Driving (with) Miss Zoe: Charleston is Beautiful (but the people kind of suck :)

in #travel5 years ago (edited)



What do you do when you're eighteen years old, you've relocated to South Carolina from New York and your brother gifts you a sweet little Fiat to get around in...but you can't drive it because it's a manual transmission?

2018-01-01 02.49.30-01.jpeg



You make yo mama fly down for ten days to teach you, that's what:)

2018-01-01 02.49.20-01.jpeg



A quick recap: Eleven days ago I boarded a plane:

2018-01-02 04.11.07-01.jpeg



And spent hours a day chewing off my fingernails in the passenger seat,

2018-01-01 01.48.33-01.jpeg



on one of the busiest interstates I've ever had the displeasure of using.

I'm from New York and I'm an avid road tripper who has driven in every kind of weather and traffic condition possible, and I can honestly say that the area of Charleston South Carolina was by far the worst. No one, and I do mean not one person moved over for us to easily and safely merge -I've never been a road rager in my life until this vacation- People of Charleston are DICKS!! LOL!!

2018-01-01 01.48.46-01.jpeg



There is an air of impatience everywhere you go in that area which is why on my second day there I picked a quiet little park for our first destination. Firstly so I could teach Zoe to smoothly pull in and back out of parking spaces, but also just to find a peaceful energy.

2019-03-05 22.05.48-01.jpeg



Colonial Dorchester State Park would usually be nothing particularly special, but for this trip it was a nearby oasis from the constant hustle and bustle.


2019-03-05 22.06.51-01.jpeg



Don't get me wrong, Charleston is an attractive, historic, and fun little city, it's just the people there are crankier than anyplace I've been in this country, the majority of them seeming to have not been taught common courtesies growing up.

2019-03-05 22.07.27-01.jpeg



You're more likely to have a door slammed in your face than for someone to think of holding it open.

2019-03-05 22.08.21-01.jpeg



And Smiling? Is a seemingly alien expression...unless you are shopping. Business owners fortunately still seem to have the sense of what it takes to create repeat customers.

2019-03-05 22.14.38-01.jpeg



But on the street? Sneezing earns you looks of disgust, laughing loudly attracts glares, certainly no one says hello and if you attempt it you're most likely to be met with either a snooty smirk or a stony stare.

2019-03-05 22.15.14-01.jpeg



But as I mentioned- it is a historic place- and if you're purpose for being there is sightseeing you won't be disappointed.

2019-03-05 22.29.14-01.jpeg



Even here in this quiet little park you will find structures dating back to the revolutionary war.

2019-03-05 22.31.24-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.38.32-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.38.07-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.36.18-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.32.28-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.33.03-01.jpeg



2019-03-05 22.33.23-01.jpeg


Sorry about the griping, I truly had a fantastic time with my daughter and stepson who I'm missing already, I just had to shake that negative energy out of my system while also warning any and all who are considering this place as a vacation destination- the sights are awesome, but the people...arseholes. Fucking Arseholes! Ah, I feel better getting that off my chest.


I will be giving you the grand tour of these SC sights over the next week or so, so stay tuned for some really awesome pics!



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

I really enjoyed reading about your travels and I know exactly how it feels to be in place where people are just rude.
I love how you write your blogs. So easy and fun to read and follow your story.

Why thank you!

Maybe I should just feel sorry for rude people, they must be seriously miserable and unhappy to behave like such jerks! :0)

Maybe it was you? Were you having a bad hair day? (just kidding)

These lovely locks? Not possible ;)

Seriously though, it was ten days of petty, pissy, priggishness...I was afraid to drink the water!

Isn't that how you inoculate yourself (drinking the water)? Just bite the bullet! (So what if it's slathered with cow and pig fat - you do know where the expression comes from, right?)

Actually I'm not sure, I remember being told that soldiers were given bullets to bite down on for pain...around the same time I learned where 'rule of thumb' came from. Nothing about cow and pig fat though! ;)

" It has been speculated to have evolved from the British empire expression "to bite the cartridge", which dates to the Indian Rebellion of 1857" wikipedia

The Indian "mutiny" spread rapidly over the whole country because the rumor was spread that cartridges had been dipped in a mixture of cow and pig fat - thus being religiously anathema to all the native troops in the Indian army under British rule (Muslims, Hindus and Sikhs)

Love learning something new :) Do you know where 'rule of thumb' comes from?

Well least you got to hang with the kids and there's definitely some nice scenery and interesting buildings and things about, too bad about the people XD

Did Zoe nail manual? :D

She did! I would still rather she get more hours in before attempting the interstate due to inconsiderate drivers, but she had it down before I left so I feel pretty good about that :)

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 17.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @dreemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 700 posts. Your next target is to reach 750 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16