there are variations of this plan/ contract ...400, 500, etc)

about the cell phone carrier you guys should go with "unefon" it's data, calls, and text totally unlimited for 16$ dollars which is around $300 pesos a month all year round service as long as you keep paying the bill the offer ends till last of this month​ may 31st


pexels-photo-607812.jpg


You should get a AT&T plan. They have month to month plans for like 200 pesos and it's unlimited text and talk and like 1gb of data. You can pay more for more data :) I think it's a better value than Telcel

Telcel is a good company but not the best in terms of prices, they offer the best plans and you tend to have really good coverage (for example i had 4G in the middle of the woods super far away from a city), i heard other companies have better plans in terms of prices, but they tend to have bad coverage, you could try AT&T (im not familiar with them), also you can try Virgin Mobile my friend is an uber driver and virgin seems to work pretty good for him in terms of internet and data plans, even though i believe he said virgin removed their stores from the cities and you can only purchase their services online

for your phone maybe At&T will be ok for you since you are crossing the border

If you have an unlock phone I think the best option is AT&T. You can buy the plan “AT&T con todo damos más.” You pay for 7 months and you get 5 free months. The cheapest one costs $2,443 MXN ($130 dollars). It includes 2 GB per month. This is the site where you can check the prices for that plan https://www.att.com.mx/att-con-todo-damos-mas.html.

It would probably be easier to get a metro pcs sim card. cheaper plans (but still part of the tmobile network) and calls to and from Mexico are only 5$ per month


iphone-smartphone-apps-apple-inc-40011.jpg


Telcel is mos def the best carrier here.

We have Telcel pay as you go plans that work great for us. Our particular plan covers all of N. America, i.e., Canada, U.S., and Mexico. We get unlimited talk, text, and social media (i.e., FB) and 1GB of data for 33 days at a cost of 200 pesos, that's about $11 USD.

I'm not an expert, but I'll tell you I use "weex", wich uses Movistar's infrastructure just like Tmobile does (i think). It's quite cheap and you have a ton of options to choose. - I always buy the pack with Unlimited whatsapp, unlimited calls and 300mb of data (I'm not sure if they are daily since I don't always need them) for less that $100 pesos and unlimited texts for $1 peso a day.

I used to use Telcel $7 dollars at month

Telcel it's on the end expensive, yes it has good reception but if you are no travel outside Jalisco the best option it's at&t.

You should probably consider getting an AT&T mobile plan. Personally,​ I think is much better than Telcel.
If u get one u have service in all of North America, I went to NYC years ago and to Canada 1 year ago and it worked PERFECTLY👏🏻 I pay $400 (pesos) a month and I get 3 GB​, unlimited calls and texts (no one ever texts anymore) plus unlimited social media (facebook, twitter and whatsapp).


It seems like the verdict is that we'll be paying 100-400 pesos ($5.11-$20.44 USD) per month, depending on which plan choose. It seems like the prices vary a lot depending on how much data you want to purchase. That's a heck of a lot cheaper than the $50 USD that we're currently paying. The most-recommended carriers were AT&T and Telcel.


What options do you have for cell/data service where you live? Is it comparable to my T-Mobile plan in the US or to these service options in Mexico?


If you enjoyed this post, follow us @TangerineTravels

Our YouTube goal is to hit 5,000 subscribers by May 18th.
Help us get there! Subscribe to our channel
Progress: 4,275​/5000

Sort:  

I guess this is one universal problem but then i know Nigerian Mobile data rates are worse. You wonder how your data flies by the speed of jet and they don't even have good customer relation. It is absolutely annoying to say the least. I have switched to several network to see which is better and that answer can never be answered. None is better.

The one with cheaper data rate would frustrate you with annoying unconnected network and the one that is fast, would chase you away with high cost. They burn out too quickly.

I think you should go with popular opinion pool there, considering it is a lot cheaper than it is in the U.S

Our T-Mobile service worked great for while we were here, but I just received a notice that my service will be shut off a month from now because I've been using too much roaming

This got me confused. Wow.

I'm just laughing heavily, if you can be this complaining about data service that seems inexpensive to me, what will you do if you are to use the expensive one? Lol

Just kidding, but I think data service is relatively okay with every future that was stated up there compare to the one we are having in Nigeria. You can't make or watch videos as much as you like, you can't use some other data consuming apps as well. Though, their is no limit to how many time you can subscribe in a month, but don't be surprised if you find out that what supposed to last you for the whole month has been exhausted withing few days. Smile

Nothing like unlimited here, everything is limited even with unlimited boldly written on some of the services.... Smile

Like all the advices you were given up there, I think you should try and adopt one of the local service in Mexico. I can't advice you to reduce the rate at which you use data because everything about you depend on it. Lol

You have videos to upload, you have steemit and some other stuff too which consume data. So choosing any of local services can do the magic.... Smile

T-Mobile offered a great plan for Mexico, whereas Verizon's was significantly more expensive. Maddie decided to join my plan where we pay $50 USD (cost per line, tax inclusive) per month for unlimited text, calling, and data in all of the US, Canada, and Mexico. The only thing is, data speeds are slowed down after you use 5GB.

All there business customers get unlimited data at up to 2G speeds plus texting in 140+ countries and destinations—all at no extra cost. I think that's. Mobile is best they ever had, am looking forward to have them in Nigeria here hahahah

We have glo in Nigeria also providingus with unlimited data, but they use to disappear sometimes which makes me have them MTN have good network but no enough dada plan.

Thanks for sharing @communitycoin

Well it's my first time reading or knowing such information that a network provider would disconnect you because you are using too much data plan

What i know about All those network providers you mentioned are just phone maker,I don't know they are network providers

There is nothing like that here in Nigeria,we have network 4 popular network providers here which are: mtn, glo, 9mobile,airtel. You will need voucher which you will load to your line if you wanna call and if you wanna browse you will need to buy data plans,they got different types of data and different type of plan for calls too, it depends on the one you will prefer and once your data if finish you will have to buy another one to contact browsing,they don't disconnect you because you use too much data, you can use it anyhow you like . There is night and day plans so you subscribe anyone you prefer

Also we got modem here and got plans too, there is mid-night plan and there is day plan so you choose anyone you like or useful for you . There are mini pocket modem and there are big ones using at stores or company.

There is nothing called unlimited here,once it finish you have to buy another one

I thought glo has an unlimited service na....
Or don't they??

They have unlimited written on their products, but are they practicing it? try to watch online videos, you will understand the power of their unlimited...😂😂😂

Glo is not good enough because when it rains like this, network just vanished into thin air lol

They still got cheapest data plan and other networks flops too at times

Glo that will send you messages that the data allocated to you will soon finish

Try subscribe for their unlimited to know what I'm talking about.

If you're planning on coming to Mexico from the US for an extended period of time, you've probably given at least a little bit of thought to what you're going to do for your cell service

Absolutely, even everywhere we might be going it is good to always decided on how the cell phone actually work and also by considering the price which is really important and imperative .

Maddie decided to join my plan where we pay $50 USD (cost per line, tax inclusive) per month for unlimited text, calling, and data in all of the US, Canada, and Mexico

She is an amazing person by standing by you at all time, though you are bound to be together but sometimes there is always a different,
I never being to USA nor Mexico so I will have to thank you for this update good enough to decide and more one's life more meaningful in choice of using cell phone in Mexico.

This is awesome you made a distinquish analysis on price, funtion and durability of these different cell phone, I like it and find it worthwhile Informative.

Most of the time, when I want to travel, the first thing that bothers and almost discourages me is the internet services.
Would I be able to get good internet coverage there?

Well, I don't plan on visiting Mexico anytime soon though, not like I wouldn't want to....
But money wise, hahaha.... It's a sorry for me.

I do know that anything's possible though.
I can be blessed enough to visit Mexico soon and when I do, I'll sure remember these plans and figure out what will work best for me.

Cheers

Unlimited yet I saw something like 5Gb..2Gb.. . Lol I thought with unlimited plans, the customer will be able to use like 200GB. Anyways, unlimited plans are actually limited. Like you mentioned in your post, these telecom companies slow down internet speeds after the data usage reaches the limit. However, this is an educative personal anecdote on the right data plan to use in Mexico. Well done.

I really like this research work and update, I always like getting to know more about a particular place and how things work out over there, thanks to you, I could be boast of knowing which cell phone is actually good enough in terms of price, function and accessibaccessibility, actually getting to use phone is solely depends on the usefulness or purpose of getting it, if it is just to receive call then, one could go for the one that it price actually low but if it considered as a tool for doing a lot of things then the higher in price will surely do

Mexico all the way. Airtel, Mtn and Glo here in my country. Not sure thats available ober there though.

These are a whole of mobile plans. Those in Mexico can learn more from this post and choose the right plan.

A whole lot.
I think one of the most used things is internet.
What is a phone without internet?
Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17