Nomadic Nuggets! A Ghost Town Time Capsule. (Original Photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Good evenin', folks. This nugget isn't very nomad-ish for me, as it's only around 45 minutes from my house... but it's interesting nonetheless. In central Pennsylvania, we have a somewhat modern ghost town that has become famous in it's own right. It's called Centralia. It was a rather bustling little town throughout the late 19th and early 20th century, at one point reaching a population of around 3,000 people within it's few city blocks. This all began to change in the 1960's when a trash fire accidentally ignited the coal mines that ran beneath the town. The mine fires eventually began to leach toxic gases into the town and open up sinkholes that a young boy nearly fell in to. If that sounds at all familiar, it's because Centralia was the inspiration for the game/movies Silent Hill.

CentraliaTimecapsule00b.jpg

There's really not much to see in Centralia today. Maybe a quarter mile of and old highway that started to fall apart from the unstable ground... but even that is literally covered with spray paint, most of which are dicks and balls. Other than that, the road layouts are really the only other interesting thing, as they're still there in city block grid pattern, but instead of houses its all trees and shrubs. The government eventually evacuated the town through eminent domain and bulldozed the buildings. While poking around the area, we did find the monument above. Apparently, they buried a time capsule in 1966 to celebrate the 100th year of the town. It was to be opened in 50 years, in 2016... but it turns out they opened it a few years early in 2014. I guess someone tried to dig it up themselves so the remaining residents (there are like 8 people who never left) and former residents that once lived there decided to unearth it. Turns out the container was compromised and water got in, pretty much destroying everything inside. Almost a bit of a metaphor for the town itself. A few things did stay intact though, like an old miners helmet and lamp and some articles of clothing.

CentraliaTimecapsule00a.jpg

This photo was taken from the area of the time capsule, which was probably in some kind of park or something. Looking outward, you can see the intersection in the road that was one of the city blocks I mentioned.



'Nomadic Nuggets' are bits of interesting and quirky things we've come across on our travels. They are 100% original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels, and exclusive to Steemit.com!

Sort:  

I drove past there Friday going to Knoebels

Ah man, i gotta do a post about Knoebels and it's primo people watching.

I've seen the movie before... I was very young then
The movie is an horror movie. From this post it means the tragedy dealt a great blow on the community.
But those people who chose to stay might have their cells mutated due to pollution of the environment

I just saw what you have done for the @hubbsteem! Thank you! You are a wonderful human being! 🏆⭐️

I just stumbled upon his post for my contest and saw all of his posts were flagged, but I couldn't figure out why. Do you know?

No idea! I have decided to check his posts and they were all greyed out, so I opened one and saw the minus upvotes. And while I was upvoting one, I saw your comment. They guy was on about the comment, but I could not see any bad comments from @hubbsteem's account. Weird.

I love abandoned places! This is fascinating. Pity that the stuff in the time capsule got compromised.

Sounds like current affair thanks for sharing, I never know a. Place could be called ghost 👻 city

Who the hell you are and why you downvoted on my post? I told @hubbsteem to delete the comment and remove vote because I want to delete my post. My post was not completed I posted in hurry. but he commented on my post and not removing. that's why I need to take that action. but why you? remove your downvote.

The guy did nothing wrong. He complimented your post and you downvote him? Bullshit. And I don’t like your attitude.

I was very angry yesterday that's why I did. Well, I realized yesterday and I was thinking that I will remove my downvote today. I know he was not wrong. but I was angry. Remove your downvote I will not do this type of mistake again in future.

I appreciate that. I will remove the flags. Do you know the person that flagged all of his posts?

Yes, he is my friend I told him to remove the downvote. He said he is not at home when he comes he will remove.

Thanks. I don’t know that guy, but the flags were uncalled for. Also, so you know, there is no deleting posts once they’re made. You can delete comments, but not an actual post. 👍

Ok thank you for removing the downvote

@mahtabalam has also removed all the downvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74