How and what to pack for holidays

in #travel6 years ago

Holidays are the most beautiful part of the year, we all can hardly wait and count the days and hours until departure. And packing for the whole family is not that fun and can be very stressful. You know if we forget something important at home, holidays can easily be broken.

When packing, don't pack without before making a list. Wherever you are traveling, be it in the mountains, the sea or the European capitals and in any society, yourself, with your family or friends, first make a list. Begin with basic items: linen, socks, jeans, a cold evening jacket, footwear, swimwear, cosmetics, medication and then complete the list with details. Keep the list strictly and don't give up the desire to pack 12 pairs of shoes for a seven-day trip.

Things you need to pack for holidays can be grouped into wardrobes, cosmetics, first aid, documents, emergency travel aids, entertainment. This way you also compile the list and complement it according to your wishes and needs.

Let's begin with...

Cosmetics

  • Hairbrush/comb
  • Deodorant
  • Shampoo, Conditioner and Hair Gel
  • Soap/shower gel
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste
  • Makeup
  • Shaving accessories
  • Body lotion
  • Personal care accessories
  • Sunscreen and after sunbathing

First aid/medication

While there may be many things that can happen on vacation, don't overdo it and if you don't travel straight into the jungle area, you don't really need to have tablets against malaria, and water purification equipment. You can buy patches or other accessories everywhere if you need them. But always have with you at least the following:

  • Tablets against headache / pain / nausea
  • Anti-cold and fever means
  • The medicines you are taking (or prescription)

Urgent travel and holiday accessories

Without some things, we can't go on the road. Although shopping may also be a holiday destination, certain items are mandatory equipment. Among them are undoubtedly mobile phone chargers and camera. If anyone else is still photographing with a camera and not a cell phone. Depending on the destination and the way of spending holidays, it is good to take along with it:

  • Bath towel/bag
  • Umbrella
  • Smaller backpack/bag for daily use
  • Sunglasses/prescription glasses/contact lenses
  • Wristwatch if you wear one
  • A bag for dirty linen/footwear
  • Mobile/Notebook/Tablet/Chargers
  • Notepad/Pen

Documents and money

Before we go, we always check to see if we have all the documents and the necessary papers. It is also advisable to make photocopies of documents and save copies to a special place in your luggage. In the event of losing or stealing documents, photocopies will greatly assist us in editing temporary documents.

  • Money in the currency of the country you are traveling to/credit cards
  • Personal identification documents/identity card, passport, driving license
  • Travel documents/air tickets/hotel reservations, rent car
  • Travel guide/map

And in the end things for... Fun

If you are traveling with children, this list will be longer, but of course, don't forget about yourself. This group includes:

  • Toys
  • Notebook/drawing block/colors
  • Game cards/board games
  • Some books
  • Snacks/water

A final tip, which can be used for the majority of families regarding cosmetics: Take one shampoo and a shower gel for the whole family instead of having each one taking with his own bottle.

Everything else is a matter of choice, habits, available space and wallet. Enjoy your holidays and if you forget something to take with you, you just find yourself (buy, borrow, improvise).

Tomorrow I will start my own packing, ok, maybe on Tuesday, because I am planning for Tomorrow to help others to do something around the house before our departure.

Hope your trunk won't look like this, and my list will help you the next time you will have to pack. Have fun without the stress. :)

Photos were borrowed from the uncle Google with different search words.

Sort:  

Great advice. Just one thing, if travelling to another country make sure you have the correct electrical plug for any items needed to be charged. I had a problem in France, as my adaptor did not fit the sockets there. Fortunately, I did find another person who lent me the correct one.

That's an amazing tip for all other travelers. There is nothing worse than being without the useful charger.

Thanks for the info :) I usually roll my clothes instead of folding and I realized they took up much less space that way! You can also use vacuum packaging bags, which shrink in size when vacuumed and that would save you some extra space as well.

Greetings from Cape Town

Haritakurdu

Thank you. I use that trick by rolling our clothes for a few years now. It was so obvious to me that I forgot to write that down. Thank you for mention it!

Great tips! I liked the photos of everything you listed laid out; it's always more helpful to get a visual of it all. What about using packing cubes to help contain clothes?

Thank you. I am glad you find it useful. Photos used in my post were borrowed from the web. I usually roll our clothes to save space and divide them with rolled towels.

Great helpful information!
Now you do not need to look for advice on the Internet.
You helped me a lot and made my task easier!
Thanks, @emmamia

Your welcome. Almost every year I had the same problems. What and how much to pack. Always took too much with us, so I decided to be as minimalistic as possible...

I wish you a nice rest of the day.

I have a holiday packing list that I print off each time and adjust slightly depending where we are going. That makes it easy peasy! 😂

What day is it you leave @emmamia?

I travel just once a year to the sea location. So packing isn't much different..hehe...

We are leaving tomorrow night. Roughly said in 24 hours. 😊

indeed in preparing goods for the holidays it is very important and must be careful so that the items that must be brought do not forget and make a list of names before packaging it I think it's a good idea, enjoy the holidays and have a nice day @emmamia.

Thank you so much. I will try to have as much fun it's possible. Check my blog in days to come and you will see. 😉

You are welcome friend,,, I'm waiting for your next post.

A nice list! Thank you for the work!

In the end we ALWAYS have to much in our bags! I'm living since nearly a year full-time in my car and I can tell you: Everyday I find something I never used and I can through away or give somebody else. Incredible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01