This Way to Xpu Ha Beach

in #travel5 years ago

ha1.jpg

The Mayan Riviera, like the name suggests, is full of gorgeous white sandy beaches with clear blue waters crashing to the shore. We flew in to Cancun from Mexico City, where I have yet to seen more than the airport, and then took a bus to Playa del Carmen. I believe Cancun, Playa and Tulum are the most known destinations in this area, spread along about 150 kilometers along the coast. They are mostly pretty touristy and high season is about to begin soon, but it's actually fairly peaceful in this area as of now, and I'm very happy about that.

Even though Playa del Carmen is not jam packed yet, the beach in here is not that big and for some reason the water is pretty high so it takes away from the beach. Yesterday we took a little bus down the coast towards Tulum, and jumped off after about 30 minutes on the side of a highway. The highway runs close to the shore and you can pretty much find a beach near where ever you jump off along the Mayan Riviera area. On a later date, I will write about public transportation in Mexico, because for a Scandinavian girl, it's very very confusing. I would be so lost without a local tour guide.

Anyways, as we were walking to the beach for maybe a kilometre, I snapped pictures along the way. I'm so fascinated by everything I see, as it is exotic for a Finnish girl. Everything from the tropical greenery, to an iguana hanging around the side of the road, to dogs being free and just sleeping on the beach. I forgot to take more pictures of the actual beach, other than what I posted yesterday from my phone because I was having just a super chill time under a canopy. The beach was pretty empty when we arrived before noon, and never filled up by the time we left around 3pm. I got a good few swims too because the waves weren't as bad as they have been here in Playa.

There really is something about the swimming in a warm sea water, being a frozen lakeside girl myself. But I do have to say, I do not like the salt water in my eyes, it stings like a bitch! The messy salty hair, I do not mind.

ha2.jpg

ha3.jpg

ha4.jpg

ha10.jpg

ha6.jpg

ha7.jpg

ha8.jpg

ha9.jpg

Shot with the Fujifilm X100F.

Sort:  

These images look good to me. I think it is the internet you are using. It is compressing the images when you are trying to view them in your browser. When I was growing up and had dial up the Internet provider used to do that to us as well.

I really don't believe any of you right now because when I upload the image to a different site, the quality is just as it should be.

Check this for example https://ibb.co/DrjzRnZ and tell me if it's different from what you see here on this post.

Oh, well that one was huge resolution. I guess maybe I'm wrong........ I didn't realized you didn't size your images down to 800 pixels or something.

What can I say, I like it big.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02