Tribalism on Steemit

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-06-26-09-44-56-280.jpg

The other day I was talking to a friend about the usual tribalistic behavior of most travelers. I live in a very touristic area and I have traveled quite a lot so I pretty much know what I am talking about. For the most part of my journey, I was housed by strangers, locals or anyone that is not necessarily part of my tribe. Because I don't really see the point of traveling if you just talk to the same people. I don't see the point of living in other countries if you just aim to be with your fellow expats. I see bars and places usually filled with white travelers in separate groups. And they are in a country with a big population of locals who can speak English. Travelers usually claim that they travel to get out of their comfort zone and all that usual shit, but seriously, I still see that they are within their bubble. I see groups of Australians, Canadians, French, and English talking to their own groups and nothing more. Proudly throwing the usual I've-been-there and I'm-from badges and all that. I'm not saying that everyone is like that but I can probably count on my fingers who the real travelers are in this world.

Most of us are culturally conditioned and systematically brainwashed to stay within our comfort zone. The illusion of security and all-too-comfortable. If we see someone who is physically not looking like from our tribe, we subconsciously get this red alert in our brains like a danger warning. Our environment taught us that the safe people to talk to or be with are those that look or speak like us. We have been taught to 'otherize' and behave like alpha males of our tribes. The reality is that it takes a lot of guts to open our minds and be with people outside our groups. We have formed this various labels and stereotypes based on the movies, books, news, and the usual government propaganda. Based on my observation these days, traveling cannot easily cure ignorance. Openness does not happen overnight. We bring ourselves wherever we go. We don't even acknowledge what is really there because we are taught to be blind to the inconvenient truth of inequality so can maintain our alpha male or underdog status in the society.

I choose traveling as a perfect example because this is how we can still see the apparent tribalistic nature of humans. It is something that we cannot just easily let go no matter how hard we try to preach. I know from my own experiences and observations that there are just things that will never be changed. People choose not to acknowledge that it is there right the whole time. But I admit that even I myself is usually more comfortable talking to people of my own tribe because they are usually the ones who really understand my sentiments. I tried hard to make other people aware but they just won't fully get my realities. I resigned to the fact that I cannot force other people to walk a thousand miles in my shoes just to be able to understand what I am talking about.

Here on Steemit, it still feels like I am traveling. These days I usually get more comments than big upvotes which is a very good thing. It can mean that there are many people out there who are dying to be heard. There are many people who want to see different perspectives or read issues they can really relate to. I get great engagement on my post, spam or not, but I appreciate that people are trying hard. People from all walks of life. People from all over the world. I am not only writing for the English-speakers, Americans or Europeans. I am not writing only for a specific tribe. I'm a child of the world and my words are for everyone.

Sadly though, I see a lot of people here who are only commenting on authors' posts who are from their own tribes or close to their tribe. People who are within their comfort zone. Did you know that there are many Steemians here who are trying their best to write in English? People who can actually speak and write in other languages. Surely, there is no excuse not to find them. It pays to read different perspectives. I admit that I just recently began digging dipper into Steemit tags to discover other authors. Steemit is not only for Americans, Canadians, Australians or other English writers. This is a world community. So why not let go this tribalistic nature for once. If you cannot travel, if you are scared to talk to other people in your own community, then Steemit at least can be a great openness practice for starters.

I am happy to have discovered other talented authors here because I get to read the social issues, realities, places and culture topics from their posts. I just want to learn more about the world. There's @jona12 from Uganda, @fivefiveeleven from Uruguay, @things from India, @bigdude from Venezuela, @kamchore from Pakistan, @klasanaj from Morocco, @helenril from Israel, @ambdavid from Nigeria and many others. And of course, those who are proud to specify their tribe names in their profiles simply because people have nothing bad to say against them, usually from the great tribes that dominate the world.

My point here is that don't let Steemit become another breeding ground for tribalism. We all know based on the dark history that tribalism can be a dangerous thing. Just to remind you, it already killed people on a massive scale. I know to each his own and I am not here to force everyone to get out of their comfortable bubble. What I'm only saying is that it is good for our own mental health and for the world to try to engage or interact with people other than from our own tribe, for it promotes happiness, diversity and greater understanding of the world and its cultures.

Sort:  

Hehehe you are right on this one and unfortunately and I must also admit being guilty on it. As a cheap excuse Id say 'I dont have the time' but I do!

Lazyness Id call it more likely. But you made a good point. There is absolutely no reason why you shouldnt let google translate a good story for you from a language that is a mystery.

I love your way of thinking of tourists as always. Living across from a cruise terminal a couple of years made me see enough hawaiishirts I guess ;)

I love your way of thinking of tourists as always.

Thank you for those who can understand. Unfortunately, not everyone can relate to my rants about the world lol.

For sure, I have also seen it. It's funny how people can't really see the other side of the world. People are most time careless and can't even take a time to curate minnows posts yet full of thousands SPs. Well, it's theirs and I have no business with that.

If only some whales could step out of their confort zones, supporting those far away from their areas, home countries then I believe something can change.

P.S: I did send you a greetings on discord. Thanks for being part of my best friends.

Cheers.

I know but good thing there are still a few good people out there looking to see and understand the other side of the world. So stay put. You don't need everyone anyway.

I would agree with this even though I am guilty of it to a point. I sadly, never learned any other modern languages. I can understand a tiny bit of Spanish but only enough to read a menu or know when someone is insulting me lol. English is a pain in the ass to learn too (it's worse than ancient Greek in a lot of ways) so it is a bit silly to ignore someone because they aren't the best at writing in it.

It is worth trying to see what different kinds of people are talking about and this site can be great for that but we just have to follow your advice here and make an effort to "travel" away from our home group. If we can do that, we learn about others and a little bit about ourselves.

I can understand a tiny bit of Spanish but only enough to read a menu or know when someone is insulting me lol.

lol I only learned Spanish when I was traveling in South America. Too bad you missed some of my interesting posts and travel stories. I might repost the links here soon

There are also hidden gems around here from other parts of the world. I just couldn't easily find them as you know they are a lot of shitposts out there.

Haha yeah those shit posts clog everything up pretty bad lol.

That would be pretty cool to read it is always interesting to see where you were at in your mind in the past. Plus, it is a nice way to get extra content on your page lol. I had considered posting some old papers that I wrote years ago but I couldn't find them, sadly. Its too bad too because I had some good stuff that is just gone.

Its too bad too because I had some good stuff that is just gone.

Great that now we can save it to the cloud lol.

I was writing almost every day since my Steemit Day 1. Now I'm kind of running out of good things to write about, well except daily rants haha.

I feel your pain there I have been trying to branch out to some other topics a little bit for that reason.

I saw the other comments here. I didn't think that this post was that controvsial and I am from the west lol. Offended people pop up in the weirdest places, I guess.

Please don't take it personally. I was just being a pain to him lol. I have traveled for a while and my friends are quite spread out.

Yeah, people who have been following and commenting on my posts regularly don't really get offended, and I don't see any reason.

But yeah I had quite a few who unfollowed me, or I unfollowed lol. And those who will just pop up. People can disagree with what I'm saying, but I don't know why even bother upvoting lol. Why even bother to challenge me. Geez, I don't have time to argue or prove my point to strangers. It is so toxic.

Haha I don't. He showed a tender spot and you just to give him a little poke there which is probably what I would have done too lol.

I feel you. If I see something I don't like I usually just move on but that wasn't always the case lol. I used to get into arguments with strangers in the comments on youtube videos and all that and some of them could get heated for no real reason.

I just showed him @diabolika, but sorry about that hahaha.

Youtube is the worst lol. Here on Steemit trolling is quite minimal as there's flagging and all that.

I am glad to see my name in your list @diabolika Yes steem is a global community where we meet people of different culture and custom. It's the best platform to understand different people thinking ideology, gain knowledge from their experience and diversity in your thinking.It shouldn't be used for breeding ground for tribalism. True words @diabolika

No worries @kamchore! I'm glad you like this post.

I always say the average traveler in SE Asia leaves their home country to immerse themselves in a foreign culture with its own music, dress and customs... For some reason though they choose this weird traveler culture and not the culture of the insanely fascinating country they are in. It's crazy how easy it is to make friends with locals here, but for some reason people just wanna wear ridiculous yoga pants, eat banana pancakes and drink cheap beer with other Westerners. Mind boggling.

but for some reason people just wanna wear ridiculous yoga pants, eat banana pancakes and drink cheap beer with other Westerners. Mind boggling.

Unfortunately, that is true.

And then there are egalitarian 'cynacist's' like me who have a rather equally disbursed disdain for humanity and its stupidity​...This goes back a long way as I used to have a shirt saying I hate everyone when I was a kid.

I have a feeling I'm heading towards the same direction... I hated kids when I was a kid.

Only a cult can make me feel like I belong <3

I want to be in a cult. I want to belong.

Thanks contributing Steemit community! I hope to more and more quality content from people like yourself diabolika!

No worries!

Travelers usually claim that they travel to get out of their comfort zone and all that usual shit, but seriously, I still see that they are within their bubble. I see groups of Australians, Canadians, French, and English talking to their own groups and nothing more.

Perhaps just being in a different environment is already pushing their comfort levels hard enough. I see the same patterns with all ethnicities, btw. This is not exclusive to Westerners.
After all, being abroad makes it easier to approach people, who you might not have talked to back home.

People with common interests attract each other.
I don't know if that's tribalism and I don't see it as something inherently negative.

Perhaps just being in a different environment is already pushing their comfort levels hard enough. I see the same patterns with all ethnicities, btw. This is not exclusive to Westerners.

Awwwww coming right away to their rescue. Sweet! :) But what else? I've seen this coming. Just the majority are westerners lol. Accept it or leave it. Some people just can't own up to their shit, can they? Is there anything new in this world? Some people just have to defend/maintain their messiah status. Everyone's the same and the typical 'the world is equal' blah justification does not work for me anymore, unfortunately. Probably being too long on the road and after seeing people's true colors come out when provoked, sigh. Some people only look and smell good and I'm amazed.

I have a feeling you only read that particular line, it happens and does not fail to surprise me from time to time in my Steemit life. But hey, I'm glad to see your comment/reaction on this particular post, for the first time? This is so predictable haha. But I'm glad to wake followers up from time to time lol. It only takes one post btw. Thanks! :)

Perhaps that's because you are not traveling in the countries where the majority of tourists are Chinese, or Russians. ( Just to name 2 obvious ones ).
My experience is different than yours. From my perspective, you are in bubble, too.

Sure, you can just snap back at me and my Messiah complex. I think it's just rude.

You write about tribalism, yet instantly overreact, when I challenge your statement.
I have followed your blog for ages and left quite a few votes. I don't think I got anything from you.
Time to leave you and your 'tribe' alone.

Awww thanks for the upvotes, /sob. But hey good riddance! :)

Love the passive aggressiveness. Go on: Feed the stereotype.

Why are you so angry? It is bad, you just become more depressed and suicidal, so typical of your race lol. Claiming victimhood? :) Be happy butthurt snowflake.

Why are you so angry? It is bad, you just become more depressed and suicidal, so typical of your race lol.

Glad I just unfollowed a racist.

Hahahaha. 😈

You're such a good writer. When I read your stuff I know I'm seeing right into your soul.

I literally just got added to a project called @tribesteemup. There's power in numbers, and I'm really excited to see what we can all do together.

Thank you for naming these international Steemians. I used to spend a lot of time going down rabbit holes on Steemit and finding people from all over the world. And that's exactly what I said. I still haven't been able to leave the country, so it's like travel. It's one of my favorite things about Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97