Nomadic Nuggets! Game of Thrones Filming Locations - Ireland.

in #travel6 years ago

Howdy sailors. I'm up earlier than usual today; I had to meet up with some contractors doing a bit of work on our house. Anyway, I figured I'd put together a quick post while I wait. I wanted to share two Game of Thrones film locations we stumbled up on our trip to Ireland. Actually, these were both located in Northern Ireland, now that I'm reviewing the photos. We didn't go looking for these locations and, to be honest, I never even watched the show at the time of the trip. I have since though, and it was cool to see familiar places pop up here and there. There were more locations we've been to in Iceland, but I'll save that for another time!


King's Road


GoTireland00a.jpg
^^^This first one is a part of King's Road on the show. It didn't get much screen time, really. I think just a few moments on one of the early episodes where Arya Stark watched her dad get beheaded and The Hound smuggled her out of King's Landing for after. She was a stowaway with the traveling pack seen here in the show.

GoTireland00b.jpg
^^^Here's my photo from that spot. It's a roadway lined with 200+ year old beech trees know as "Dark Hedges". Definitely one of the coolest roads I've ever travelled!


The Iron Islands


GoTireland00c.jpg
^^^The second location is this small port in the Iron Islands in the show. This was Theon Greyjoy's stomping grounds and was where he landed when he returned "home" in the show, and later when he was checking out a ship he would be commanding.

GoTireland00d.jpg
^^^Here is my photo of the location. It is actually the Ballintoy Harbor. The harbor was mainly used in the early 1800's for shipping around rock, like limestone, from nearby quarries. There is even a larger limestone kiln that's still standing right near the port, sorta behind me from where I was standing when I took the picture.



'Nomadic Nuggets' are bits of interesting and quirky things we've come across on our travels. They are 100% original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels, and exclusive to Steemit.com!

Sort:  

Taken from your phone? Or another camera?

My first one of the trees was taken with a Nikon D90. The harbor one was just with an iPhone 6.

Those trees are awesome!

wow.... amazing..... you are very lucky... you gets to visit those places.... I'd love game of throne TV series and I am a big fan.... thank you sharing with us.... good day to you...

Look natural old and so amazing

Nice post mate. Believe it or not I have never seen GoT but I still think it's cool you managed to match up the scenes in the show to their real life locations. Nice work and good nugget haha

The "Dark Hedges" is like a road in a fairy book tale. And look at those old trees, reminds me of the Lord of The ring. 😍

Wow that beauty, I loved the second picture. It must have been spectacular to be there. The road of the King is also beautiful but it looks a bit spooky, hahaha. Thanks for sharing.

Missing game of thrones, when is the damn show back!!! Grrrr winter is coming!

Ps. Cool pics

Yeah, I look forward to it's return. I heard something like it won't be till 2019 or something thought. :-/

Yea, I was hoping the next book would be out before then, to help deal with the withdrawal symptoms, but alas, no luck on that front either.

The girl has no name and nothing to read or watch in 2019

I think some of the locations they use in GoT definitely propel the show to amazing heights. Better than some films I have watched

When did you visit Ireland? And where is home? (Post code not necessary )

We were just there for a week or two late in 2016. Definitely a place I'd like to spend some more time at though. We had a blast driving around looking for castles and ruins off the beaten path.

*100% upvote to help ya recover the reputation points.

UK is too cold most of the time, but summer and autumn are beautiful. Looks like you went at a good time.

Thanks for the upvote, much appreciated.

May you be blessed by the old gods and the new ;)

No problem. I read what happened. Bummer. Anyway, I hit a few more of your posts. I'll make a call and try to get you a bit more help. I think valuable upvotes help reputation points the most?
Oh! And I missed your other question. Home, for me, is Pennsylvania USA.

Thanks dude, much appreciated. Was a bit disappointed with the lack of help from the community when it happened.

But been moving some funds around my other accounts, he should have checked who he was flagging ;)

As they say, "revenge is a dish best served cold"

But then Bhudda says

"Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned"

For now just focusing on spreading good content and finding other good accounts to follow

Thanks again :)

No problem. Just keep posting good content and avoid the drama. Speaking of with, keep my name out of any posts and stuff, if you would. I don't wanna be involved in any type of feuding! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85