Barefoot in the Redwoods!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


Ohhhh Sweet Redwoods!

We found ourselves facing a tough choice a few days ago.

We had just saw the Pacific ocean for the first time in chilly northern California, and craved warm sand and a hot sun! But with the Redwoods so close we couldn't just run south!

There were Redwood parks close to us, but if we were going to do it right, we were going to drive north and find the biggest and the baddest!

So, we decided to make the drive five hours further north to the Redwoods National and State Parks!

As we drove up the coast, the trees became bigger and bigger, and the forest became so thick we thought we were looking at a moutainside! But we would catch a break in the dense tree trunks and it reaffirmed that it was really flat ground beside us! It was crazy!

When we got to parks, we pulled in front of a few trail heads, and picked our poison, a nice 2ish mile hike.

Stepping into these woods was like stepping into a magical wonderland. Huge ferns grew like bushes. The centuries old trees had beautiful green moss covering the surfaces. The air smelled sweet and full of life.

Of course, with such a wonderous atmosphere the Yeti was barefoot, and after a good mile in he convinced me to join him! The forest floor was cool and soft, littered with huge leaves and Redwood needles.

It was sweet and perfect...until we ran out of trail, and had to double back on a graveled path designed for wheelchairs!

But, no worries, I loved sliding my socks over my muddy feet. Oh, did I mention a mud path we stumbled on?

Although by the end my tooties were a bit sore and dirty, the peace that came from walking through God's creation barefoot couldn't be replaced!



My shot for @katrina-ariel!


Can you spot the Yeti?!


@enginewitty I hope you liked the pictures! It was hard to do it justice!

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Woah! Those trees! 😮😮 Never been but I sure want to now

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bro, can you find me in the bottom picture?

Hahahahaha omg is that you in the bottom right corner 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nope. Almost center, a little right. Looking up at the trees, standing just beyond the ferns

If you can make it out, you totally should see them! Definitely worth it!

Just right of center, on the bottom, small in the distance?

Great photos and looks like a great time! Those are a little bigger than Tahoe trees... Actually, I went to school at Humboldt State University for a couple years. The redwoods are awesome!

Nailed it! Northern California is just beautiful!

Great photos - I can almost smell the damp forest. Glad you diverted - it seems well worth it! I love being barefoot in the forest.... it feels more connected and real, as if you are part of it too.

Thank you! Yes...being barefoot in the forest was the best treat we could have given ourselves! It was amazing to feel connected.

So very awesome! What a great adventure! Muddy cold feet and all! It must have been so refreshing to be in that fresh air and with all of those lush plants 💚🧡💜

It was icredible! It felt like my lungs were getting a nice refreshing dip in a pool! And it's so surprising because of all the moss growing and trees decaying that have fallen, it would seem like there would be a mustiness in the air as well...but no!

So jelly right now, you have no idea. Glad you all went the extra mile(s) and searched out the living legends! Beautimous sweets.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! If you ever have an opportunity to go, it is worth it for sure! I didn't mention this in th post, but it was such a joy seeing the kids climb all over the fallen trees. It makes you realize just how small we are!

I bet they had a blast and looked like little ewoks lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's so sweet!
I really love nature and seeing posts like this makes me want to walk again. I haven't tried walking on a forest barefoot but you inspired me to try.

And oh! Are those real clover leaves? I never thought it's big!

That's wonderful! There is just something about being connected to the earth and letting our energy flow back into the soil. It releases endorphins and makes you feel alive!

So, I looked up the clover because my curiosity was up too, and it said it is actually Redwood sorrel! It looks very much like normal clover...but it grows in these shady areas that have moisture!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13