What's It Like Riding That Red Egg from Kriens

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

a.jpg

Going to Grindelwald and doing all the activities we did, was part of my bucket list. This was part of that of my husband's. I actually was very hesitant to do this cause I had a feeling that the ride would be like that of my first cable car ride experience.

I was already stiff when the cable car took off and as I feared it, going through all those huge pillars did make me grit my teeth with an aftermath in sleep that night.

c.jpg

At some point, when I braved myself to look behind me and see where we're heading, I saw that those red eggs looked like they were bobbing. It didn't help me relax.

c2.jpg

The view was ever green and isn't it that green is supposed to make you feel relaxed?

b1.jpg

This much green didn't really help me feel better till I tapped my fear away.

c1.jpg

I was multi-tasking taking vids and pics for keepsakes and every movement makes the egg shake. I can't really say that it was a fun ride but rather a very, very tensed one specially when my husband stood up and rocked the cable car. My mind was f***ing with me suggesting; "What if those cables snap? Are we going to roll off those cliff or bump into another egg at one point?" I had to shut those nega thoughts up with EFT.

b.jpg

My husband also pointed out that it's very safe and that at some parts, we do look like we're so closed to the ground. I beg to differ when we got to the part where pine trees grow taller than those pillars holding the cable cars.

c4.jpg

I was just hoping to get there already because it was f...ing scary. I saw some hikers below and wondered whether it was actually a much better option but this is my husband's bucket list and who am I to deprive him that. He also hesitated to go all the way but YOLO wins all the time.

c3.jpg

When we got to the first stop we were asked to stay cause it was actually a stop for kids. When we went on ascending, I saw a biker and he looks like he was having the time of his life despite the heat that day. A few more altitude and the view kind'a distracted me from all the mind f**k. It was just majestic from up where we were. It was hard taking a pic in a moving cable car even though I've set my cam on 'sports".

We were asked to get off on the second stop cause then the red eggs have to go back down.

c5.jpg

There, we found more activities and I had my first live encounter with the Alpine horns. I thought it's actually a German thing cause I've seen it on tv and the ones who were blowing it were Germans at that time, turns out it's not. Well, the Swiss kind'a speak somewhat German, too. I could understand some of what they're saying cause it sounds like German.

c6.jpg

The guys played many times but I got distracted when I saw the guy on the bike approaching. He caught up with us! He parked close to where we were and sat close to us so I braved myself to ask how long it took him to get up there and whether he actually came from where we also started. He said it took him two hours in between catching his breath. He also mentioned that someone took off the same time he did but left him behind. My husband and I looked at each other and whispered that maybe it was better had we just pedaled our way up there but then it was too hot, we'd be soaked in sweat and we're going to do the whole deal so if we park our bikes in there we will have to hike back just to retrieve them. By that time, we're probably dead tired so we both shook our heads.

c7.jpg

We wanted to try one of the activities there, the one they call the Toboggan Run which was part of the plan in Grindelwald except for we ran out of time but unfortunately we were on a tight sched that day and the Gondola to our next destination was already going down, we had to take this one if we want to enjoy it up there without hasting.

Yes, yes am aware this has gone too long again so let me park my keypad for now.

- to be continued ...

This content's 100% mine . I took some of the pics with my D Eye and some with my smartphones. Don't like reading? Watch video in my VLOG instead.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



2.jpg

Sort:  

Those cable cars always kind of scare me

This is very good :). Sometimes you can decide on such feelings as adrenaline rush. But the top offers a beautiful view that can see not every tourist.

My wife hate them too. The cable car. We went on a recent one at Genting Highlands. Thing is... it's cheaper to ride this to the outlet than to take a taxi for 2 people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33