Different Eating Styles (Iceland Day 8)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

We had a long drive ahead of us after visiting the wool factory. This stretch of driving had no interesting stops along the way. Our navigation pointed us through one of Iceland's F-roads, which seemed to indicate faster travel on the route, but we did not take it. I had previously read our rental car information which had an explicit warning about these roads.

They are much rougher, unpaved roads, possibly muddy, and possibly crossing bodies of water. It told us that only experienced drivers should do it, and only with a 4WD, which fortunately we had. But we weren't sure what the condition of the road would be so we opted not to. That may have extended the drive by an hour or so. But better late than stuck forever in a place with barely any people I suppose.

As we drove, we started to get hungry and opted to look for a place to prepare a meal. There were no picnic spots, so we resorted to cooking in the sand at a suitable turn out point.

MVIMG_20180408_160441~2.jpg

The ground was very soft, and the weather was windy. But we were determined to have our meal of noodles, of the semi-instant variety. So my brother-in-law set it all up and started to cook. If I remember correctly it had fish (dried cod thrown in), and the flavor packet that comes with the noodles.

1528287577805.jpg

That's our chef! We were slightly worried about the wind so we tried to block some of it with a suitcase. Meanwhile the scenery in the background was just beautiful skies and mountains.

1528287523241.jpg

The view of the road ahead, and the car door. At least while cooking we could all hide in the car from the wind. At some point a car drove by (a rare occurrence), and we saw the passengers looking at our peculiar set up with their jaws dropped. Fun stuff.

MVIMG_20180408_164416.jpg

And it's done! We quickly divvied it up and ate happily in the car. And then we were on our way. Don't worry, we were very clean. No trash left behind.

MVIMG_20180408_201716.jpg

After another stretch of driving we arrived at Stykkishólmur, a nice harbor town. Here you can see people hiking to the opposing hill.

As it was getting late, we decided we would eat at a restaurant here before getting to where we would be staying the night. Very big contrast to what we just ate.

MVIMG_20180408_185657.jpg

Grilled Fish and veggies.

MVIMG_20180408_185711.jpg

Fish soup

MVIMG_20180408_185813.jpg

Mussels (the special)

These were all very tasty. Maybe it was the hunger. Or the price point. Or the fun company. We left satisfied.

MVIMG_20180408_201935-EFFECTS.jpg

This was the view as we left the restaurant. Just stunning. This was also was submitted to a @derangedvisions photo contest.

1528287606138.jpg

We got to stay in a relatively newly built house, only sharing with one other couple, and it was very comfortable. This pretty fake fireplace greeted us as we came in with a feeling of warmth.

IMG_20180409_003119.jpg

At night we tried to go outside to capture more of the Aurora. This time I researched whether or not it was possible to do something with my phone camera so that I could capture something. This was the result, and there are more details in this post.

And we're near the final stretch! Just one more whole day left, where we're headed back to the main city of Rejkavik.


Iceland Travel Series

Here's a link to the beginning...

And the journey continues here...


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sola.ai :: Earn.com :: Refereum :: STEEM for Tasks :: Sweatcoin
Sort:  

Very cool! The food looks amazing. I bet all of that seafood was super fresh and you are right, quite the contrast to the meal you had at lunch. Very cool that you are trying to capture the Aurora. I am part of a group in my area that tries to track it and find the best time to view it. Hopefully you get to capture some good shots. They say that a regular camera is the best tool because it can pick up things the human eye can't. If your phone has an HDR mode, they recommend taking it out of that mode.

Some good tips! Did you get some cool shots for yourself?

No. Too cloudy where I live!

The sunset picture was very beautiful. You should also look at entering your muscle picture in one or more of the food photography contest, that was a pretty nice shot as well, and seemed very well composed to me.

Hum I never tried food photography contests. Will look into it.

Hum I never tried
Food photography contests.
Will look into it.

                 - eonwarped


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You were totally eating noodles in the middle of nowhere! It looks like a camping trip gone wrong 😜.

I would much prefer the meal at the restaurant that one looks amazing.

The picture leaving the restaurant is stunning! Super WOW! I hope that won something in the contest.

This has been one adventurous trip!
~T

Yup! I think I placed in the beginner division for that photo. Good stuff.

I think it's awesome that you all pulled over and ate like that on the side of the road. Definitely something I would be doing too. Stunning picture of the sunset, water and buildings. I can see why people decide to live there.

I think we also had to make use of the propane. We had a bunch left over that we had to leave behind haha.

hahah would love to hear the conversation in the car that drove past you cooking outdoors. They may have thought you were doing some sort of performance art.

Gorgeous pics, as ever :D

SIGNATURE.png

I think they were speechless haha... But let's see.

A: Look at these folks on the side of the road, I wonder what they are stopping for? You think we should stop? I would hate to miss out on a rare bird!

B: Slow down! Slow down! Let me take a look...

B: What in the....

A: What? What is it?

B: I think they are... Cooking?

A: (slows down more) What? In a place like this?

A: Here open the window, can you get a whiff of that? You think they'd share? I'm starving!

B: Maybe they're from around here. But let's not disturb the locals. We need to get to the hotel, dear.

A: Let's just stare at them with mouths agape as we cruise by.

B: Okay!

LOLZ XD

Hahaha perfect! Thanks for filling in the gaps in my imagination, Eon :D

SIGNATURE.png

But better late then stuck forever in a place with barely any people I suppose.

You don't have to suppose. This is exactly the choice I lived with for more than 30 years when I first moved to New Mexico. Never take chances just to save time unless you are driving someone who is dying to the hospital. NEVER. I never regretted playing it safe. Not once. You made a good decision. Remember this lesson.

Much better dinner, too, than ramen noodles whipped up at the side of the road.

Still so glad you made it back home. <3

The-STEEM-Engine

I'm surprised grammar nazi didn't call my ass out on then vs than. So disappoint.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 125 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #161 (6/10/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12