🌍 ⚡ Top 10 Things I Found Most Shocking During My First Days in US 😱steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


I made a list of top 10 things that amazed me at first when I came here in US. I said amazed because it seems either strange or I am not used to, that I did not expect when I came in.

Note that since Texas is the only place I lived and visited, I asked some of my Filipino friends to share their experiences when they stayed as well in other states. I absolutely love this place and I want to share all these things with my family, friends and Kababayans. I'm sure that it will also be helpful for those considering to travel or to move in.

For now, I'll be sharing my first 5 and share the remaining on my next post!


1. "Hey, how are you?" as a greeting 👋


I think this is my first on the list as it is the most common encounter I experience.

When I was first asked "Heyyyyy, how're you doin'?",
I thought, “Oh wow! Someone’s asking me how I am? Should I respond or ask him/her too?”
--- 'NO' that I answer the question and 'YES' I ask him the same way.

The first time is so awkward for me. I don't talk to people I don't know. Well, later when I became familiar as I have contact with different people, I realized it means "Hello".

I can't say that it generally means being friendly because sometimes it just really literally 'hello' and they are not concern about you. (maybe?) Whatever it means, I like it that etiquette of them. It's cute for me. 😊

I also observed that Americans love small talk. Yes, for real. Talking to anyone about whatever random thing. So starting a sudden conversation is normal here.

2. Return and Refund are so easy! 👌


Returning and/or refunding of an item I bought is normal but I think what makes special here is that it is way too easy and usual in the US. There are no lots of policies, sometimes no rules at all.

When I first heard about it, I almost like --- "Noooo way!? Are you serious? You mean I can still return something that didn’t fit me? Even I used it for some time? But I already opened this package!"

The answer is YES.
Yes, they will still accept it.
Yes, they will really give your money back.
Yes, they can replace it.
Yes, they can let you keep the first item and send you better one (Case to case basis)
Yes, whatever the size and quantity.

I think you'll be more amazed at how it works when you personally experience it.
I'm just telling a story here. Lol

3) Tipping (Optional but Required) 🎁


Sorry for the title. But that is how I understand it.
In every order or bill in a restaurant or food stall, there's always a mean to ask you for the tip. Sometimes, it's no longer needed to ask. It's already a tradition to add a tip In some cases, the amount is already provided otherwise you have to decide how much you will add. Usually, it's 15% of your meal but it's still depends on their service if really good or bad.

Later on, I learned that waiters get most of their pay from tips than their salary. It's up to you now how much you'll write/select/leave cash for the tip after knowing this fact.

4) Sales Tax on the price tag 😵

What you see in a price tag is not the actual price.

Taxes are not yet added in amount unlike to the other countries that taxes are already added.

You'll see the tax when you're paying to the cashier -- surprise! This also applies to the online store after you checkout your order. So you have to remember that you'll be paying more from the price you see.

5) Unusual Measuring System 😧


I'm not sure if this frustrates everyone who visited US, confusing. The rest of the world uses the Metric system while here it is completely different.

I first noticed this on the road, the traffic signs display miles and feet instead of kilometers and meters. For the speed limit it is mph. Then, later on, I also observed that Fahrenheit is being used in measuring temperature. While in the supermarket when measuring weights of meats and vegetables, they use lbs instead of kg.

This is a challenge for me, at first I always need first to convert everything to metric to get the idea of the measurement. Fortunately, I get familiarized and used to it later on. 👍

to be continued...



If you like my content, don't forget to UPVOTE this post
and
❤️ FOLLOW me for more photo stories!

Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment or feedback
and
RESTEEM this post to share my work!


🎉Cheers,
ohkkaayy

📷
All photos I used in my Steemit posts are owned by yours truly!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gatz17! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74