Hong Kong Food Trip!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

What's the best thing to do in Hong Kong if you don't like to shop? That's right, eat!

I want to share a few food spots that I think are must-go-tos if you are in Hong Kong! Only one of these recommendations has a Michelin Star rating because we were on a budget. But nonetheless, none of the places we chowed in disappointed!

20180610_190019.jpg

1. Yum Cha

Yum Cha offers a wide array of Asian dishes, but the best thing on the list? Puking buns!

imglykit-export.jpeg

Ew, puking?! Well, yeah, you can puncture a hole in the custard-flavored buns and press them to make them "puke." They're cute and delicious! I would love to go back to Hong Kong for one more of those steamy creamy buns! These are what they look like puking:

VideoCapture_20180610-190848.jpg

VideoCapture_20180610-190903.jpg

VideoCapture_20180610-190919.jpg

They have other flavors and designs too! Like pork buns designed like pigs!

20180516_140405.jpg

20180516_144321.jpg

2. Mak's Noodle

This dish was a total delight. The place was rather small, but do not be fooled, they have a Michelin Star rating! We ordered their classic special wonton noodle soop. There was so much flavor in the base soup, but it did not over power. It played so well with their noodles which had that light flavor. Noodle texture was something else, I usually prefer the soft and chewy feel but their noodles were chewy and bouncy, so it was fun to eat because it had attitude.

IMG_20180517_171511_645.jpg

3. Flamingo Bloom

This tea shop concentrates on floral tea bases. People expect their drinks to be like popular Asian milk tea, sweet, but these ones are more abstract, resembling bland teas. I LOVED IT! They had oolong, jasmine, and other teas for their bases. They have a variety of flavors and combintions, which make it very difficult to choose! Here are a few of our drinks, the Piña Colada and Matcha with milk and crushed strawberries:

20180516_203705.jpg

20180516_203925(0).jpg

4. Ichiran Ramen

We all know that Japan shines the most when it comes to ramen, no argument. Even their branch of Ichiran Ramen in Hong Kong is the bomb! We tried getting a spot in the evening at around 9PM, but there was a long queue that would probably give us a seat at 12 midnight. Ichiran branches really have a reputation for having super long queues of people dying to get a taste of their bowls, so we decided to return at a more unconventional time for a meal. We went back at 10AM the next morning and still found a line, but it was at least 1/4 of the line we had the first time.

They hand you this order slip which you fill out according to your preference for your ramen bowl. I chose my soup to be mildly spicy, extra rich (the highest option), and my noodle texture to be medium. IT WAS PERFECT! I think you can never go wrong here, because you can customize your bowl to exactly how you like it.

Here is my bowl!

20180515_104542.jpg

5. Lady M

Another sweet treat! The Lady M crepe cakes make waves all over the world, originating in New York City. We were fortunate enough to be able to try it in a place closer to home. We tried out a variety of their cakes, but these two flavors shined the most: the original and the matcha. We were lucky enough to get the last slice of the matcha cake as it sells out super fast! The original flavor was light yet still flavorful, so I'd give both flavors 5 out of 5 stars.

I tried making my very own crepe cake before and it turned out to be very difficult to slice. But in Lady M, you'd be very surprised how it slices like a normal chiffon cake. Ahh, the satisfaction.

20180515_191130.jpg

20180515_191118.jpg

6. N1 Coffee

If you are looking for a great coffee spot, aside from Starbucks which you can find almost anywhere in the world, N1 is the place to be! This creative shop has a great reputation, every body loves their coffee, and I can attest to that. You can tell that their coffee is really good because every drink crafted is really great. My flat white was perfect, the moment I took a sip, I felt as if I was given a warm caffine hug. Yes, it was that delicious!

20180517_092534.jpg

So that it is, guys! I would love to hear about your comments on these places, and your recommendations as well. These were my highlight places, and I am sure there are more spots but we were travelling on a budget so these were the places that fit well within our plan.

Also would like to mention that all photos posted are original and taken by yours truly.

'Till my next post!

xx Erica

Sort:  

This is the best food review that I have read in ages! I love it. Thanks so much for sharing. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @imagendevoz. Congratulations and best wishes.

That's super great to hear! Thank you so much, all the best to you too! :)

Now this is quite an experience. Would definitely try these places out if I get to visit HK.

Awesome! I would definitely love to hear your experience. 👍🏻

I loved this post. All of the food looks so yummy and I can feel how excited you were about all of it. 🙂

I am super passionate about food and I was really super excited planning this trip to be able to visit the food spots! Thanks so much for dropping by. ☺

I have one question though. Is there a reason that you repeated the same paragraph twice? Is it that the first one is like a preview?

Really hope you choose to stay on Steemit and post more because you’re off to a great start!!

Edit: The reason I'm asking is that I'd like to pass this along to a collective which discovers great content, but that one little thing is throwing it off a bit. :) Also, are all of the photos original that you took? If so, you should say so!

No that isn't right. Thank you for pointing it out, I will edit it! Thank you also for your appreciation and support, it means so much. ❤

Yes, all these photos are mine! :)

You're right, thanks for the tip! I should clarify that the photos are orginal. :)

Congratulations @ericago, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thanks so much!! ☺

Wanted to let you know that @imagendevoz featured your blog post as their Entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

Wow! I am honored. thank you so much. ☺

@ericago
Great job, keep it up.
This blog = so yummmmy 😊

Thanks so much! 😊

Traveling is one of my wife's goals. It's good to see your posts about your travels and adventures!

You guys should definitely travel with your adorable son! Thank you for your appreciation. Hope you guys get to post about your adventures soon! :)

Those Puking Buns are so cute - probably the piggies are the cutest. Oh, it's so hot and humid. But just wait until AUGUST, that was my first introduction on a university exchange program - oh, how I miss HK!

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34