Craziest jump ever in Queenstown New Zealand // Bringing back good memories

in #travel5 years ago

Craziest jump ever in Queenstown New Zealand


Unforgettable experience

Hola Steemians, I went through my files in my drive doing a clean up of old files and I just saw this incredible files that I forgot to upload after our trip to New Zealand in Feb this year.

In our way in the South Island, one of the stops we always wanted to make was Queenstown, for those that do not know, Queenstown is known as the Capital city of the Extreme Sports in the world. You literally can do all extreme sports in 1 week i guess. However it will cost a bunch of dollars. Mi wife and I went to have a look what was the most exciting activity to do, and we found the Shotover Canyon Swing (https://www.canyonswing.co.nz/canyon-swing you can find all of the information in the web page) the better in terms of cost and availability. As a tip if you want to go to Queenstown, try to have a gap in there so you can book your activities once you step into the city, the most extreme activities are difficult to book, so allow 3 days or 4 days in case you dont want to miss something you have been looking for.

Once we booked it, we headed to the office, a car picked us up and drove us for 30-minutes going up to the mountain looking for the specific cliff, this one at 109 m above the famous Shotover River. The jump consisted in a swing of 200m with a vertical freefall of 60m. There are manu jump styles you can choose from, and some of them are really crazy.

Source: Shootover Canyon Swing

Swing 05 - Photo 18.jpg

Swing 05 - Photo 19.jpg

Swing 05 - Photo 21.jpg

Swing 05 - Photo 09.jpg
Swing 05 - Photo 23.jpg

This is the video of the jump, its hilarious as my wife wes freaking out, in the middle of her nervousness, she could not understand a word in English lol.

Now my question is.. would you jump? comment below what is your answer :)

I will really appreciate if you can contribute in any way, if this caused a laugh or a smile, comment. and if you like my content re steemit and upvote. Thanks

Follow me on

Instagram: doyoupicture
https://www.instagram.com/doyoupicture/

Instagram: dani_gonzat
https://www.instagram.com/dani_gonzat/

Facebook: Dany G Torres
https://www.facebook.com/danimichel91

Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC4Z8tAGVldDBc2aUSU0rrA

Sort:  

I'm going to flip a coin first before pushing through with the jump. Half of me is always thrilled for adventure. The boring half just wants to make sure I got my insurance policies in order and where the nearest medical center is. Just looking at the pictures already induces some fear of heights moment in me. :P

Haha that would be awsome to do, "guys I'm gonna flip a coin" everything recording, video would me way more fan. Thank you :)

Would I jump? Hell no!

My heart would burst halfway through the jump. I would like to watch though. I have a weird interest in watching expressions on people's face. Nothing creepy. I usually use the knowledge in my creative writing

Looks like great fun though.

Are you going back again?

Plus, congratulations on the curie upvote

Blessings

That is a good way to find creativity. For me, imagination is my way to find creativity with good music and good company.

I want to go back to Queenstown, but it won't happen at least for this year and the next. Lol

Thank you so much, Im looking forward to know more about Steemit and also be more active posting stuff. For sure I'll check your profile up

Haha

Please don't. I'm not particularly fond of my profile.

Good luck with steaming Steem. Blessings

I forgot! thanks for the blessings. Same to you :)

Oh my gosh!

Ladies often times are afraid on heights especially that swinging thing in the air.

Yes, definitely I would jump.
Its the kiss that made it sweet afterwards lol

Lol the funny think is that she was the one who wanted to do it, she was very brave from the beggining until she saw was standing in the edge lol.

It was a unique experience. I want to knownyour thougts once you have thr chance to jump!

Oh yeah!
I haven't seen like that here in our place. Maybe there is but I didn't research it yet.

I guess its easy to say than done lol
But it all start with a word then eventually it will come to reality and that would be a challenge in the actuality.

Lol the funny think is that she was the one who wanted to do it, she was very brave from the beggining until she saw was standing in the edge lol.

It was a unique experience. I want to knownyour thougts once you have thr chance to jump!

Ufffff i can feel vertigo right away looking at those high altitude photographs. No doubt freaking out on these kind of jumps is only thing one can do.
I am giving up right away...its scary..but for sure very enjoyable to those who do not have much vertigo issue....damn man...i cant look at those pic standing on top of the base....

Posted using Partiko Android

Abstolutely, vertigo is a savage thing but I reckon is good to experience it once in a while.

Yes thats true...what would be a blank life if there is no adventure. Also it ia about getting over your fear....

Posted using Partiko Android

yes absolutely, fear can't define you, you have to conquer them to see new things in life. (getting into really deep talks lol)

Hahaha, your wife was really scared but at the end she looked very happy. I guess the adrenaline kicked in :) Have you tried different adrenaline activities there? This jump looks crazy! I think I would do it if I would go with my husband. I would probably react like your wife did but at the end I would be happy :D

We got a tandem jump from 4000 meters for Christmas last year. We were supposed to go this year but we didn't manage as the season is very short and I had some health issues. We are planning to go next year in May and I already feel sick just thinking about it :D I don't know what my mom was thinking when she was purchasing it. Probably she wants to have one child less :D

Thank you for sharing! It was a lot of fun watching you too :)

Yesss my wife was freaking out hahaha. Poor thing she almost gave up. Last year my wife bought me a spot for skydiving that was way more scarry than this, i would do it again if I had the chance.

You and your husband should definitely go. Where arare you planning to go next year? New Zealand? If so go for it lol. I hope your health issues go away. Hahah your mum is unique, cool mom. I am willing to be adopted by your mom :D

Oh nooo, I'm based in Europe and she got the jump for us close to the High Tatras mountains in Slovakia so the views should be amazing. But I would love to visit New Zealand one day..it's just so far away..

She has 3 kids already but I think she could do with one more :D

I will google High Tratas Mountains right now, I haven't been to Europe but we want to go one day.

New Zealand is ineed far away, like Australia where we are living now. It was our first trip overseas and ow we've been for more thank 3 years.

Yey! Haha I have now two moms. Thats great

Just to give you an idea:

You don't need to watch it all :)

Hahaha, I'm sure my mom will be happy too :D

Wow this place left me speechless, its nature in all of the context . I felt like you being there can just become part of it. I love nature and I think is a gift from heaven.

Tha was the main reason to go to New Zealand, to experience nature in its fullness. Thank you for sharing this incredible place.

Hi danphotography,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Many thanks. I felt so honoured 🙏🙂

I've always been excited about the base jump, and this jump could be a good training for it, I've jumped from 20 meter waterfalls and on a bridge in my city, but 200m of fall and 60m of rope must be amazing, unfortunately here where I live in South America we don't have that kind of attractions.

I think if I would encourage myself to jump, but I would feel panic. and if the rope fails and breaks :( I would not continue doing my post in steemit, and if I stay alive, I would be unable to do that I am sure.

thank you for sharing this crazy, amazing and beautiful fall <3

greetings

It will be the perfect training for the base jump for sure.
Jumping in waterfalls is amazing, missing one already.

Where are you from? I'm from Colombia. Missing a lot south anerica right now :(

Thank you for your time and your words!!! And don't be afraid to jump next time, just make sure the company is reliable, with all safety on board.

hahahahaha, okay, I'll do it without fear.

I am from Venezuela, we are neighbors and brothers. <3

I currently live in Venezuela but frequently travel. I just followed you. Do you live in Australia?

Yeah! brother and neighbours :)

Yes, I'm currently living in Australia, state of victoria and city of Melbourne.

Spectacular your images, it was a wonderful trip, thank you for sharing part of your experience, that video I loved was super fun, it made me laugh .. It was a jump from very high I think that anyone would be the same as your wife hahaha, A big hug from Venezuela @danphotography

From Venezuela wow! Im from Colombia but currently living in Australia. The video is soooo fun, I always laugh when I watch it, it's amazing how you can keep this sort of memories forever.

What are you doing in venezuela?
Muchas gracias por tus bonitas palabras.

Bueno te hablo en español entonces :) Yo tampoco sé que hago en Venezuela todavía xD Más temprano que tarde estaré por otros lares.. Te sigo de vuelta --

Claro que si! animate a salir del pais, hay muchas oportunidades esperando por ti!! Gracias por seguirme de vuelta

Congratulations @danphotography! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@danphotography, not only i won't jump, I don't think I dare get near or on top of that. I afraid of Height!!. Your wife very braved, she still able to jump although she freaking out, Bravo. Even look at your photo, i have ghost bumps. I can't believe it, you guys look so relax and enjoy, even took picture. LOL. I would freaking myself out with such height. Would you do it again if you have another chance?

Thank you for the video. Would be a good memory for you guys.

Thank you so much!! My wife was very happy after the jump. 😊😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13