People Watching in London - part 3

in #travel6 years ago

peo1.jpg

The third and final part of pictures from my people watching experience in London. In my not so humble opinion, I saved the best to last, and I call this the Joy-edition.

These are my favourite pictures I got in London, nothing else can compare to these real, happy, emotions these pictures have. I love stalking people with my camera! The more I do it, the more I realise I need to do it more!

If you missed out, part 1 here and part 2 here,you still have a little time to upvote the part 2 if you wish to.

Shot with Nikon D7200 and alternating both them Sigmas I always use, ask for details if you wish to.

peo20.jpg

peo19.jpg

peo17.jpg

peo18.jpg

peo14.jpg

peo4.jpg

Which of the pictures is your favourite?

Sort:  

The second last one with the man carrying the bag. The man and the woman are either masters of studied indifference or you have caught them completely off guard. Did you have to pretend you were tying your shoelaces or something?

Interesteting, very interesting, you guys seem to like a picture I was contemplating on even putting here, but now I'm glad I did. I don't think the man and the women have any relation between each other. Though I didn't observe their behaviour more than two seconds, as I was actually walking in front of the man. I glanced back once, and saw a guy with flower, and then I kept walking, taking a picture blindly by hanging the camera low on my side and pointing it somewhere towards him. And I got lucky! 9 times out of 10 I completely miss or the focus is off.

Here is a photo for reference, which @jeffjagoe took. I hang my camera on my side and can sometimes get sneaky shots of people behind me like this.

20180903-DSC_0230.jpg

You were very lucky indeed. It seems none of the people involved in this shot the moment really knew what they were doing, including the photographer! :D The models are extremely unlikely to ever becoming aware of having modeled in one of your photographs.

I have sometimes wondered what would happen if someone found a picture of themselves taken by me, I think it would be interesting.

Yes, if they informed you that they found out they were in one of your pictures. I think some people might be flattered. You have never shown anyone in any kind of negative light. Anyway, there'd be no grounds for complaint because there is no expectation of privacy in public spaces. Come to think if it, any one of us could have been unwitting subjects of anyone's photography.

All of them are great but my favourite is the second last. The guy walking towards you really stands out.

Well aren't you guys almost unanimous on your favourite! And it being my least favourite of these, very interesting! The guy was actually walking behind me, and I got lucky with the picture as I didn't see what I was really taking a picture of. I just glanced back and saw a man with flowers and wanted to capture it without him noticing.

Maybe it's because of the diagonal line of houses, the setting of the different objects that are easy to watch and understand. And maybe it's because the guy looks like he's looking at you although we can't see where he's looking. Now that I know how this was shot, it makes this pic even more interesting. It's a great lucky shot, and the luckiness isn't by any way said in a bad way. So maybe it's the amount of detail in this picture, although the focus clearly is on the guy. Still questions arise. Where is he going with those flowers and Tesco bag, stories behind those tattoos, what is the lady in the comfortable shoes eating and why is she eating when walking, is she in a hurry... Questions, questions. I love making up backgrounds for the strangers I see in the streets!

I almost picked the balloon-cyclist lady, if she only had a chin. :)

You’re really really good at getting really really good pictures of random people doing random things in public places

Thank you Jeff! :) You saw how I work, I just look at everything happening around me :)

All pictures are beautiful but I think I like the guy with the flowers best :) I can almost hear the music he has playing in his mind when he walks down the street like a real winner! He's so cool looking but inside he's filled up with love for the girl or guy he's bringing the flowers to <3 And at the same time the woman behind him is really enjoying her day of doing the things she loves, shopping and eating icecream! Happy day!

Interesting you picked that, as I think it's the weakest of these pictures. I put it in not as a good picture, but because it fit the theme.

People watching is one of my favorite activities! You learn so much and get so many ideas just sitting there, looking at others.
Hard to pick a favorite, although I do love the last one, in particular. There's something slightly sad about it - at least in my head.
But they're all amazing. :)

Do you have a favourite coffee shop or some other place where you take a window seat and just look at people going by?

Maybe the sadness you catch on the picture is because it's taken with a long lens and there is not really much of anything else in the picture, just me stalking a happy couple.

Not really, I usually go to cafes with friends (otherwise I prefer my coffee at home), and when I do go, I focus on them. But just the other day, I was sitting in the park, listening to music and just watching people and it was amazing - so many stories flowing through my head :d

Yeah, possibly that :D

I love making up stories about the people I don't know. Who are they, where are they going, are they happy etc etc

Me too! I do that all the time - one time, I was standing in line for the theatre and there was this mustached guard guy and while I was waiting, I made up this huge story about his wife and how they'd met on the subway and then lost track of each other and she met another guy - it was hugely complex. Funny that by the time I actually got in to see the play, I was kinda disappointed to have to go - I had such a good one going in my head already.

Stalker ehehehe but yeah Ypu can get some amazing scenes in London :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I think so too, thank you! :) It's a great city for people watching :)

We are all a bunch of voyaers in here lol

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was upvoted by @steemybot, Send at least 0.01 STEEM or SBD and get an upvote. Join my discord server for a free upvote for each post.

@steemybot our mission is to support high quality posts which will raise the value of the STEEM Blockchain.

On the topic of stalking people. Is your main stalker @evelyncarter still alive? I am half expecting her skeleton to drop out from your closet😝

as for your question...First thing I really noticed was booty in second photo. In the third photo hair merges with the trees. It looks like the girl has lost her head. But after closer examination first and last shots are my favorites. Kid just being a kid. Simply having fun. Likewise the last couple. Even among millions of other people they managed to find a place just for themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85