Can't see the mountains in Chiang Mai anymore...

in #travel5 years ago

wherearethemountains.jpg

It's burning season in Chiang Mai (February til April), where the air tends to get really polluted, as the farmers burn the rice fields to prepare them for the next season (or something like that... ;))

Today was the worst day so far, you could literally stare into the sun, that's how foggy it was, and the lush green mountains were barely visible anymore.

Screenshot 2019-02-12 at 20.32.02.png

Most nomads escape for a couple of months to the Thai islands or even further (bordering countries might not be far enough and also affected) and only the toughest stay here :) Or the ones who can't be bothered making travel plans, booking flights, finding a good location, new friends and a place to stay, etc. etc... i.e. me.

Screenshot 2019-02-12 at 20.33.31.png

I'm not too bothered, I have to admit, though it is worse than last year.

I only started noticing it a couple of days ago, when I really started to smell the traffic very strongly. It's like there's a thick cloud pushing the air down. If that becomes worse, I will cave and get a protective mask to wear outside.

Might be time to take that trip to Pai finally. There definitely seems to be better air there! :)

Screenshot 2019-02-12 at 20.34.47.png

Sort:  

Stay safe... Its really really really hot and humid

Do you get this in Malaysia, too?

I have experience the same at New Delhi ( India) air quality get so polluted that it becomes hard to survive. So many health warnings were issued by the health department and people start wearing masks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhh and we thought it has improved! 🙈Some said that burning wont be allowed or at least regulated... 😬but you know how that goes... 🙄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly... but there’s also rumors about a forest fire, on top of everything. 🙄

Seriously??! Chiang Mai??! I somehow thought it's going to be a nicer weather/air there than in Bangkok. Damnnnnn

Damnnnn

That sums it up, LOL
I had just decided to stay put here instead of traveling on. Can’t be bothered making plans at the moment. But if it doesn’t improve I may have to change my mind :)

Gonna be hard till it all recovers. I'm flying out if the country myself soon. Just a few months getaway 😶

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24