Visit with me! #18 - 5 amazing places in Barcelona! (Catalonia, Spain)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi my steemians friends,

As you know, I live in Barcelona for a few months. I have not visited everything yet so I feel every day like a tourist when I leave my home hahaha. It's fun and it allows me to discover unexpected places and things. This week I have the visit of my best friend so I took the opportunity to visit places that I did not know. I will share with you this visit my friends!

Are you ready for a virtual tour of Barcelona ???

Let's go my friends!

1- Plaça Catalunya

The first stage was Plaça Catalunya. This lively square is the heart of Barcelona, the focal point of many roads for public transport (metro, bus, train). This was our starting point for our day tour by tourist bus!

On the eastern side of the square, the tourist info can be found in the basement, where you can pick up the Barcelona Card.

Monument to Francesc Macià
This sculpture was created in 1991 in honor of the former president of the Generalitat (the Catalan Government) by Josep Subirachs, a sculptor who also worked on the facade of the Sagrada Família Passion.

The Deessa
This magnificent white marble sculpture placed in the center of a swimming pool, is an iconic statue of a female figure of Josep Clara. 1982

2- Casa Batlló

Casa Batlló (1906) is the most original and most dreamlike house of the architect Antoni Gaudí in Barcelona.

Located at 43, Passeig de Gràcia, in the heart of the Eixample district, this polychrome facade decorated with ceramics and glass, allegory the undulating roof of St. George killing the dragon is a true masterpiece. The fundamental work of Catalan Modernism, being Gaudi the undisputed leader.

3- La Perdrera

La Perdrera is located a few meters from the Casa Batlló. also known as Casa Milà (La Pedrera) is considered one of the most emblematic works of civic architecture by Antoni Gaudí.
It consists of two blocks of apartments structured around two large interconnected courtyards with ramps to the garage.

4- The Sagrada Familia

After seeing these beautiful facades from the bus, we stopped at La Sagrada Familia, iconic and unmissable Gaudi's masterpieces.

The peculiarity of this basilica is that its construction was begun in 1882 but it is not finished to this day. The end of the works is scheduled for 2026.

The foundation stone of this colossal basilica was laid in 1882, and building work is still in progress. Although the architect Francesc de Paula Villar was originally commissioned to carry out the Sagrada Família's project, just a year later he was replaced by the young Gaudí, who devoted himself fully to the task until the time of his death in 1926.
source

The crypt and the façade of the Nativity are classified World Heritage of Humanity by Unesco. Unfortunately, we could not visit the interior because the places were sold out so we stayed and photographed the Sagrada from all sides.

5- The Catedral

The Catedral is the most important temple of the Archdiocese of Barcelona. The northern European Gothic style of this magnificent cathedral distinguishes it from other churches in Barcelona. I find it beautiful and the atmosphere in this place is always nice because there are small free concerts and street performances.

This is the end of this virtual tour of Barcelona and I am happy to have shared it with you.
You can not come to Barcelona without visiting these 5 incredible places my Steemiansfriends!

I hope you enjoyed this virtual tour! If you liked reading this article or looking at the photos, feel free to UPVOTE, COMMENT and RESTEEM! It's always pleasant =D. Thank you all for your support and see you soon for the new flamingirl's adventures!

If you want to follow my adventures, here are my latest articles:

🎀 FlaminGirl 🎀 with love...

Sort:  

I'd love to visit Barcelona one day

Lovely scenery and place of Barcelona , have a nice day . Keep good work .

I resteem your post on my blog .

Your post is always different i follow your blog and upvote everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @flamingirl

Great pics - I love barcelona!

Wow! Beautiful shots.🤗💙
Thanks @flamingirl for sharing this post.

Good article. Thanks!

This is lovely. I hope to visit Barcelona one day. Have a nice day @flamingirl

I hope too! it's worth the trip! =) Have a nice day @prettyprecy

Good article. Good luck to you. click here.png

This is a beautiful and unique city! Barcelona is so beautiful! !

这真是一座美丽且别具特色的城市!巴塞罗那真美!!

ok. when will you post your dance. followed to see that.

Very cool city :) ... I like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82