Nomadic Nuggets! Weird Viking/Troll Things in Iceland. (Original Photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hi guys. I just came up to the house for lunch and figured I'd write up a quick post before heading back down to work. I'm not really sure what to say about today's nugget. We driving around south central Iceland, quite a ways north of the town of Selfoss, and we came across these things not far from the road. They were actually a bit startling at first, when you only catch a glance of them.

VikingTroll00b.jpg

Actually, I didn't even realize they were tree trunks until I just edited these photos now. That makes them even more strange in a way, because there are virtually no trees in the country. No old-growth ones, anyway. We've been to Iceland four times now and I haven't seen any trees with a trunk the size of these carvings. Anyway, there were two of them.

VikingTroll00a.jpg

At first I thought they were supposed to trolls, which are huge in the country and it's folklore... but upon closer inspection, I'm not thinking they're meant to be vikings; the traveling people that settled the country. I'm also interested in the furs and clothing they are dressed in. How in the world do they hold up in the elements? Iceland's climate can be pretty harsh when it wants. Does someone keep replacing and maintaining these things? Who knows? I'm glad I saw them though!



'Nomadic Nuggets' are bits of interesting and quirky things we've come across on our travels. They are 100% original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels, and exclusive to Steemit.com!

Sort:  

Ha, the second one is definitely a hipster!

There’s a big part of me that hopes that’s really what it’s meant to be. lol

I’m now thinking about making something similar with some dead trees around our property.

There is definitely someone making sure these scarecrows stay well kept lol. 2 really good friends of mine went to Iceland last month. I'm gonna ask them about these!

They are even scary

I think they come alive when people aren’t looking

Keep thinking of that Monty Python woodercutter song.
Nicely spotted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39