Nomadic Nuggets! An Icelandic Stone Man and his... uhhh... Sword. (Original Photos)

in #travel6 years ago

It's nugget time. On our latest trip to Iceland, we spent the entire time exploring the Westfjords; a more remote area to the northwest of the country. While driving along the Kleifaheidi Pass, we came across a peculiar state along the side of the road, so we pulled over to check it out. While my wife went to the check out the nearby sign, I was sure to find the perfect angle for a funny photo without her knowing. Here's what I mean:

ISLstonestatue00b.jpg

Now, in the statue's defense... it was built by road workers back in 1947 as they constructed the route through the Icelandic backcountry. They didn't have much to work with, only the rock they had cleared in the building process. What looks like a big, erect schlong is actually meant to be a sword held in the right hand of the statue. I failed to take a photo from the other side of the thing, but in the photo below you can see that it does have arms and stuff.

ISLstonestatue00a.jpg

From what I understand, the figure has a likeness of some farmer turned congressman that was popular in the area. Whatever the story is behind this thing, we were certainly entertained during our visit. lol



'Nomadic Nuggets' are bits of interesting and quirky things we've come across on our travels. They are 100% original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels, and exclusive to Steemit.com!

Sort:  

The status eyes are even closed. Hahaha

A statue built of bricks, that's not something you see on every corner, I love it!

Great photos. That statue looks so fragile. Yet, it stands there against the time and the weather. Nothing can beat it.

Hehehhe I admit that when I saw the photo it seemed strange to me why did I have that? was my first thought, if I had seen it in front I would not have thought it was an erection hehhehe
you have played a joke on your wife hehehe, a photographer always looking for the best angle, no? like @kommienezuspadt.
The statue is very strong, you can see the pieces of stones with what they did and it still stands
is incredible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11