Never fly Level Airline! (Part 1 of my Trip to Paris)

in #travel5 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians! I hope everyone is enjoying this wonderful Saturday! This is my first ever steem post so please be easy on me!

A couple days ago I returned home from a 4 days trip to Paris with my girlfriend. Usually I don't like doing a trip to Europe for only 4 days because of the jetlag and time zone differences (I'm from the US) but the flight price was a deal that was too good to pass up. We were able to get a round trip (non-stop) flight from Newark, NJ for only $290! That is cheaper than a round trip flight to Florida! Unfortunately we quickly found out why the flight was this cheap. We flew on Level Airline (which I will never be flying again). Our flight was supposed to depart Newark at 11pm on Saturday night. My girlfriend got an email earlier in the week saying the flight got changed to 9pm but when she went on the website to look at our itinerary, the flight was still scheduled to leave at 11. We decided to go to the airport earlier as if the flight was leaving at 9pm.

Upon arrival to the airport, we discovered the flight was still scheduled for 11pm. At least we got there early and did not have to rush with everything. We decided to go to a restaurant for dinner (and drinks) since we had another 4 hours until our flight departed. While we were eating, 2 men came up to us at the restaurant and asked if we were on the flight to Paris. We said yes and they told us that our gate had been changed. We did not receive an email about this travel update and the departures board still said the same gate. We had to ask an airport employee if this was true or not and they said yes. We would have been on a flight to Nigeria if these two guys didn't tell us!

We get to the new gate after dinner and we find out our flight had once again been delayed from 11pm to midnight. Great, Another hour of waiting. We finally board the plane at midnight, we put our belongings away and quickly fall asleep in our seats. We both wake up at 230AM to a sudden movement of the plane and we automatically assume we are landing in Paris. WE WERE STILL ON THE RUNWAY AT NEWARK. The strewardess told us there was a problem with the bathroom and we would be taking off soon. We finally departed at 3am, 4 hours after our scheduled departure. After this entire headache, I experienced some of the worst turbulence I have ever witnessed on an airplane.

Thankfully the rest of our time in Paris went extremely well. The city is absolutely beautiful and I could see why they call it the city of love. I'm surprised I didn't come back with a surprised engagement! Needless to say I will definitely be going back to Paris again when the weather is much nicer.
I hope to write another post at some point this week to give you guys a summary of my travel, but in the mean time here is a picture of the Eiffel Tower :)

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Congratulations @gharrington44! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37