The Tiring But Charming City Center of Lucerne

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

0A.jpg

Can you believe it that on one side of this lake is a very, very busy city?

0a1.jpg

Have you ever felt like walking along alleys of a city from the past? That's how I felt walking through alleys with rows of very old looking buildings in Lucerne. They are old by the way, they told me so .
b.jpg

You may say that it's just so EU but then I've been to other cities that are so modern, too, like Berlin and Antwerp, the modernization seems to be overtaking on the buildings in the city center there, too. Lucerne is very much the opposite. The apartment buildings there have much character, pretty much like those rows of houses in front of the canals in A-dam.

b1.jpg

Yes, there are some that are modern, too but the old ones still dominate it like that school of music with much lattice below.

b2.jpg

There were hotels in the middle of the road and sometimes between a fork and they'd make an inexperienced driver's head turn at the sight of it and hopefully they don't cause any accident. The details are just hard not to notice and I couldn't help but look left and right of me because every nook would always bring you something surprising.

b4.jpg

Chic cars are parked here and there, they drive along the roads and sometimes would make their engines make much noise as if saying; "'am a sports car, give way.!" I can't count how much expensive cars I've seen on this city but there was plenty.

Anyhow, the well offs and the mass meet in this part of Switzerland and probably even dine among each other.

By the lake, there were plenty of people feeding the birds, mostly Asians. They seem to be so surprised that the birds are this tame and trusting to them. It's true, in my first year here, I couldn't believe my eyes seeing plenty of swans going after me because I was holding a bag while walking back home, passing through a mere. It was overwhelming. They would be turned into something grilled if they were in Asia. No geese would stand a chance but here they're all protected. Dare hurt any of them and you'd be fined hundreds of euro. I wonder if that's the same case in Lucerne.

0a2.jpg

Btw, too many Asians there! It felt like I was more of in Asia in the Himalayas really!

The crowd I had to go through was quite overwhelming, it triggered a migraine. It must be the noise of those bragging cars and the music at some places which seem to be holding a party here and there. Don't get me wrong, I like Lucerne it's very very charming but something about the city made me felt so tired.

How about you? Have you ever felt like you're walking in an old town in the past while visiting a place? Where? How else did that place make you feel?

This content's 100% mine . I took some of the pics with my D Eye and some with my smartphones.



Hey, I noticed the SBD's back!



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



2.jpg

Sort:  

Hi ya mon ami......

What a lovely post.....so enjoyed reading your musings regarding your experience there in Lucerne.......it is all in the details.....literally and conceptually. The photographs are splendid....never miss the chance to see water fowl especially the swans.....thank you for bringing them to Steem.

Wishing you a lovely week. ^__^

A bientot!

I almost thought you were spamming hahah
but knowing you it can't be
it's 8 months ago :)
it is very lovely but very crowded

the first one is really amazing , especially the goose in the water.

Thanks! I love that shot, too :)
it looks so serene compared to what's on the other side :)

Are you still there?I I live in Lucerne :D

These pictures from you are my daily walks hahaha

I sent you a reply before - about your concert post, can you see the setting on that 2nd pic up there?
I was there the day you were on the concert looking below , I was one of the crowd just passing by
I could barely move that time, too crowded, small world you were actually up there at that time

No, I've been back a long time ago just posting continuously, I had much stories to share still
just can't post on a daily basis specially nowadays, VI won't allow me but I've already written my articles way back the photos just need processing but the stories are all done, unfortunately, I could no longer post on a daily basis voting power won't allow.

I cant imagine going through the crowd there but then it must have a different face in other season or not? Don't you miss NL? I have to say, when we got home, I blurted - Oost, West, Thuis Best!

Hehehe I saw the tents indeed on your pic! The funny thing is there is again stuff to do this week, a ferris wheel is also at this location now and food and drinks again, hence the confusion!

Yeah indeed the crowds at that moment were ridiculous, on the other hand you can feel that the city is ALIVE! And what I do like about it is that you are out of the city in no time with not a single soul around you anymore.

I see now all you Switzerland and travel adventures, well actually it might not even be bad to spread out all the posts. More feeling of vacation down the road :)

I don't know if I miss NL...well offcourse I do actually (mostly the people there), but I havent lived there for so long now anymore (4 years) that you also kind of forget. And when I am there now I miss Luzern AND miss the Caribbean hahahha. Every place has its beauty but also it's cons!

oh wow! it seems like always busy
but a ferris wheel would look really great I think
specially at night!

that's funny, I almost titled this post Lucerne that very much alive city in the Swiss but then I hesitated cause I think Zurich must be more :D

you're absolutely right! I think the only perfect place is dreamland hahaha

anyhow, I hope you enjoy living there
and take us around, too
it's quite a country :D

Beautiful pictures, I love city centers especially if there old cobblestone streets and narrow alleys, love old lantern on pubs and cafes. That castle above that modern building looks really amazing, like the one from Walt Disney.

The feeling that you are in past you have when you walk on old streets in Edinburgh because until now in old city center you still see people in their traditional kilts and some other clothes made from natural wool and sometimes hand colored with natural colors in tartan colors. You definitely need to visit Edinburgh one day.

thank you
someday .. maybe.. one day ..
am not a fan of huge cities, it was just so happen that this one has plenty of stories to tell and was close to our BL of places to visit in the Alps.

Ossams photography sir ,,i m very happy to see them ..

I saw the SBD was back after the HF too.

and I almost sold when it was less than $1 out of panic that it won't be back
the only reason I didnt sell was I saw a whale having lots of it too
I had hope :D

I need to keep to pay for steemsql. :-)

That database I used to extract the stats.

those mountains and the architecture!! -beautiful, thanks for sharing

nice and cool photography .. switzerland always a nice country .. i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28