My trip to Ha Long Bay, Vietnam: The beauty of the bay

in #travel6 years ago

DSC_0788.jpg

This was the moment we'd been waiting for: enjoying the otherworldly beauty of nature. We transferred to a rowboat to visit the Vung Vieng floating fishing village.

DSC_0681.jpg

It was a little bit chilly as we moved gently on the calm emerald water.

DSC_0682.jpg

There it was, the little fishing village right in front of us.

DSC_0703.jpg

Passing the fishing village, we continued our journey.

DSC_0710.jpg

A cave! Yup, it's just one of many caves here.

DSC_0720.jpg

The bay has thousands of limestone karsts and islets in various shapes and sizes.

DSC_0725.jpg

We took pictures, chatted about what we saw occasionally and just enjoyed being there. No electricity, no internet, and life was good. 😊

DSC_0727.jpg

We passed a unique looking ship on our way back.

DSC_0734-2.jpg

DSC_0735.jpg

We had time to relax before dinner. Speaking of dinner, do you like Vietnamese food? If not, visiting Ha Long Bay could be a challenge. I love Vietnamese food so I had a wonderful time enjoying seafood and everything else. There was a spa onboard too.

The next morning, we skipped the sunrise and Taichi class in their schedule. We were still woken by the staff to get ready for breakfast at 7 am because we had to go sightseeing with all the other passengers. After breakfast, we got on a small boat to see Luon Cave.

DSC_0748.jpg

The boat stopped in front of the entrance to Luon Cave. We waited for a small rowboat to take us through the cave. The misty mountain atmosphere woke me up.

DSC_0761.jpg

Here we were going through that tiny looking cave.

DSC_0764.jpg

It looked bigger as we got closer. What's inside?

DSC_0770.jpg

Going through the cave was a unique experience. The journey was as exciting as the destination.

DSC_0772.jpg

It was a bay surrounded by mountains. Our boat continued to move around the very calm water to have a closer look at all the living things on the rocks. There was a monkey on a cliff who greeted us as we entered the bay through the cave. Can you find him?😄

DSC_0776-2.jpg

DSC_0783.jpg

On the way out, we saw people kayaking into the cave. Would you prefer to kayak or sit comfortably as a passenger on a rowboat with others and enjoy the view?

DSC_0793.jpg

Then we got into a motorboat and headed back to the cruise ship because some passengers were departing one day before us.

DSC_0796.jpg

We moved past unforgettable scenes. At that point, I told myself I would come back again someday.

DSC_0804.jpg

Most people ended their journey here. It was just 9 am, my husband and I were the only ones who stayed for another day. So we boarded a day boat and spent the rest of our day there. Yeah! Another boat. This one was nicer with a restaurant,

DSC_0809-2.jpg

a deck and we had the entire boat to ourselves.

DSC_0815.jpg

We spent the day with a very nice crew: a captain, a tour guide, and a chef. The crew was taking us to new places, we told each other our life stories, about our families and how we got there. I told them how cold it was in New York City at the time.

We passed by a beach but it was too chilly to swim, so we just took some pictures. Say cheese...😄

DSC_0823-2.jpg

We stopped at a pearl farm and had a little tour. This girl was explaining how pearls are cultured from oysters. We were shown step by step the process of pearl farming. I even had a chance to pick an oyster with pearls inside to open. There was a jewelry store that sold pearls too.

DSC_0836.jpg

We returned to the boat to continue our journey.

DSC_0854.jpg

DSC_0857.jpg

I was hanging out on the deck and it started to rain.

DSC_0871.jpg

Then it was time for lunch. There was more food than we could eat. Seven courses with fruits for dessert. We didn't forget to order some wine too.

Ha Long 2015-2.jpg

After lunch, we took a nap on the day boat until it was time to return to the cruise ship.

To be continued...

Thanks so much for your time, my friend.
Have a great day!

Love,
@dewdrop

Sort:  

What a wonderful Post, well done 👍

Hi, Xels! Thanks so much! 😊

Beautiful .. wonderful pictures well done .. The traveller collects memories .. good for you
Thank you for sharing with us your adventure‏‏.😊

Thank you so much for enjoying it, Slimane! 😊

I am wondering on Steemit and see this post! Thank you for the nice words about my country ^^ So beautiful! you look like an Asian girl :)

Chào Ngọc! 😉 Rất vui được gặp bạn ở đây. Mình lớn lên ở Việt Nam mà. Hehe. Cám ơn Ngọc khen về bài viết nhé. 😊

Dang... Makes me wanna go there. I have never been to a tropical place on earth actually. Should I go?

Haha. That's great! I don't know. 😄

I'll think about it! =D

Hey dewdrop,

Wow, this place looks amazing and from your post it looks like you had fun there. I will put it on my bucket list and will try to visit it when I come to Vietnam as now I have a friend their too. I liked the way you said you had no electricity and internet so you just enjoyed the moment that is very important and we have started to leave it behind.

Hey! Thanks so much for your very nice comment. So happy you put it on your bucket list. Thanks again! 😊

My pleasure. I am always looking for interesting things which I could put on my list and you gave me one so technically I should be saying thanks to you.
I am planning to share my bucket list with steemit community :p

Oh, that sounds great! 😊

Oh, I also really like to swim on a boat.

How do you do that? You need a big one with a swimming pool then. 😊

The water looks really nice. Seems a good place for a swim and boat ride. Awesome!

Thanks, Gvincent! Yes, you're right! I think summer time is better for swimming.

Vietnam a nice place to Vist

It's very nice of you to say so. 😊

My wife and I almost traveled to Vietnam this year, but we've postponed it until next year. Your post is so beautiful, it is making me question our decision to postpone for a year. ;-)

Hahaha! That means you like the post. Thanks, Gikitiki!

Yes, it was a fabulous post.

nó là đẹp

Aww... Thanks! Canada is beautiful too. 😊

Excellent Vietnam Travel. Good Experience and nice place

100% like and resteem

Thanks so much, Stmit! This one is my favorite too.😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21