Visiting Kew Gardens - part 4

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

pal1.jpg

The Kew Palace



Constructed in 1631, and closed up at 1818, after Queen Charlottes death. No-one has lived there since, but it'a now open for public. What surprised me about the palace is that for me, it seems rather humble and understated, even though it was a summer palace for the English Royals.

It baffles me how a building can still be standing, and be in such great condition, after hundreds of years. Sure there has probably been a lot of restoration to it over the years, but they don't make them like they used to do. Nowadays it seem like every house is mouldy. We need back the old traditional ways of building houses.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8.

pal9.jpg

pal8.jpg

pal6.jpg

pal11.jpg

pal2.jpg

pal5.jpg

pal3.jpg

Sort:  

What an architecture ! its beautiful

Compared to Sandringham Castle, the main summer residence of the current royal family, this is quite humble indeed.

I didn't knew about this place, nice post..

What a beautiful post

ahh, tripod! good to have you in the country! I'll be in London town tonight seeing a band called The Devil Makes Three in Islington. Come along if you like a bit of bluegrass americana! x

Correction; I WAS in the country! Already been home for a week. Would have been fun though!

haha! nevermind..... I forget that people arent blogging insantaneously as they are experiencing things :)

Well that is what I usually do, just winging it, but I had so much material from London! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73