Beautiful Seaside Meandering

in #travel5 years ago

filtermonterey.jpg

The setting in Monterey, California. I visited with family in last fall for an overnight trip. This picture's got a bit of a filter on it, but at least you can still tell that the water had some clarity. It was a cold and windy day, but the Monterey seaside was beautiful. We had a lot of time to kill, and we just meandered along the coast.

baysealhide.jpg

I remember this was in the late morning, and we stumbled upon some seals sunbathing on the rocks. They are in the last picture, you just have to look closely. We happened to bring binoculars with us, and got to see them up close. That was fun, but then I was wondering if I could somehow share what I was seeing. As it turns out...

iphonebinoc.jpg

I think I've tried this at least one time before... Can we really get anything by doing this?

sealbinoc.JPG

Well, there you are. It's fairly difficult to line the lenses to be able to get a clear enough picture, and even when you get it, you can just as easily lose it and you're back with weird lensing effects and a mostly black picture. Why you can even make out the little whiskers! Cute.

birdbinoc.JPG

Then we also pointed it at a few birds, and that was fun too. They look like they are cleaning themselves, or maybe scanning for food.

Later we were supposed to be going to some whale watching thing, which would have been a nice way to end the trip, but that got canceled due to inclement weather. Too windy I suppose. This turned out to be rather fortunate though, because my brother was supposed to join us, but fell ill, and could not make it. So we got it all refunded. Whales. Maybe some other day.

Sort:  

That's is an I phone shot , the majestic , and mesmerising blue sea....

Posted using Partiko Android

that is so beautiful, and looks so delightfully bright... what is that tele you attach to your phone, just curious, and the seals... awww

Binoculars that we carried with us. Two holes for two eyes, but we pointed the iPhone camera down one of them haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

I was just wondering by the picture, I think I did that to take pics of the moon though my binoculars are huge to carry around

I could sit out on the beach and watch the tide roll in all day. The sound of it and the breeze blowing in is so calming. Maybe if steemit or whaleshares ever takes off I can buy a place on the beach.

And imagine with a nice cup of coffee (if that's your thing). That's my kind of scene. Mmmm.....

Pretty decent photos. And for a phone at that.
The binoculars were a nice touch. Never thought that would work. Isnt adjusting the focus a pain?

Yeah it was a pain though it seemed to be fine to first adjust it with the eye, and then point the phone camera into it. Pain in the neck for sure

Cool! I live in Monterey and it's absolutely beautiful over here.

Very beautiful. I can only imagine how much nicer it is in the summer!

I think you can get a lens made specifically for the smartphone cameras that clips on and gives you good zoom capability.
The pictures did come out pretty well, considering.

Oh yeah the clip on things. That's a good point! Though not sure if I would actually buy one. This was pretty much an afterthought haha. I remember we got a lens that made it a wider angle but then promptly lost it....

Nice... I guess you need a real steady hand to take pictures that way. But they turned out real nice, if they're high res enough you could cut out some legit cool pictures without the dark ring.

Too bad about the whale-hunt but lucky that next time your brother can tag along. Thanks for sharing @eonwarped 😊

I think the dark ring adds a bit of... Mystery to it all, don't you think? But yeah. That was fun to see.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.813 which ranks you at #1338 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1339).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 190 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16