Our trip to San Diego and how I feel there in comparison to Mexico

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

1.Food

First of all the Food: We paid 40 $ for a sandwich and Pasta that tastes better form a package from Soriana in Mexico. The restaurant we visited is called Toscana, and the service is good, but I expect more from those overprized restaurants. There were not many options to choose from. Nothing cheap to eat, so whatever you prefer in the center of San Diego, you will end up spending money. In Mexico, you have Tacos around every corner, they are fast, delicious and cheap. Something like this is missing in San Diego.

2.Transport

Transport was cheap and easy. We paid 7 $ each for a compass Tap & Ride card for a whole day. Already in possession of the card, the next we only pay 5 $. Included are rides with buses, trams and trains.

3.City

The city is beautiful, no questions, it's very nice for the eye. We went there on a Saturday, which made me question, because there were basically NO people on the streets. IN THE CENTER OF SAN DIEGO. WHAT? Are they all smoking weed at home? I like it calm, but for a city like San Diego, I expected more life. It seemed dead.

Thats me by the way

  1. TIP

When you go to San Diego, PLEASE rent a bicycle from ofo. We paid 7 $ for a bike for one hour, but it didnt come out of it's lock and we spent the money for nothing. After asking a nice police woman, she reocmmended us the bicycles that were standing around by itself, not only do they cost like 1 $ the hour, but once your finished, you just leave it where ever you want. All you have to do is download the app and scane the code on the bike. Voila!

All in all, I will come back, to take a ride with my partner and enjoy the beauty. But thinking two years ago that i would want to live there is not true anymore. It's an even bigger Matrix. The people and the whole city seem really unauthentic to me after having lived so many years in Spain and Mexico, two countries with a warm nature. Though, for it's beautiful and clean streets, I feel like a little bit in Europe again, since Mexico is rather less of those things. Still, I will be back!

Sort:  

I've been to San Diego a couple of times and enjoyed both visits. I wasn't necessarily looking for a nightlife or the people, but rather the things to do and the vista. I did find the food to be rather expensive in the hotel we stayed in, but it was actually really good.

I don't think I'd want to live in California regardless, but San Diego could be one of those places. But I like quieter places.

I have yet to go to Spain, but I have been to Mexico a number of times and you trade a few things for the warmth of the people and the cheaper vacationing. All in all, though, I would say I've enjoyed each trip down there.

Thank you for your brief comment!
Both have pros and cons, I do prefer mexico though. I definetly recommend you to go to Barcelona, it's like a mix of both :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Already in posession of the card, the next we only pay 5 $.
It should be possession instead of posession.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30